Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: New York Pattern 546 - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1154 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:10 AM
Last Updated:5/25/03 2:28 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I have several of these patterns and have not had the courage to attempt them as the alteration would be much more significant for me.
5/25/03 3:21 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Margaret, this is a gorgeous dress! Congratulations on figuring it all out! I haven't sewn with any true vintage patterns; was the pattern paper itself very fragile and hard to handle?
5/25/03 9:39 AM
Barbara H said...
Margaret - beautiful! This looks like it was a labor of love given the details involved. The wide belt looks great as do the details at the shoulder!
5/25/03 1:17 PM
Julia Graham said...
Margaret, I too own several vintage patterns with that sort of instructions -- in a couple cases, no instructions at all -- and pictures that I like enough to make it worth the effort... eventually. Congrats on finishing this! Sounds laborious but looks distinctive and pretty.
5/25/03 4:55 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Congratulations on a brilliant job - what an unusual, lovely dress. It looks like it would be a very flattering fit too - I love those long, lean 30's dresses. I admire your intelligent use of resources to fill in the details - you are a truly accomplished dressmaker!
5/25/03 8:43 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks so much, everyone! Lisa, yes, the pattern paper was fragile, especially along its fold lines. It was definitely necessary to copy it onto other material -- and I would have felt very bad using the pattern directly even if it would have worked (and I usually don't bother to trace off modern patterns at all). I forgot to mention it in the review, but this pattern is not printed; instead all the pieces are cut to shape and the paper has perforations for the markings -- usual, I think, until the 1940s. This actually made it easier to trace because I could just (carefully) transfer markings through the holes. Georgene, good luck; I think you must have far more fitting expertise than I do, so hopefully it won't be too difficult whenever you want to make those patterns.
5/26/03 1:26 AM
Ann C said...
Thank you for your informative review. I have always wondered what it would be like to sew a vintage pattern. Would someone mind telling me about sources for these patterns? Thanks in advance.
5/26/03 12:56 PM
Margaret said...
I would recommend Patterns from the Past, www.oldpatterns.com; it is easy to order from them, the service is very good, and the prices are pretty good too. There is also www.thebluegardenia.com; their patterns are more expensive, but maybe more interesting (as in more designer patterns, more older patterns, etc.) and their service is good too (you can't order completely online though).
5/26/03 11:57 PM
Ann C said...
Thanks, I'll check them out.
5/27/03 7:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us