SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-114 (Pencil Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1064 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 192
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 174 people
patterns reviewed: 190
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/08 0:04 AM
Last Updated:3/20/08 0:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Squeezylemon said... (3/21/08 4:31 PM) Reply
Gorgeous skirt on you! Think I may try it in a double knit black jersey for work as my muslin, I've a feeling it's one we all could wear and wear (if not walk in.....!)
EveS said... (3/21/08 10:42 AM) Reply
Great skirt!! I have the pink version of this fabric...I just love it (esp. for a Joann's clearance find)! DH, birthday shopping couldn't get easier! ;)
Kris O said... (3/21/08 6:18 AM) Reply
Wonderful skirt. Mr. Cabinbaby: get her the subscription!
pelli78500 said... (3/21/08 0:20 AM) Reply
This is my first WOF magazine, also, and I have been looking for a review of these patterns specifically...they are all so adorable! I haven't sewn a Burda pattern yet, tho...and I'm anxious to try one from this magazine. I hope your husband gets your hint (it's money well spent!!!)
lilyofthevalley said... (3/20/08 11:48 PM) Reply
Very beautiful skirt, Dawn, and the fabric is perfect. I love the pleats which visually make your lower body very shapely, indeed. Fine idea to add a kick pleat if you plan to chase the kids upstairs. Hope DH gets that HINT to provide the perfect BWOF birthday present. -Lily
Elemenopeo said... (3/20/08 7:04 PM) Reply
Wonderful on you.
Tiner W said... (3/20/08 4:03 PM) Reply
Georgeous skirt!
Vivienne said... (3/20/08 3:12 PM) Reply
Very cute skirt and wow, what a fantastic fabric choice!
Peggy L said... (3/20/08 12:22 PM) Reply
Very cute skirt! My DDIL just asked me to make her a skirt so I'll have to show her this one. Sounds like the kick pleat is a must.
mylittleelephant said... (3/20/08 11:58 AM) Reply
Very good "conclusion"! I am also a BWOF fan, this is the good way to let my partner know that! Nice review, thanks!
Christina Sonja said... (3/20/08 11:55 AM) Reply
That is a great plaid! And a great skirt. I'm off to check out that kick-pleat tutorial.
morzel said... (3/20/08 11:21 AM) Reply
Very flattering! Wonderful skirt.
LindsayT said... (3/20/08 10:55 AM) Reply
Super-cute skirt! I'll check your blog soon.
Athene said... (3/20/08 2:52 AM) Reply
An absolutely lovely look on you and the walking pleat is so nice to have. Thanks for the informative review - I always get good ideas from your reviews for sewing for my DD.
Karen6790 said... (3/20/08 0:15 AM) Reply
I haven't tried this one, but I know BWOF can make some seriously un-walkable pencil skirts. Thanks for the warning on this one. It's really cute - your fabric actually lets the details be visible, imagine that!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

No Pattern Used The Sewing Machine Shirt

photo
by: GwenH

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Pattern Details