SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M5433 (The Perfect Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1532 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:3/16/08 8:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsewboy said...
Great looking shirts. You did superb work. With the economy turning why pay $35 (GAP and MACY'S) to $70 dollars or more (Nordstrom's and Bloomingdale's) for a nice looking shirt. I'm glad that more and more people are realizing that with a little work and effort, you can make your own impeccably fitting garments.
3/16/08 8:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an impressive fit you've achieved with this shirt! It's the Perfect Shirt alright. I bought the M5630 last weekend and look forward to trying the collar change on it.
3/16/08 8:38 PM
Leora said...
Looks like you achieved a fantastic fit. I like that you made changes to suit your taste. Nice shirts!
3/16/08 8:41 PM
BJ1400 said...
Great fit, love your shirts. And a very through review too. Thanks for the link for the collar.
3/16/08 8:51 PM
cabinbaby said...
Very nice shirts! Are you entering them in the Fitted Blouse Contest that is going on right now?
3/16/08 9:13 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Very nice looking shirts! I agree with sewsewboy also. Those of us who are fortunate enough to have the skills can really benefit right now. These are incredibly good looking shirts and would be great additions to anyone's wardrobe. Nice job! Also - thanks for the tip on the Palmer Pletsch sizings. I did not know that and have a jacket pattern I plan on using some stash I have.
3/16/08 10:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking shirt!
3/16/08 11:02 PM
Annette1 said...
Beautifully fitted blouses, and such a helpful review, as well. I'm glad you included the link to Nancy Zieman's tutorial for the collar, as I had forgotten all about that method. Yours really turned out great! You REALLY look pretty in that PINK one. :0)
3/17/08 1:06 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beth, I love the printed silk shirt. Great job on getting the fit right. I've been following your blog. :) I also love the photos of you in your silk blouse.
3/17/08 1:24 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I've been following along on your blog too. Fun to see the fitting process and how your tweaks have turned this into a fantastic fitting shirt. Great print on the latest one!
3/17/08 7:41 AM
Irene Q said...
Wonderful shirts!!
3/17/08 9:34 AM
Rustybobn said...
Wow, thanks for all the nice comments! I may enter this one in the contest, but I think I'll wait a week or so. There's another blouse that I may make again before the end of the month.
3/17/08 10:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review to show how you attained these marvelously well fitted blouses; I especially thank you for the collar tutorial. All of your blouses are lovely. Instantly, this pattern you recommend went on my wishlist. Lovely, Lily
3/17/08 1:44 PM
Marji said...
The last 3 fit you wonderfully. I'm anxious to see your comparison of the two patterns. Lovely blouses (shirts?).
3/17/08 2:50 PM
LindsayT said...
Adding this to my "favorites" so I can rely on it for reference. Thanks!
3/17/08 3:42 PM
Athene said...
I love all your shirts and thanks for the tip #4 - collar. I have the pattern and I will be sure to refer to your review when I decide to sew it.
3/18/08 11:00 PM
Karla Kizer said...
You're a one-woman shirt factory! Great results - and McCall's thanks you for selling another pattern for them.
3/18/08 11:10 PM
gotpeace91 said...
Wow! that rose one looks great on you! you should buy more fabric in that color! Great fit and thorough review!
3/21/08 1:12 PM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful shirt and great colours! Thanks for the Nancy Zieman link.
3/26/08 4:31 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the collar tip! There's nothing like a blouse that fits, yours looks great.
3/29/08 8:54 PM
Robin Denning said...
Beautiful! I loved seeing your different versions. You do beautiful work and dress yourself so well.
3/30/08 2:42 PM
jlucie said...
These shirts fit you perfectly! Its nice to be able to see them in different fabrics & colors. Thanks for the link on the collar tutorial.
4/6/08 11:15 AM
nfield said...
The shirt looks great on you! I am working on this pattern and have run into difficulties with the amount of ease in the sleeve caps. way too much. You didn't mention that problem so I am wondering what I did. Did a broad back adjustment and a fba. Does that affect the sleeve? I am just frustrated that I can't seem to get patterns to fit!!! Thanks for any advise.
4/9/08 0:28 AM
Rustybobn said...
I'm sorry I didn't mention it, and I really don't recall changing the ease on this sleeve. I watched a Kenneth King segment once where he said to always measure the sleeve cap and if it had more than 1.25" of ease, to remove some. Here's the tip on DIY.com: http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/na_sewing/article/0,,DIY_14144_2276787,00.html
4/9/08 8:41 AM
Rustybobn said...
One other thing about sleeves for me: I pay absolutely no attention to the notches other than to match the underarm seams and put the front in front and the back in back. I rotate the sleeve cap until it hangs straight down my arm. It may not be the way the "experts" do it, but it works for me...
4/9/08 8:43 AM
nfield said...
Thank you for the link. I wrote to McCalls and they actually wrote back ask if I did 2 rows of ease stitching. Only did 1. oops... Very good suggestion about putting in the sleeve and not being so strict about the notches. I follow the rules too much Ha-ha!!
4/9/08 5:01 PM
Joanne624 said...
Great blouses -- very professional looking!
6/3/09 4:12 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review. Very helpful, too. I'll be making it and your comments will be so helpful. Thanks.
9/10/09 5:38 PM
Riv said...
Thanks for great detail on changes...I can't wait to have a great fitting shirt and make many of them. Thanks again
1/11/10 9:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Other n/a

photo
by: gabrielle ...

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now