SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2713 (Men's pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1400 times 
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo

 
 
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/03 1:43 PM
Last Updated:6/30/03 4:36 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Yessss! Another demonstration of the (generally) excellent design of Burda's crotch curve! But you were wise to measure the crotch length, Tessa. It is so important to do the flat pattern measurements each time you try out a new pattern, because the fit is not absolutely predictable, even with a good pattern company. Burda's instructions tend to be pretty brief. I think they assume their users have a lot of sewing instruction (though the Burda "Start" patterns tend to be a little more instructional in nature). And about the placement of the measurement charts: Burda has always done this, and although I'm a Burda fan, it drives me nuts! But you sort of get used to it, and when you open up the patterns, you just think, "Gee, I wonder where it is this time?"
5/22/03 2:07 PM
AnneM said...
What an excellent review. Very thorough and helpful. I like the style, although I'm not ready to try this just yet. DH2B will just have to buy his pants for now.
5/22/03 2:58 PM
Tessa said...
Thanks! I really took my time on this one, measuring and double-checking, and basting the side seams. I figured if I could get the fit right, I would have a pattern to use over and over. I'm just pleased the "muslin" worked so well!
5/22/03 3:39 PM
els said...
Thanks for the review I showed the patternphoto to my son and he wants a pair of pants both the long and short version.
5/22/03 4:09 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Excellent review, thank you! This pattern is in my queue to make for DH, and this is a big help. -Ann
5/22/03 4:33 PM
Pam Z said...
Thanks for your excellent review, Tessa. Congratulations on your successful alterations.
5/22/03 6:02 PM
Georgene said...
Thank you for the informative review. I liked the german word for pants: a very nice pair of "hose". Wish I could see the final results, lucky DH to have you to attempt these.
5/23/03 2:06 AM
Sammie said...
Thanks so much for your great review - just bought this pattern for my 24 year old son and will make sure I check the back crotch curve on a pair of his pants to see if I should make it longer on the pattern. Thanks again for the great review!
6/30/03 6:02 PM
pdsoncall said...
I appreciated this review because it prepared me for the task! I'm almost finished, and they are looking great! Very sporty item. My husband really likes them. I've always taken chances in sewing, and I used a light-weight corduroy in olive green. I made a vest to go with them. He's very anxious for me to finish the outfit. I have to go now and do the zipper. Thanks for the tips, it really helped to see that someone already made them and the pic was wonderful!
1/5/04 7:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: PattyE

Review