SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-116 (Wrap over top)

32 more reviews
Viewed 833 times 
Reviewed by:Leora
photo

 
 
About Leorastar
OR USA
Member since: 2/7/04
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:3/17/08 1:51 AM
Last Updated:3/17/08 1:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
I made this top over 4 years ago. Thanks for the idea for making it sleeveless.
10/14/12 10:01 PM
Blooms said...
Fantastic top...don't tell anyone it was a bargain fabric and they won't know because it just looks fabulous. Great choice of fabric and style, executed beautifully.
4/13/08 6:06 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is so cute made up with without sleeves!
3/18/08 10:36 PM
patrica said...
I too love this pattern, you did a great job. I am going to make this also, thank for the review.
3/18/08 7:32 PM
pterion said...
Lovely top! Now I'm wishing I subscribed to BWOF.
3/18/08 11:21 AM
loohoo44 said...
I love this in sleeveless! Good for you!
3/17/08 7:41 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Leora, you've written an extremely helpful review, as I have this top on my 'to do' list. You didn't need an FBA? I wonder if I could skate by without one; doubt it, but I can dream. Your top looks smashing and your $.99 fabric looks like a million. Lovely, Lily
3/17/08 5:56 PM
Izzie said...
Lovely top Leora! I think I'm going to copy you! FYI, I did the same sleeve and armhole adjustment on the cowl tee in the Feb BWOF and it worked perfectly, so I think yours will work too when you decide to do the top with sleeves.
3/17/08 5:37 PM
Seaspur said...
This looks great sleeveless!
3/17/08 5:07 PM
Leora said...
mufffet, I added a little explanation in the review. I hope it makes sense :)
3/17/08 3:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very good looking top! Wonderfully made!
3/17/08 1:54 PM
Peggy L said...
Your top turned out really cute. It really is cute and summery sleeveless. Great idea on using the selvedge to stabilize.
3/17/08 12:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Leora, could you write a short tip on how to do the stabilizing with the "selvage?" Do you mean you used the same fabirc to make a self binding? I am confused, but it sounds great! Such a pretty top!
3/17/08 12:20 PM
Stephenie said...
I really love this top! It's perfect in this fabric!!
3/17/08 12:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I love your fabric. I traced this quite a while ago and still haven't made it up yet--it's nice to still see reviews for this coming in. ;)
3/17/08 12:07 PM
Leora said...
Lauri Jean, thanks! I have been working through tips from her book titled, "Power Sewing" lately. I'll add the book to my review now!
3/17/08 10:22 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Cassidy looks fabulous! Do you have a link for Sandra Betzina's advice? Where do I find this? Thanks.
3/17/08 10:15 AM
Twinset said...
So cute and adorable! Love the fabric!
3/17/08 9:57 AM
VtMartha said...
I'm making this now too. Thanks for showing us how cute it is sleeveless.
3/17/08 9:45 AM
Sic said...
Darling top - I love this pattern sleeveless!
3/17/08 9:03 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Very cute. It's good to know that this works as a sleeveless top too which will be great for summer. Thanks for trying and reviewing it!
3/17/08 8:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Pattern Magic: bamboo

photo
by: velosewer

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now