Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7832 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 829 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 4:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it didn't work for you, but it looks great in the pic!
3/23/08 5:17 PM
cindyann said...
Made the same mistake this weekend with another pattern. I feel your pain. It looks nice, but I understand that you wanted more than just a basic tee.
3/23/08 5:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, the line drawing looks interesting, so I can see why you would want to try this pattern. The color is gorgeous, and it looks nice in the picture. Surely it will look good under jackets.
3/23/08 5:27 PM
judy3 said...
I'm sorry you aren't pleased with your top, but you should know that it is really inspiring to hear that someone like you is having trouble with a pattern. I am a beginner who is struggling with alterations right now-I was feeling pretty frustrated until I read your review and found out that even experienced sewers don't always get the results they want. Thank you for sharing!
3/23/08 7:28 PM
MissCelie said...
The line drawing *is* interesting and the color is very pretty on you. Thanks for giving your honest opinion.
3/23/08 7:40 PM
Stephenie said...
It's always disappointing when a pattern isn't all we'd hoped for...The color really is lovely on you, though!!
3/23/08 9:06 PM
Athene said...
The color and the fit looks good, and the seam lines in the drawing are interesting but I agree that it does not look that special considering the extra work that goes along with the princess seams etc.
3/23/08 9:47 PM
sewbehind said...
Love the colour on you and the neckline. However, if you don't feel comfortable in it, it will stay in your drawer. When I opened the picture, I thought it was beautiful. Very flattering on you.
3/23/08 11:10 PM
Tall Mary said...
I think that it looks pretty trendy on you rather than too short. It is probably shorter than you are used to but it is not too short in my opinion. I love the color on you.
3/24/08 0:18 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Bummer it didn't work for you. Thanks for taking the time to review it, I don't think it's a bad top, but if it's not "you" than what more can you do?
3/24/08 0:23 AM
CynthiaSue said...
the color is so fabulous. I hate it when you want to quit something but have time invested so you're stuck continuing!:)
3/24/08 0:47 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I keep looking at this pattern in the magazine; thanks for letting us know you think it's only "eh". I just noticed the sleeves - from the front they look like raglan sleeves but from the back they look like set-in sleeves - that's different. Well, it never hurts to have more t-shirts in the closet!
3/24/08 1:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I agree it looks kind of blah, at least in a solid. Maybe stripes or checks, at least a directional texture, would emphasize the interesting cut? But I really hate the bottom shape too, if I were you I'd chop that off and maybe use a matching binding to the neck so as not to lose too much length?
3/24/08 4:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry you don't like it. I think it looks good on you but could look even better with some length. You indicated you shortened and if there were to be a next time keep the length instead of shortening.
3/24/08 7:17 AM
sandiesews said...
Pardon my ignorance, but what is a TNT pattern (for basic t-shirt).
3/24/08 7:30 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree with everyone that the color is great on you. I'm sorry you don't the results, esp. for the time spent on it. I was thinking ... if you have any scraps left, maybe you can add a band to the bottom to give it the length you'd prefer.
3/24/08 8:23 AM
Deepika said...
sandi, TNT means tried -n- tested. Debbie and Fuzzygalore, GREAT idea adding binding/band at the bottom. But I already threw out the scraps. Hmm.. maybe its worth diving in the trash for :) but honestly, at this point, I think I am done. Thanks for your nice comments though. I spent the evening yesterday making something fabulous which I will probably review today. I can't wait to share it with you guys.
3/24/08 9:43 AM
Stitchcakes said...
If ya hate it -- donate it!
3/24/08 10:16 AM
Marji said...
oh. At first glance I thought this top was the Jalie top. Which I know you've made before and liked so well. Well, it does go with your scarf beautifully. (now aren't you wishing too that there was a category for pattern that says "ok, not great, not bad, just ok"?)
3/24/08 3:16 PM
Karen6790 said...
This wasn't my favorite top when I made it, even after playing with the sleeve. But the color is so good on you, you have to keep it, at least for now. I second Carolyn's recommendation - wear it under a jacket with your gorgeous scarf.
3/24/08 8:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Color aside, which is definitely one of your most flattering, I think you've got it right that it's *almost* fabulous. If you're so inclined to add additional time to this top, I'd dive in the trash for the scraps and add just a titch of length in band form to reclaim that fabulous category. But if you're done, fully understood. -Lily
3/24/08 9:44 PM
Ariadne said...
Thank you. I was about to use that pattern to make my first tee- shirt for me. I would have been so disappointed. I usually blame myself, not the pattern, so I'd probably have given up. So, thank you for saving me from wasting what is, for me, really extravagant fabric ( as in, I bought it for me, not for the kids, since I "shop" out of dh's big, shapeless $1 Old Navy tee-shirts.) I've been reading for days here. It's like an oasis of splendor and creativity. I am so inspired to make beautiful things for myself and, eventually, my friends, so all of us sahm's can have couture style. Babette's Feast, with corndogs, ykwim?
4/25/09 1:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 16599-1003
photo
Review by TalyQ on 7/13/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4337 simplicity
photo
Review by vintageclo... on 1/16/09
Read Review

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us