SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-114 (Pencil Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1064 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 169 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/08 0:04 AM
Last Updated:3/20/08 0:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Squeezylemon said...
Gorgeous skirt on you! Think I may try it in a double knit black jersey for work as my muslin, I've a feeling it's one we all could wear and wear (if not walk in.....!)
3/21/08 4:31 PM
EveS said...
Great skirt!! I have the pink version of this fabric...I just love it (esp. for a Joann's clearance find)! DH, birthday shopping couldn't get easier! ;)
3/21/08 10:42 AM
Kris O said...
Wonderful skirt. Mr. Cabinbaby: get her the subscription!
3/21/08 6:18 AM
pelli78500 said...
This is my first WOF magazine, also, and I have been looking for a review of these patterns specifically...they are all so adorable! I haven't sewn a Burda pattern yet, tho...and I'm anxious to try one from this magazine. I hope your husband gets your hint (it's money well spent!!!)
3/21/08 0:20 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful skirt, Dawn, and the fabric is perfect. I love the pleats which visually make your lower body very shapely, indeed. Fine idea to add a kick pleat if you plan to chase the kids upstairs. Hope DH gets that HINT to provide the perfect BWOF birthday present. -Lily
3/20/08 11:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Wonderful on you.
3/20/08 7:04 PM
Tiner W said...
Georgeous skirt!
3/20/08 4:03 PM
Vivienne said...
Very cute skirt and wow, what a fantastic fabric choice!
3/20/08 3:12 PM
Peggy L said...
Very cute skirt! My DDIL just asked me to make her a skirt so I'll have to show her this one. Sounds like the kick pleat is a must.
3/20/08 12:22 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Very good "conclusion"! I am also a BWOF fan, this is the good way to let my partner know that! Nice review, thanks!
3/20/08 11:58 AM
Christina Sonja said...
That is a great plaid! And a great skirt. I'm off to check out that kick-pleat tutorial.
3/20/08 11:55 AM
morzel said...
Very flattering! Wonderful skirt.
3/20/08 11:21 AM
LindsayT said...
Super-cute skirt! I'll check your blog soon.
3/20/08 10:55 AM
Athene said...
An absolutely lovely look on you and the walking pleat is so nice to have. Thanks for the informative review - I always get good ideas from your reviews for sewing for my DD.
3/20/08 2:52 AM
Karen6790 said...
I haven't tried this one, but I know BWOF can make some seriously un-walkable pencil skirts. Thanks for the warning on this one. It's really cute - your fabric actually lets the details be visible, imagine that!
3/20/08 0:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Farbenmix Xater

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2: Dress#2

photo
by: jorth

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now