SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5590 (High Waisted Pencil Skirt)

29 more reviews
Viewed 969 times 
Reviewed by:born2bead
photo

 
 
About born2beadstarstar
ID United States
Member since: 8/1/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/08 11:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
born2bead, thank you so much for your response, I may have to try this jacket and keep my fingers crossed that it will look like yours.
3/23/08 10:39 AM
born2bead said...
AuntieShel - you're right. I went back and looked @ the pattern vs my jacket and theirs does not look as open. I did not alter and usually a 12 fits me pretty well. lilyofthevalley - I think any body shape can pull off a pencil skirt. I think the length is the key. I wouldn't go as long unless you are thin and/or tall. Yes, I'm so glad belts especially wide belts are still in style. I love them.
3/20/08 2:35 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I agree, that belt just really puts it over the top. You look SO nice in this skirt. I know we're not supposed to be envious, but I'M IS. :o)
3/19/08 6:33 PM
AuntieShel said...
Hi born2bead, sorry for 2 comments, but I just advance searched all your beautiful clothes and wonder if you could answer a question about the unbelievable white pique jacket (McCalls 5329) you reviewed in February. I fell in love with your jacket, but when I saw the pattern cover, I don't think I would have looked twice at it. The neckline of your gorgeous jacket is so attractive, almost a portrait neckline, which I LOVE, but the pattern photo looks more of a "Vee." Yet you stated you didn't alter the pattern. I would sew this in a heartbeat if I knew it would come out like yours. Any thoughts about that? Thank you.
3/19/08 11:40 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Now this is a completely different shape for you within your Wardrobe, and you wear it beautifully. I have a real yen for a fitted pencil skirt but the mental vision of how I'd look it in is ... well, definitely nothing in common with your photo. Killer Wardrobe you have cooking here. -Lily
3/19/08 11:34 AM
AuntieShel said...
Please let me join in with the others in complimenting your beautiful wardrobe. I absolutely love the peasant-look blouse with this skirt-perfect, perfect, perfect and you have inspired me to have my own. Have you reviewed the blouse? I've been away a few days and am trying to catch up on reviews, so I'll keep looking. Thank you, also, to BeeBeeSew for recommending the belt carriers and belt--my first inclination would have been to leave them off, at the same time wondering if the skirt would want to travel around. Thanks for answering my question.
3/19/08 11:25 AM
ColorMeHome said...
I love everything you have made! You are a fantastic sewer!!!
3/19/08 0:28 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful skirt, a great red color.
3/18/08 10:41 PM
Athene said...
Beautiful skirt. I checked your blog and think all the pieces are lovely and suit you so well. You are going to have an a great wardrobe.
3/18/08 10:38 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome skirt and gorgeous wardrobe you're creating! I am so far behind in reviews, but I looked at the pictures in your photogallery and everything is perfect! You're going to have a fabulous wardrobe!
3/18/08 9:38 PM
Gelbean said...
I love everything you have made. I am totally inspired. This skirt is beautiful.
3/18/08 7:19 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great job! Fits very well with yr Spring Wardrobe! I'll have to add this skirt to my list.
3/18/08 5:45 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
Very Nice! I've made this pattern as well (yeah, I know, post a review) and really liked it. It was easy to put together (though my fabric choice was difficult), I even matched a plaid for it. I agree with your decision to add the carriers. I actually wore mine without them the first time and went back and put them on. Without the carriers, the skirt tends to slip around some and you loose the waist definition.
3/18/08 4:24 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wow! Your plan is certainly coming together very nicely! Love the color theme and your overall style. Everything looks wonderful. Ronda
3/18/08 4:15 PM
cabinbaby said...
That looks great! Thank you for the review!
3/18/08 3:47 PM
>Sarah< said...
Love it! Beatiful wardrobe, too!
3/18/08 1:38 PM
coolobreeze said...
Great skirt!. Your wardrobe is coming along beautifully!
3/18/08 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Jalie 2453

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now