Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7212 (The Fashion Historian) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 403 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:HistoryStudent
photo
About HistoryStudentstar
Member since: 10/11/07
Reviews written: 13
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 9:43 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 9:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
HistoryStudent, your thumbnail photo does not enlarge and I'm unable to see your beautiful costume. If you're able to fix the photo link, I'd love to view it in detail. -Lily
3/25/08 1:03 AM
wvsher said...
Sounds like you did a great job on it. I'm impressed you can already sew such a detailed garment after only a few months sewing! Glad you had a good time wearing it, too.
3/25/08 4:53 PM
rozzybabe said...
You're obviously very intersted in historical costumes, particularily Victorian styles. Would you be able to e-mail me as to the style/type of corset you've made to wear under these snug bodices, as I'm also interested in giving this a go. Rozzybabe
3/26/08 8:31 PM
HistoryStudent said...
Hi Rozzybabe, The corsets that I wear under my costumes are from DarkGarden.com. I've heard great things about various corset patterns at http://community.livejournal.com/corsetmakers.
4/2/08 3:06 PM
LunaCat said...
You MUST use bust pads with any of Simplicity's patterns in order to get the proper look above the corset! Without them, the dress doesn't look right, even when made to the appropriate size! Look at the 'ease' that's given on the tissue! a size 12 has osmething like a 40" bust! HELLO, do you kow anyone who wears a 40" bust and is a size 12 (except maybe Dolly). This pattern makes up into a wonderful dress, and can be 'dressed up' or down depending on the fabrics used. I've made this one at least 8 times now, and each time it comes out slightly different. Course that may be due to modifications made to fit the wearer! hehe! I find that if you decrease the yardage in the skirt, this makes a great 'camp dress' as well. You can get by with a slightly smaller hoop for in camp!
5/20/08 10:08 AM
FreckleHead said...
I want to make this pattern for Dickens as well, but I don't want the skirt to be as full as the pattern suggests. You said you made your own skirt; could I just use my favorite skirt pattern and stitch it to the bodice?
6/16/09 5:16 PM
Cowcat said...
What other sources would you recommend for Civil War patterns?
7/18/13 3:14 PM
Cowcat said...
The bustpads mystify me. I hate to make them out of polyester, suppose the C.W. women used cotton or wool stuffed pads. I'd love to avoid the whole problem, but LunaCat says Simplicity patterns require them to fit.
7/18/13 3:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 5/29/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2008-108
photo
Review by Amy-may on 10/6/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us