SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1013 (DKNY top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 669 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/26/08 3:39 PM
Last Updated:3/26/08 3:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
Great looking top, very cute with the belt! This color is beautiful on you!
3/26/08 4:03 PM
LindsayT said...
Nice to have this review, as I've been eying this pattern. It looks fab on you, BTW.
3/26/08 4:15 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great 100th review. Nice top.
3/26/08 5:22 PM
Annette1 said...
You cussing? No, I don't believe it. You look way too sweet for that. :o) Any disparaging remarks toward this top should now be retracted, as it's turned out beautifully in the end. :o)
3/26/08 8:25 PM
Riordan said...
Lovely blouse, and the color is wonderful on you!! Congratulations on 100 great reviews!
3/26/08 8:40 PM
Lori V said...
This is very cute and I really like it with the belt. Congrats on the 100th review.
3/26/08 9:09 PM
Leora said...
Congrats on your 100th review!! Perhaps you can unpick the neckline and resew it single (to avoid worrying about disintegrating) but then I suppose you are *done* with it, huh? I love this color on you and the top is so pretty!
3/26/08 9:21 PM
sew2little said...
And I always look forward to your reviews--thanks!
3/26/08 9:37 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love your top - it's so classy! It looks great with or without the belt. Sorry it had you tearing your hair out and swearing (that gave me a chuckle!). Congrats on your 100th review!
3/26/08 10:56 PM
AuntieShel said...
Well, your top is absolutely gorgeous and looks fabulous on you. I'm sorry it gave you so much trouble, but what a wonderful outcome. Tearing your hair and swearing? Hm, glad I'm not the only one. I have noticed also that patterns never seem to make the bias binding wide enough to do the job. I don't know who tests this before the pattern is put in production, but I always make it wider than they say and have never looked back. Congratulations on your 100th review. That's a milestone!
3/27/08 8:07 AM
parisf said...
It is really pretty and only you see the problems
3/27/08 9:19 AM
carolynw said...
First off congrats on your 100th review!! The top looks just perfect on you - I can well imagine how difficult a double bias binding would be in a heavier fabric - "you done well"
3/27/08 9:32 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Carolyn, your top (despite the woes) is absolutely terrific. The fabric's color and texture are so well suited to your colored and the style is wonderful on your slim frame. Though the sleeves were a bear, they are the star of the show. So impressed with 100 reviews! Do you still have all 100 items in your closet? Lovely top, Lily
3/27/08 1:42 PM
CarolynGM said...
Lily -- many of the garments in my first 100 reviews have been retired from my wardrobe, but I bet I still have half of them. Sometimes I see one of my old reviews pop up in the rotisserie and I realize that the pictured garment has long since gone to the Salvation Army.
3/27/08 4:56 PM
cecelia said...
Congrats on your 100th!! You do very nice work. I like the top, especially with the tie.
3/29/08 5:45 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I think 100 is great regardless of how long it takes, besides 5 years is certainly reasonable. I like your blouse. JJill has a tshirt similar to this and it has the ruffle construction you are talking about. I really liked that. Thanks for sharing that information. I was going to make my own. You do such nice work. I really like this on you.
3/30/08 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Knife-edge Pillow Covers

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review