Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2007-124C (60s dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1151 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/08 11:51 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous dress! The fit is great and the fabric is so interesting. Love your smile and headwrap!:)
3/21/08 12:00 PM
Deepika said...
Ok, can I begin? Gorgeous, beautiful, lovely color, exquisite work and great review. Wow!
3/21/08 12:04 PM
CypGrl said...
Dress really suits you, Cidell. It was worth the work over the four months. Hope you will post pix of you wearing it to an event on your blog. One can only guess whom you may meet! :-)
3/21/08 12:05 PM
SueV said...
Looks great on you! Love the color. Love your work! Thanks for sharing!
3/21/08 12:21 PM
Mermie said...
What a cute dress! Great job on piecing and matching your print. The color is gorgeous on you.
3/21/08 12:29 PM
Maychi said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! You look stunning! I *love* the colour!
3/21/08 12:38 PM
stitcheroo said...
Wow, that dress looks so great on you. That green is gorgeous.
3/21/08 12:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cidell, this dress is really special! A perfect plan to use the selvage as the hemline b/c not only is it authentic to the Ghana source of the fabric, but visually, the tiny white edge reinforces the white piping of the bodice cummerband inset. Beautifully fitted and the color is smashing with your skin tone. You look gorgeous, Lily
3/21/08 12:52 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a fun summery dress!
3/21/08 12:56 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great idea using the hand picked zipper. What no beading too? LOL I love the head wrap and the dress is darling, as are you in it.
3/21/08 12:56 PM
MissCelie said...
Sherril: HA! It was only handpicked because of the Susan Khalje class. And I'm still not in love with the beading. As lovely as yours was. I'm waiting for the right project for that.
3/21/08 12:59 PM
EveS said...
Oh, I just LOVE this dress!! (Doesn't hurt that it's my favorite color, but regardless...) I love what you did with the border print, and the color is perfect on you...although I'm still waiting for the color that ISN'T. :)
3/21/08 1:10 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The dress looks gorgeous on you my dear. I love the color on you and great job on all your matching!
3/21/08 1:12 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, the fabric is beautiful, I like the way you have used the border at the waist as well.
3/21/08 1:17 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Beautiful! I'm inspired!
3/21/08 1:20 PM
Twinset said...
Wonderful dress, wonderful fabric! You look fantastic in it!
3/21/08 1:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
That is an amazing color for you and the dress is adorable. If you would actually get some wear out of the head wrap, I would keep it - it looks really good on you and works well with the dress.
3/21/08 1:28 PM
jess12 said...
Lovely dress!! The fabric is beautiful!
3/21/08 1:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, aren't you just too cute for words in your 60s sundress! The piped waistline is not only a nice embellishment, it is very authentic for the period. Great job on placing the print elements.
3/21/08 1:38 PM
Nancy K said...
It's a great dress and the piping is the perfect accent. The dress perfect on you. Lovely.
3/21/08 1:46 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful dress! Looks like you found the perfect pattern to show off that fabric. Looks like it really fits well too.
3/21/08 1:50 PM
SandraB said...
What a gorgeous dress. The colour, the style, everything looks great on you.
3/21/08 2:00 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
OMG your dress is stunning! I have 2 wax prints in my closet that my stepson brought back from Kenya but I could never pull anything like this together. You used all the features of the fabric to it's best advantage. Please keep the headwrap. It absolutely completes the outfit and is beautiful and timeless and feminine.
3/21/08 2:04 PM
Nancywin said...
Oh, yeah - it's a keeper
3/21/08 2:14 PM
Leora said...
Wow! Beautiful dress!!
3/21/08 2:17 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Lovely use of fabric as usual, gorgeous!
3/21/08 2:29 PM
crazygrad said...
Oh my! That is one of the most gorgeous pics I've ever seen- fab dress and you are beautiful!
3/21/08 3:46 PM
Sic said...
What a statement dress - I am in awe!
3/21/08 4:17 PM
jaeng said...
I'm in love with this dress. Your version is awesome. Love the fabric.
3/21/08 4:26 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is fabulous on you! Love it!
3/21/08 4:39 PM
Dei said...
Cidell, you work wonders with your fabric choices. Love the added touches of silk underlining and piping. And I especially love the color.
3/21/08 5:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I L-O-V-E this dress on you!! It's so flattering. The fabric, the colour, the style, the fit and how you used the border print with piping. I'd swear you paid thousands for this dress!
3/21/08 6:39 PM
sew2little said...
Great use of the border for the waist inset, Cidell! I thought for a moment that this was fabric you bought in LA and I was going to congratulate you for being first to post--but it's almost better that you used the technique you used in the workshop. I so enjoyed meeting you in LA! Marci
3/21/08 7:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, this dress is full of summer feelings. Just the right pattern for this fabric. Looks fab on you.
3/21/08 7:20 PM
Robin Denning said...
Divine, delicious, WOW!
3/21/08 8:48 PM
Mahler said...
This is more then beautiful. The fit of your dress is way better then in Burda's catalogue. Oh la la ! I am impressed. This color is beautiful on you !
3/21/08 9:00 PM
Markie1 said...
Oh Cidell, you are so beautiful in this dress. The attention to detail is amazing, the use of the fabric-so well thought out. Handpicked zipper! Woo hoo! I was there when you took your first stitches....awwwwwww.
3/21/08 9:11 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You are gonna make some heads turn in that dress (I mean in a good way, of course!).
3/21/08 9:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Oh Cidell! You are adorable and electrifying at the same time! Captivating dress with super symmetry!
3/21/08 10:21 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Super cute dress! Your head wrap is a beautiful bonus! Great job.
3/22/08 1:24 AM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful rendition you've made with the design of your fabric, the piping, and the headwrap, as well (which I love, by the way)! Another winner, but was there ever any doubt? :o)
3/22/08 2:48 AM
jhansby said...
Love the dress!! And I love the color on your, too!!
3/22/08 12:06 PM
crisford said...
Wow, this really looks fantastic. I love the headwrap and the fabulous color. The bra cup idea is inspiring too.
3/22/08 12:07 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is fantastic on you. Terrific job with the piecing and placement of the print. Hope many occasions come up to wear it.
3/22/08 1:34 PM
cindy-lou said...
You always rock. LOVE this dress on you!
3/22/08 2:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Cidell, if you wear your gorgeous dress to a summer wedding, you will outshine the bride.
3/22/08 3:39 PM
mahalosu said...
That dress is great! You really did a fantastic job. Now I want that back issue. I have some orange silk that is begging to be made into that pattern!
3/22/08 4:05 PM
Stitchcakes said...
WANT!!! If you ever have occasion to wear a headwrap, you absolutely should wear this one with this dress. Too awesome!
3/22/08 4:30 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress! I love the fabric.
3/22/08 6:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress. Love the color and the print.
3/22/08 8:19 PM
aunt saidee said...
You look so great in your beautiful ACID GREEN dress--my best friend is nuts over this color and wears it all the time just as successfully as you do! Very nice piecing, too. I'm sad that I didn't spend more time and $ in Ashanti while in LA, since these wonderful wax batiks were so reasonable there. Next time! Oh--almost forgot to say that I hand-pick all of my zippers because I really like the look and I find it's easier. But then, I LIKE handwork...
3/23/08 2:37 AM
LindsayT said...
Fabulous dress. Trés au courant.
3/25/08 9:29 AM
Fabricgurl said...
This look is so flattering on you. The dress is darling and the headwrap has me green with envy. This puts me in the mood for Spring. Lovely review.
3/26/08 6:55 PM
kim*brown said...
Very nice ethnic spin on something that seem to be abit "tadiddy" to start with. Love your creativity!
3/28/08 9:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8495
photo
Review by Mari Jo on 11/30/08
Read Review

Butterick 5466 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5466 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2551 Pattern( Size ONE-SIZE )
Simplicity 2551 Pattern( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7104 Maternity Tops
photo
Review by Byrdie on 7/16/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us