SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5590 (High Waisted Pencil Skirt)

27 more reviews
Viewed 968 times 
Reviewed by:born2bead
photo

 
 
About born2beadstar
Member since: 8/1/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/08 11:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
coolobreeze said...
Great skirt!. Your wardrobe is coming along beautifully!
3/18/08 11:23 AM
>Sarah< said...
Love it! Beatiful wardrobe, too!
3/18/08 1:38 PM
cabinbaby said...
That looks great! Thank you for the review!
3/18/08 3:47 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wow! Your plan is certainly coming together very nicely! Love the color theme and your overall style. Everything looks wonderful. Ronda
3/18/08 4:15 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
Very Nice! I've made this pattern as well (yeah, I know, post a review) and really liked it. It was easy to put together (though my fabric choice was difficult), I even matched a plaid for it. I agree with your decision to add the carriers. I actually wore mine without them the first time and went back and put them on. Without the carriers, the skirt tends to slip around some and you loose the waist definition.
3/18/08 4:24 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great job! Fits very well with yr Spring Wardrobe! I'll have to add this skirt to my list.
3/18/08 5:45 PM
Gelbean said...
I love everything you have made. I am totally inspired. This skirt is beautiful.
3/18/08 7:19 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome skirt and gorgeous wardrobe you're creating! I am so far behind in reviews, but I looked at the pictures in your photogallery and everything is perfect! You're going to have a fabulous wardrobe!
3/18/08 9:38 PM
Athene said...
Beautiful skirt. I checked your blog and think all the pieces are lovely and suit you so well. You are going to have an a great wardrobe.
3/18/08 10:38 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful skirt, a great red color.
3/18/08 10:41 PM
ColorMeHome said...
I love everything you have made! You are a fantastic sewer!!!
3/19/08 0:28 AM
AuntieShel said...
Please let me join in with the others in complimenting your beautiful wardrobe. I absolutely love the peasant-look blouse with this skirt-perfect, perfect, perfect and you have inspired me to have my own. Have you reviewed the blouse? I've been away a few days and am trying to catch up on reviews, so I'll keep looking. Thank you, also, to BeeBeeSew for recommending the belt carriers and belt--my first inclination would have been to leave them off, at the same time wondering if the skirt would want to travel around. Thanks for answering my question.
3/19/08 11:25 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Now this is a completely different shape for you within your Wardrobe, and you wear it beautifully. I have a real yen for a fitted pencil skirt but the mental vision of how I'd look it in is ... well, definitely nothing in common with your photo. Killer Wardrobe you have cooking here. -Lily
3/19/08 11:34 AM
AuntieShel said...
Hi born2bead, sorry for 2 comments, but I just advance searched all your beautiful clothes and wonder if you could answer a question about the unbelievable white pique jacket (McCalls 5329) you reviewed in February. I fell in love with your jacket, but when I saw the pattern cover, I don't think I would have looked twice at it. The neckline of your gorgeous jacket is so attractive, almost a portrait neckline, which I LOVE, but the pattern photo looks more of a "Vee." Yet you stated you didn't alter the pattern. I would sew this in a heartbeat if I knew it would come out like yours. Any thoughts about that? Thank you.
3/19/08 11:40 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I agree, that belt just really puts it over the top. You look SO nice in this skirt. I know we're not supposed to be envious, but I'M IS. :o)
3/19/08 6:33 PM
born2bead said...
AuntieShel - you're right. I went back and looked @ the pattern vs my jacket and theirs does not look as open. I did not alter and usually a 12 fits me pretty well. lilyofthevalley - I think any body shape can pull off a pencil skirt. I think the length is the key. I wouldn't go as long unless you are thin and/or tall. Yes, I'm so glad belts especially wide belts are still in style. I love them.
3/20/08 2:35 PM
AuntieShel said...
born2bead, thank you so much for your response, I may have to try this jacket and keep my fingers crossed that it will look like yours.
3/23/08 10:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1017

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now