SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-128 (Tunic)

Viewed 416 times 
Reviewed by:mastdenman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mastdenmanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/12/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/08 2:43 PM
Last Updated:3/22/08 2:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Love the fabric. What a wonderful difference shortening the length made! It looks great on you, despite your minor dislikes.
3/22/08 4:33 PM
MissCelie said...
Oh, I rather like it. I think BWOF is always so low cut though. But, I like the wings at with the length it looks very 'now'
3/22/08 4:35 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
I really like the shortened version. I agree about the neckline. I would feel that it was a bit too low. I can't see any batwings!
3/22/08 5:28 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad you don't like the top, since the fabric is so beautiful. It looks like it fits beautifully, and unless you spread your arms to display your bat wings, no one would be the wiser. I say it's a keeper.
3/22/08 6:20 PM
Leora said...
I agree, it is better shortened but I don't see batwings either. I really like it!
3/22/08 10:48 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
First off, I love your fabric, that is so pretty! I think you should put the top away for a bit and bring it back out to see if you like it better. True BWOF has lower necklines, but I think it looks really nice. I think the sleeves are fine - I just don't see the batwings - and I like it shorter better. I hope you decide you like it, it's so pretty!
3/22/08 11:47 PM
EveS said...
Ditto, ditto, and ditto. I think it's lovely and I LOVE that fabric!!
3/23/08 0:17 AM
Athene said...
I like the shorter version also. The print looks really nice, and I don't really see the sleeves as batwings.
3/23/08 4:34 AM
So So said...
I was suprised when I clicked on your review to see " it did not work for me". I clicked on the picture only at 1st and i like it. Would you wear it with a belt? Or you could make a fabric one if you don't want to wear a leather type one. Or what about a macrame one? Or put it away as Mellissa says and bring it back out later and I am sure you will love it. You are possiably not liking it because of the alterations you had to make. I like it as it is, hope you do to, someday soon.
3/23/08 5:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the shortened version, it looks good on you. I like tunic styles but I am not convinced they work for me.
3/23/08 8:08 AM
mastdenman said...
I would wear it with a belt and have a couple of soft belts that could be worn with it. I've decided to shorten it by about 4 inches and try that length. Thanks for the input and compliments
3/23/08 9:12 AM
Irene Q said...
I like it, too! But I understand your frustration with the pattern. For a knit top, it's very loose. And "raise neckline 1 inch" is a standard Burda alteration for me!
3/23/08 12:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Like everyone else, I think this is a great deal more flattering on you than you realize, particularly at the shortened length. The fabric is great and I'm glad you're going to re-think this top and try some belting. Really, it looks wonderful on you! -Lily
3/24/08 3:56 PM
cindyann said...
I happen to really like this too! I think you scored on this pretty fabric for only $1.
3/31/08 10:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5617

photo
by: BexInMD

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now