Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2008-407 (Hooded Jacket)

Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews: 45 (patterns: 38)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 1:57 AM
Last Updated:3/24/08 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Roxxygrl said... (5/4/08 7:24 PM) Reply
Looks great one you, and so comfy.
lilyofthevalley said... (3/25/08 0:42 AM) Reply
The modifications and alterations you made to this pattern have, in my opinion, greatly enhanced the style of this lovely sweater jacket. It carries quite a nice bit of attitude, as well. Altogether, a smashing piece. -Lily
SarahSM said... (3/24/08 5:20 PM) Reply
Fuzzygalore: I guess I'm doing my part to fight back against the return of the 80s!
michellep74 said... (3/24/08 11:54 AM) Reply
I've been wanting to make this, too. Thanks for the detailed review--I really like your version!
Sherril Miller said... (3/24/08 10:59 AM) Reply
Oh yeah, you whipped that pattern into shape and it's fantastic. I'm not sure you would have the sizing problems either if you had used a more tightly woven knit and had been able to put in the darts, along with your usual changes. What you did turn out with is just as wonderful, though.
Sic said... (3/24/08 8:32 AM) Reply
Awesome sweater jacket!
blue mooney said... (3/24/08 8:32 AM) Reply
Love that fabric you chose. This pattern is on my short list. Glad you made it work for you, and thanks for reviewing!
fuzzygalore said... (3/24/08 4:05 AM) Reply
I don't think there is inconsistency from Burda here - the 80s are coming back, Burda is proposing a jacket that has that sort of dropped shoulder and looser fit (you -must- drop the armholes and add bust room in dropped shoulders or you have a straight jacket). So if you don't like that style, you should pick another one to sew :-). Your very loose fabric choice probably emphasized the dropping of the shoulders. But I like the results a lot on you, and I wish I could handle sweater knit that well :-).
Athene said... (3/24/08 2:26 AM) Reply
This is a great sweater jacket. I went to your blog and saw the rest of the pictures. Beautiful pictures, great review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8636

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-102

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Pattern Details