Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8347 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 629 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Stephenie
photo
About Stepheniestar
USA
Member since: 8/18/06
Reviews written: 23
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/08 3:09 PM
Last Updated:3/22/08 4:03 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A very pretty dainty looking top.
3/22/08 3:33 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely fabric and very cute top. I am sure you'll find another project to use up the leftover fabric. Was this fabric easy to work with?
3/22/08 4:27 PM
Stephenie said...
Thanks, tessiesgal! Yes, this fabric was easy to work with. I didn't even have a problem with ravelling.
3/22/08 4:48 PM
Kbenco said...
Your top looks very pretty.
3/22/08 5:35 PM
Leora said...
You could make matching tap pants LOL. This is a great pattern, it is going on my wish list pronto. Love your top!!!
3/22/08 6:15 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top, like your colors.
3/22/08 6:39 PM
Beek said...
Love the fabric! I am sure you'll be receiving numerous compliments when you wear this lovely blouse.
3/22/08 7:28 PM
Karen8320 said...
Stephenie, this certainly is a cute top for summer and you've done a great job. It looks really nice on you.
3/23/08 7:26 AM
Irene Q said...
What a cute top!
3/23/08 12:18 PM
Deepika said...
Oh I love your top. I've had this pattern in my stash forever. Love the fabric too. Thanks for sharing.
3/23/08 4:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Extremely cute top, Stephenie. And like everyone else, I love the fabric. Do you have enough fabric to piece it horizontally and make a shawl? If so, you'd have a really nice top/shawl for a dressier occasion. Lovely, Lily
3/24/08 4:21 PM
sheriww said...
I bought this pattern and would like to know if you trimmed the armhole and neck allowances as instructed before sewing.
4/12/08 9:25 AM
Stephenie said...
Sheriww- No I did not trim the armhole or neck allowances. I didn't really understand why it was necessary, so I didn't do it! :)
4/13/08 11:35 AM
sheriww said...
Thanks for getting back with me. so far in making burda 8347 I have trimmed the neckline and armholes 3/8 and sewn the casing on with the 3/8". It was then when I discovered the neckline casing ends was on the shoulder seam, for diagram 12 in the instructions sheet shows the casing ends meeting on the left shoulder seam. So, I decided to not have a button hole for the cord to go through. I will just have the elastic in the casing. the instructions say to turn the casing inside and topstitch 1/4". Looks like you didn't do this with your top. I,m not really sure if I should turn the casing strip inside. I think the neckline and armholes would have a balloon appearance. Can you give me some help with this?
4/14/08 7:19 PM
Stephenie said...
sheriww~I did turn the casing inside and topstitch. If you click on my project photo picture, at the top of the review, it will show the top on a hanger. You can see that I flipped the casing to the inside and topstitched. The buttonhole was to be done as one of the first steps on the front of the top, before the casing is sewn on. I hope this helps. This was my first Burda pattern and I found the instructions very confusing.
4/15/08 10:48 AM
sheriww said...
Yes, I will topstitch the neckline casing today. I thought it over,and, the 1/4" the instructions call for will give it a good look with the elastic. I will topstitch on the outside to make sure the stitches look neat and tidy. Wish me luck. I will let you know how it turns out. Thanks.
4/15/08 11:03 AM
sheriww said...
Stephenie, I'm just about finished with the top. Just need to insert the elastic. I think I will make a slit in the casing inside the neck and insert elastic and cord and reinforce the slit with hand whip stitching and make a buttonhole of course. I discovered a little pattern piece problem - the armhole casing strips are not long enough to turn in on the ends. So, I will have to leave the ends raw or something. This is just a very casual summer top, but on the next top I make I will be sure to add extra length to the armhole casing strips.
4/16/08 10:01 AM
sheriww said...
Stephenie, the garment is too small.
5/5/08 8:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 7/9/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fehr Trade 000
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 3/18/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9675 Pattern
Burda 9675 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us