SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7832 (Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 833 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 4:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it didn't work for you, but it looks great in the pic!
3/23/08 5:17 PM
cindyann said...
Made the same mistake this weekend with another pattern. I feel your pain. It looks nice, but I understand that you wanted more than just a basic tee.
3/23/08 5:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, the line drawing looks interesting, so I can see why you would want to try this pattern. The color is gorgeous, and it looks nice in the picture. Surely it will look good under jackets.
3/23/08 5:27 PM
judy3 said...
I'm sorry you aren't pleased with your top, but you should know that it is really inspiring to hear that someone like you is having trouble with a pattern. I am a beginner who is struggling with alterations right now-I was feeling pretty frustrated until I read your review and found out that even experienced sewers don't always get the results they want. Thank you for sharing!
3/23/08 7:28 PM
MissCelie said...
The line drawing *is* interesting and the color is very pretty on you. Thanks for giving your honest opinion.
3/23/08 7:40 PM
Stephenie said...
It's always disappointing when a pattern isn't all we'd hoped for...The color really is lovely on you, though!!
3/23/08 9:06 PM
Athene said...
The color and the fit looks good, and the seam lines in the drawing are interesting but I agree that it does not look that special considering the extra work that goes along with the princess seams etc.
3/23/08 9:47 PM
sewbehind said...
Love the colour on you and the neckline. However, if you don't feel comfortable in it, it will stay in your drawer. When I opened the picture, I thought it was beautiful. Very flattering on you.
3/23/08 11:10 PM
Tall Mary said...
I think that it looks pretty trendy on you rather than too short. It is probably shorter than you are used to but it is not too short in my opinion. I love the color on you.
3/24/08 0:18 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Bummer it didn't work for you. Thanks for taking the time to review it, I don't think it's a bad top, but if it's not "you" than what more can you do?
3/24/08 0:23 AM
CynthiaSue said...
the color is so fabulous. I hate it when you want to quit something but have time invested so you're stuck continuing!:)
3/24/08 0:47 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I keep looking at this pattern in the magazine; thanks for letting us know you think it's only "eh". I just noticed the sleeves - from the front they look like raglan sleeves but from the back they look like set-in sleeves - that's different. Well, it never hurts to have more t-shirts in the closet!
3/24/08 1:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I agree it looks kind of blah, at least in a solid. Maybe stripes or checks, at least a directional texture, would emphasize the interesting cut? But I really hate the bottom shape too, if I were you I'd chop that off and maybe use a matching binding to the neck so as not to lose too much length?
3/24/08 4:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry you don't like it. I think it looks good on you but could look even better with some length. You indicated you shortened and if there were to be a next time keep the length instead of shortening.
3/24/08 7:17 AM
sandiesews said...
Pardon my ignorance, but what is a TNT pattern (for basic t-shirt).
3/24/08 7:30 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree with everyone that the color is great on you. I'm sorry you don't the results, esp. for the time spent on it. I was thinking ... if you have any scraps left, maybe you can add a band to the bottom to give it the length you'd prefer.
3/24/08 8:23 AM
Deepika said...
sandi, TNT means tried -n- tested. Debbie and Fuzzygalore, GREAT idea adding binding/band at the bottom. But I already threw out the scraps. Hmm.. maybe its worth diving in the trash for :) but honestly, at this point, I think I am done. Thanks for your nice comments though. I spent the evening yesterday making something fabulous which I will probably review today. I can't wait to share it with you guys.
3/24/08 9:43 AM
Stitchcakes said...
If ya hate it -- donate it!
3/24/08 10:16 AM
Marji said...
oh. At first glance I thought this top was the Jalie top. Which I know you've made before and liked so well. Well, it does go with your scarf beautifully. (now aren't you wishing too that there was a category for pattern that says "ok, not great, not bad, just ok"?)
3/24/08 3:16 PM
Karen6790 said...
This wasn't my favorite top when I made it, even after playing with the sleeve. But the color is so good on you, you have to keep it, at least for now. I second Carolyn's recommendation - wear it under a jacket with your gorgeous scarf.
3/24/08 8:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Color aside, which is definitely one of your most flattering, I think you've got it right that it's *almost* fabulous. If you're so inclined to add additional time to this top, I'd dive in the trash for the scraps and add just a titch of length in band form to reclaim that fabulous category. But if you're done, fully understood. -Lily
3/24/08 9:44 PM
Ariadne said...
Thank you. I was about to use that pattern to make my first tee- shirt for me. I would have been so disappointed. I usually blame myself, not the pattern, so I'd probably have given up. So, thank you for saving me from wasting what is, for me, really extravagant fabric ( as in, I bought it for me, not for the kids, since I "shop" out of dh's big, shapeless $1 Old Navy tee-shirts.) I've been reading for days here. It's like an oasis of splendor and creativity. I am so inspired to make beautiful things for myself and, eventually, my friends, so all of us sahm's can have couture style. Babette's Feast, with corndogs, ykwim?
4/25/09 1:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

brerrabbit.com Mimi G

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now