Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2008-114 (Pencil Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1063 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/08 0:04 AM
Last Updated:3/20/08 0:22 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
I haven't tried this one, but I know BWOF can make some seriously un-walkable pencil skirts. Thanks for the warning on this one. It's really cute - your fabric actually lets the details be visible, imagine that!
3/20/08 0:15 AM
Athene said...
An absolutely lovely look on you and the walking pleat is so nice to have. Thanks for the informative review - I always get good ideas from your reviews for sewing for my DD.
3/20/08 2:52 AM
LindsayT said...
Super-cute skirt! I'll check your blog soon.
3/20/08 10:55 AM
morzel said...
Very flattering! Wonderful skirt.
3/20/08 11:21 AM
Christina Sonja said...
That is a great plaid! And a great skirt. I'm off to check out that kick-pleat tutorial.
3/20/08 11:55 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Very good "conclusion"! I am also a BWOF fan, this is the good way to let my partner know that! Nice review, thanks!
3/20/08 11:58 AM
Peggy L said...
Very cute skirt! My DDIL just asked me to make her a skirt so I'll have to show her this one. Sounds like the kick pleat is a must.
3/20/08 12:22 PM
Vivienne said...
Very cute skirt and wow, what a fantastic fabric choice!
3/20/08 3:12 PM
Tiner W said...
Georgeous skirt!
3/20/08 4:03 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Wonderful on you.
3/20/08 7:04 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful skirt, Dawn, and the fabric is perfect. I love the pleats which visually make your lower body very shapely, indeed. Fine idea to add a kick pleat if you plan to chase the kids upstairs. Hope DH gets that HINT to provide the perfect BWOF birthday present. -Lily
3/20/08 11:48 PM
pelli78500 said...
This is my first WOF magazine, also, and I have been looking for a review of these patterns specifically...they are all so adorable! I haven't sewn a Burda pattern yet, tho...and I'm anxious to try one from this magazine. I hope your husband gets your hint (it's money well spent!!!)
3/21/08 0:20 AM
Kris O said...
Wonderful skirt. Mr. Cabinbaby: get her the subscription!
3/21/08 6:18 AM
EveS said...
Great skirt!! I have the pink version of this fabric...I just love it (esp. for a Joann's clearance find)! DH, birthday shopping couldn't get easier! ;)
3/21/08 10:42 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Gorgeous skirt on you! Think I may try it in a double knit black jersey for work as my muslin, I've a feeling it's one we all could wear and wear (if not walk in.....!)
3/21/08 4:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Farbenmix Insa Insa
photo
Review by dakotasews on 7/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco
photo
Review by meggipeg on 2/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us