Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2842 (Vogue Bridal Original) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1596 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:GwenC
photo
Friend of PR
About GwenCstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/08 11:28 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Oh Gwen, that dress is so beautiful and the bride, Susan, looks so pretty in it. I've got tears in my eyes. You must be so proud of yourself, you have done a wonderful job. It looks like it came from the MOST expensive couture bridal boutique. What a wonderful and generous bridal gift.
3/20/08 11:42 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Fabulas job you have done for the dress and your friend, she looks stuning in the dress on her most memorable day! And you have done all works for your friend, not for yourself?! I will need a friend like you.......
3/20/08 11:50 AM
Puppy said...
What a lovely wedding dress! I like the simple lines of the pattern, punctuated with the lace contrast lace stuff. You must have felt 10 feet tall on the wedding day, seeing the fruit of your labors and feeling so good about what you were able to give your friend, as well as enjoying your contribution to such a happy and important day. Yay!
3/20/08 12:11 PM
inkstain said...
This is truly one of the most inspiring postings of late. The dress is unique, and I love the use of the lace in the top and godet. What a friendship.What a kiss! It looks like a wonderful gift not to be forgotten.
3/20/08 12:12 PM
michellep74 said...
You did an absolutely wonderful job with this dress. Your friend looks gorgeous in it! What a wonderful gift to give to a friend!
3/20/08 2:13 PM
SewLil said...
The dress is BEAUTIFUL! It's elegant without being overdone. I just love it. My one regret is not having my mom make wedding dress. It must be so special to have someone you love and loves you to make such a memorable garment.
3/20/08 2:17 PM
pakrk said...
Absolutely first rate! What a dream dress! I agree, the dress looks like it came out of an expensive bridal shop.
3/20/08 2:20 PM
annie11 said...
Wow! That is stunningly beautiful. I love the contrasting godet and lace. What a perfect fit you achieved. Congratulations to you and the lucky couple!
3/20/08 2:41 PM
mewiththree said...
The dress is beautiful, you did a wonderful job! And the wedding photos are beautiful, so sweet and romantic.
3/20/08 3:34 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a beautiful bride. And the dress is absolutely perfect.
3/20/08 3:44 PM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate post
3/20/08 3:45 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh, this is wonderful! Susan is so lucky to have a friend like you - the results are truly professional. Fabulous!
3/20/08 3:55 PM
cindyann said...
Just beautiful! Lovely dress and your friend is glowing in it. {wild applause}
3/20/08 4:16 PM
jent said...
Well this is just the loveliest wedding gift anybody could have. What a wonderful and beautiful dress!
3/20/08 5:51 PM
Elemenopeo said...
What a wonderful job you did. The dress is stunning.
3/20/08 7:07 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful dress.
3/20/08 7:09 PM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous dress! What a wonderful gift.
3/20/08 7:23 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning dress and our friend looks fabulous.
3/20/08 7:42 PM
KathleenS said...
I've just read your blog. Congratulations on your achievement. You did an amazing job and your friend looks lovely in it. I hope you know how much real silk wedding dresses cost in stores! - your average bridal store stocks polyester dresses. This dress would cost a fortune.
3/20/08 7:55 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
What an incredibly generous gift, the dress looks wonderful you should be extremely proud of yourself.
3/20/08 8:06 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful dress! Susan looks beautiful.
3/20/08 9:50 PM
EveS said...
Absolutely beautiful, and the ultimate in wedding gifts!
3/20/08 9:52 PM
mastdenman said...
It's a beautiful dress and the bride looks wonderful.
3/20/08 10:32 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
The wonderful story behind this lovely review is inspiring! Thank you so much for sharing your success with us, and what a generous friend you are.
3/20/08 10:44 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Well, the dress is both elegant and unique; you can be so proud of your accomplishment. I adore the contrast lace and godet which elevates this gown to truly memorable. Isn't it nice to know that you're more skilled than you realized? Lovely, lovely work. -Lily
3/20/08 11:59 PM
rosannec said...
What an amazing story and gorgeous gown! I'm a little misty eyed myself after reading your review and your last entries on your blog. It's inspirational...Your fabrics are beautiful, the lines of the gown are beautiful, the bride is beautiful.
3/21/08 1:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. Your friend looks happy and beautiful in the dress. You were a true friend to jump off the deep end and to make this for her. Thanks for sharing the adventure.
3/21/08 5:30 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your dress is so beautiful, and the bride looks gorgeous!!! The project brings back fond memories of working on my own wedding dress once upon a time.
3/21/08 6:55 AM
ChristineBR said...
Everything that everyone said is true, of course, but I can tell you one other thing from having made my sister's dress (as an intermediate beginner, many years ago) that having been through the dress process together creates a bond between you that no one else shares. You will both cherish this forever.
3/21/08 9:02 AM
jhansby said...
Well done, Gwen!! It was so much fun helping you with this and seeing the dress done in a different way (the contrast godet is my favorite part). You did a great job!! Thanks for letting me share in the process.
3/21/08 9:32 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I would have happily worn this at my wedding, and I am super picky! Of course, who would turn down a custom silk wedding gown! I have done a couple of wedding cakes as gifts and I know people must have been all over you all night just gushing. Makes you feel quite accomplished, no? :-)
3/21/08 11:34 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What an ambitious undertaking, and you rose to the challenge! Your friend will always remember your role in making her wedding an even more special day. The design is unique and well executed.
3/21/08 12:16 PM
Sheila457 said...
Totally Stunning!
3/22/08 9:01 PM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Absolutely georgeous. The lace is so beautiful!
3/23/08 12:03 PM
GwenC said...
Wow - your responses really mean a lot to me! Thank you so much, everyone! :)
3/23/08 5:01 PM
wvsher said...
As everyone has said, the gown is absolutely stunning, and what a wonderful gift. Excellent review, too!
3/24/08 9:45 AM
Membear said...
Gwen you did a brave and very good thing !! I think you can adavance a level at leat !! Its beautiful and I bet that you ae ready to take on the world now!!
3/24/08 8:17 PM
BeckyC said...
What a beautiful wedding dress! The bride looks gorgeous wearing it! What a wonderful gift you gave her.
3/25/08 8:48 AM
pinkli said...
What a delight it must be to have you as a friend. The bride looks lovely in a dress that looks stunning. Good for you!
4/2/08 8:12 AM
MizTeeJay said...
I am also doing this dress for a September 2009 wedding as a gift to the bride... she is a fuller figured lady and your review was awesome. She and I both looked at your work and you did an amazing job....
12/21/08 11:38 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Absolutely georgoeus, this pattern is in my stash. Hopefully I'll convince one of my clients to use it!
4/15/09 7:54 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I had never noticed this pattern til today (8-25-09). This would have been a good base dress for the dress I made my dd. You did an excellent job and I am sure your friend appreciated the present!
8/25/09 6:52 AM
michele70 said...
This review was very helpful, I'm trying to choose between two fabrics for this dress and now I know to go with the one that has more body.
9/13/10 1:14 PM
Pattycakes60 said...
Gwen, I am so inspired by your story of making your beautiful wedding gown for your friend. I am making this dress for my daughter's wedding on December 31st. She loves the pattern and asked me to do it. I've never made a wedding dress before, however I, too, took the online courses (Top 10 Couture Techniques and Underlining), and I purchased Susan Khalje's "Bridal Couture" book. I'm going to study your blog carefully. Thank you for going through the trouble. I'm sure it will be very rewarding in the long run, but right now I'm just a little scared. If I have any questions, may I ask you for help? I'm making View A, by the way, with the sleeves. Thanks, Pat
11/3/10 3:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Burda 7384 SKIRT
photo
Review by Sandi S on 5/1/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-124C 60s dress
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 7/4/07
Read Review

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us