Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-128 (Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 416 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:mastdenman
photo
Friend of PR
About mastdenmanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/12/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/08 2:43 PM
Last Updated:3/22/08 2:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Love the fabric. What a wonderful difference shortening the length made! It looks great on you, despite your minor dislikes.
3/22/08 4:33 PM
MissCelie said...
Oh, I rather like it. I think BWOF is always so low cut though. But, I like the wings at with the length it looks very 'now'
3/22/08 4:35 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
I really like the shortened version. I agree about the neckline. I would feel that it was a bit too low. I can't see any batwings!
3/22/08 5:28 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad you don't like the top, since the fabric is so beautiful. It looks like it fits beautifully, and unless you spread your arms to display your bat wings, no one would be the wiser. I say it's a keeper.
3/22/08 6:20 PM
Leora said...
I agree, it is better shortened but I don't see batwings either. I really like it!
3/22/08 10:48 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
First off, I love your fabric, that is so pretty! I think you should put the top away for a bit and bring it back out to see if you like it better. True BWOF has lower necklines, but I think it looks really nice. I think the sleeves are fine - I just don't see the batwings - and I like it shorter better. I hope you decide you like it, it's so pretty!
3/22/08 11:47 PM
EveS said...
Ditto, ditto, and ditto. I think it's lovely and I LOVE that fabric!!
3/23/08 0:17 AM
Athene said...
I like the shorter version also. The print looks really nice, and I don't really see the sleeves as batwings.
3/23/08 4:34 AM
So So said...
I was suprised when I clicked on your review to see " it did not work for me". I clicked on the picture only at 1st and i like it. Would you wear it with a belt? Or you could make a fabric one if you don't want to wear a leather type one. Or what about a macrame one? Or put it away as Mellissa says and bring it back out later and I am sure you will love it. You are possiably not liking it because of the alterations you had to make. I like it as it is, hope you do to, someday soon.
3/23/08 5:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the shortened version, it looks good on you. I like tunic styles but I am not convinced they work for me.
3/23/08 8:08 AM
mastdenman said...
I would wear it with a belt and have a couple of soft belts that could be worn with it. I've decided to shorten it by about 4 inches and try that length. Thanks for the input and compliments
3/23/08 9:12 AM
Irene Q said...
I like it, too! But I understand your frustration with the pattern. For a knit top, it's very loose. And "raise neckline 1 inch" is a standard Burda alteration for me!
3/23/08 12:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Like everyone else, I think this is a great deal more flattering on you than you realize, particularly at the shortened length. The fabric is great and I'm glad you're going to re-think this top and try some belting. Really, it looks wonderful on you! -Lily
3/24/08 3:56 PM
cindyann said...
I happen to really like this too! I think you scored on this pretty fabric for only $1.
3/31/08 10:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by MissParayi... on 2/21/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by Sewlful on 8/20/12
Read Review

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us