SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8347 (Tops)

6 more reviews
Viewed 629 times 
Reviewed by:Stephenie
photo

 
 
About Stepheniestar
USA
Member since: 8/18/06
Reviews written: 23
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/08 3:09 PM
Last Updated:3/22/08 4:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A very pretty dainty looking top.
3/22/08 3:33 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely fabric and very cute top. I am sure you'll find another project to use up the leftover fabric. Was this fabric easy to work with?
3/22/08 4:27 PM
Stephenie said...
Thanks, tessiesgal! Yes, this fabric was easy to work with. I didn't even have a problem with ravelling.
3/22/08 4:48 PM
Kbenco said...
Your top looks very pretty.
3/22/08 5:35 PM
Leora said...
You could make matching tap pants LOL. This is a great pattern, it is going on my wish list pronto. Love your top!!!
3/22/08 6:15 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top, like your colors.
3/22/08 6:39 PM
Beek said...
Love the fabric! I am sure you'll be receiving numerous compliments when you wear this lovely blouse.
3/22/08 7:28 PM
Karen8320 said...
Stephenie, this certainly is a cute top for summer and you've done a great job. It looks really nice on you.
3/23/08 7:26 AM
Irene Q said...
What a cute top!
3/23/08 12:18 PM
Deepika said...
Oh I love your top. I've had this pattern in my stash forever. Love the fabric too. Thanks for sharing.
3/23/08 4:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Extremely cute top, Stephenie. And like everyone else, I love the fabric. Do you have enough fabric to piece it horizontally and make a shawl? If so, you'd have a really nice top/shawl for a dressier occasion. Lovely, Lily
3/24/08 4:21 PM
sheriww said...
I bought this pattern and would like to know if you trimmed the armhole and neck allowances as instructed before sewing.
4/12/08 9:25 AM
Stephenie said...
Sheriww- No I did not trim the armhole or neck allowances. I didn't really understand why it was necessary, so I didn't do it! :)
4/13/08 11:35 AM
sheriww said...
Thanks for getting back with me. so far in making burda 8347 I have trimmed the neckline and armholes 3/8 and sewn the casing on with the 3/8". It was then when I discovered the neckline casing ends was on the shoulder seam, for diagram 12 in the instructions sheet shows the casing ends meeting on the left shoulder seam. So, I decided to not have a button hole for the cord to go through. I will just have the elastic in the casing. the instructions say to turn the casing inside and topstitch 1/4". Looks like you didn't do this with your top. I,m not really sure if I should turn the casing strip inside. I think the neckline and armholes would have a balloon appearance. Can you give me some help with this?
4/14/08 7:19 PM
Stephenie said...
sheriww~I did turn the casing inside and topstitch. If you click on my project photo picture, at the top of the review, it will show the top on a hanger. You can see that I flipped the casing to the inside and topstitched. The buttonhole was to be done as one of the first steps on the front of the top, before the casing is sewn on. I hope this helps. This was my first Burda pattern and I found the instructions very confusing.
4/15/08 10:48 AM
sheriww said...
Yes, I will topstitch the neckline casing today. I thought it over,and, the 1/4" the instructions call for will give it a good look with the elastic. I will topstitch on the outside to make sure the stitches look neat and tidy. Wish me luck. I will let you know how it turns out. Thanks.
4/15/08 11:03 AM
sheriww said...
Stephenie, I'm just about finished with the top. Just need to insert the elastic. I think I will make a slit in the casing inside the neck and insert elastic and cord and reinforce the slit with hand whip stitching and make a buttonhole of course. I discovered a little pattern piece problem - the armhole casing strips are not long enough to turn in on the ends. So, I will have to leave the ends raw or something. This is just a very casual summer top, but on the next top I make I will be sure to add extra length to the armhole casing strips.
4/16/08 10:01 AM
sheriww said...
Stephenie, the garment is too small.
5/5/08 8:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6747

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
EvaDress B30-7816

photo
by: XandraReyn...

Review