Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5590 (High Waisted Pencil Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 968 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:born2bead
photo
About born2beadstar
ID USA
Member since: 8/1/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/08 11:08 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
coolobreeze said...
Great skirt!. Your wardrobe is coming along beautifully!
3/18/08 11:23 AM
>Sarah< said...
Love it! Beatiful wardrobe, too!
3/18/08 1:38 PM
cabinbaby said...
That looks great! Thank you for the review!
3/18/08 3:47 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wow! Your plan is certainly coming together very nicely! Love the color theme and your overall style. Everything looks wonderful. Ronda
3/18/08 4:15 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
Very Nice! I've made this pattern as well (yeah, I know, post a review) and really liked it. It was easy to put together (though my fabric choice was difficult), I even matched a plaid for it. I agree with your decision to add the carriers. I actually wore mine without them the first time and went back and put them on. Without the carriers, the skirt tends to slip around some and you loose the waist definition.
3/18/08 4:24 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great job! Fits very well with yr Spring Wardrobe! I'll have to add this skirt to my list.
3/18/08 5:45 PM
Gelbean said...
I love everything you have made. I am totally inspired. This skirt is beautiful.
3/18/08 7:19 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome skirt and gorgeous wardrobe you're creating! I am so far behind in reviews, but I looked at the pictures in your photogallery and everything is perfect! You're going to have a fabulous wardrobe!
3/18/08 9:38 PM
Athene said...
Beautiful skirt. I checked your blog and think all the pieces are lovely and suit you so well. You are going to have an a great wardrobe.
3/18/08 10:38 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful skirt, a great red color.
3/18/08 10:41 PM
ColorMeHome said...
I love everything you have made! You are a fantastic sewer!!!
3/19/08 0:28 AM
AuntieShel said...
Please let me join in with the others in complimenting your beautiful wardrobe. I absolutely love the peasant-look blouse with this skirt-perfect, perfect, perfect and you have inspired me to have my own. Have you reviewed the blouse? I've been away a few days and am trying to catch up on reviews, so I'll keep looking. Thank you, also, to BeeBeeSew for recommending the belt carriers and belt--my first inclination would have been to leave them off, at the same time wondering if the skirt would want to travel around. Thanks for answering my question.
3/19/08 11:25 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Now this is a completely different shape for you within your Wardrobe, and you wear it beautifully. I have a real yen for a fitted pencil skirt but the mental vision of how I'd look it in is ... well, definitely nothing in common with your photo. Killer Wardrobe you have cooking here. -Lily
3/19/08 11:34 AM
AuntieShel said...
Hi born2bead, sorry for 2 comments, but I just advance searched all your beautiful clothes and wonder if you could answer a question about the unbelievable white pique jacket (McCalls 5329) you reviewed in February. I fell in love with your jacket, but when I saw the pattern cover, I don't think I would have looked twice at it. The neckline of your gorgeous jacket is so attractive, almost a portrait neckline, which I LOVE, but the pattern photo looks more of a "Vee." Yet you stated you didn't alter the pattern. I would sew this in a heartbeat if I knew it would come out like yours. Any thoughts about that? Thank you.
3/19/08 11:40 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I agree, that belt just really puts it over the top. You look SO nice in this skirt. I know we're not supposed to be envious, but I'M IS. :o)
3/19/08 6:33 PM
born2bead said...
AuntieShel - you're right. I went back and looked @ the pattern vs my jacket and theirs does not look as open. I did not alter and usually a 12 fits me pretty well. lilyofthevalley - I think any body shape can pull off a pencil skirt. I think the length is the key. I wouldn't go as long unless you are thin and/or tall. Yes, I'm so glad belts especially wide belts are still in style. I love them.
3/20/08 2:35 PM
AuntieShel said...
born2bead, thank you so much for your response, I may have to try this jacket and keep my fingers crossed that it will look like yours.
3/23/08 10:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-134 Pyjamas
photo
Review by lara900 on 11/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5525 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Michelle L on 10/3/10
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us