Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2008-108 (w_i_r_e_d Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1310 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:SewFar
photo
About SewFarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 4/19/06
Reviews written: 10
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:4/1/08 10:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JMarie1962 said...
Beautiful blouse and I love the color (eye-catching). I had to chuckle when I read that it's been in your stash since 1987. That sounds like something I'd do! :) Great review and I'm glad you shared the tip about the BWOF book on techniques. I stay away from their patterns, as I've never had great luck. Congratulations on making your deadline :)
3/31/08 11:01 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow! Thanks for the review!! I want to make this pattern too! There are so many that I want to make in BWOF!! I love your version too.
3/31/08 11:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just a gorgeous blouse, SewFar. Wonderful color, and each change you made has enhanced the style. Exactly the right touch with your trim and buttons. Needless to say, your wired collar is positively inspired. Lovely, Lily
3/31/08 11:32 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great blouse!!! I love the wired collar!!!
3/31/08 11:57 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning. Love the collar and the gorgeous trim just makes the style for me. Love the colour as well.
4/1/08 3:21 AM
anetJay said...
ooh LOVE IT !!! gorgeous colors !!!
4/1/08 6:13 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous blouse and wonderful color.
4/1/08 7:18 AM
SewFar said...
Ohhhh -- I'm blushing with chagrin. I think I've commited the sewing equivalent of getting dressed in the dark. How did I manage to get crushproof fabric to look so dishevelled in the photos? Truly, the blouse looks a lot better in person! Will re-take pics.
4/1/08 8:08 AM
SewFar said...
Doubly chagrined.
4/1/08 8:15 AM
LindsayT said...
Nice! Looking forward to seeing more photos of it.
4/1/08 8:54 AM
CatMukai said...
Ooh, I like your version! If I had known you were planning this I would've held off on my review ;)
4/1/08 12:51 PM
EveS said...
Very pretty shirt! Your fabric was aged to perfection! :) Congrats on your first BWOF, and a fitted blouse, no less!
4/1/08 8:24 PM
kathleen1304 said...
I also like your use of the word "sproing." I'm sure we all know exactly what you mean.
4/1/08 11:08 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - unusual treatment for the collar but it looks great. I also like the treatment on the collar and pocket using a multi-colored fabric. Nice job.
4/1/08 11:14 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful! I think this would also make a cute jacket, especially with the collar. I love it!
4/2/08 0:36 AM
Athene said...
Wonderful blouse - I especially love the collar.
4/2/08 2:19 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for your detailed review. Those are always so helpful. Great job.
4/2/08 9:00 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Did you sew the ribbon together to make a tube or did you fold it over lengthwise and make a tube? I have some of this ribbon and you have really outdone yourself using this. Awesome.
4/2/08 10:07 AM
patrica said...
Lovely blouse , great review. I always wondered did Burda ever publish a book about thier construction methods. Got to get that book Thanks
4/2/08 11:36 AM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous blouse and very interesting review! Can you tell me what you use to trace patterns and how it works for you? I've seen clear plastic suggested before but I'm not sure what weight.
4/2/08 12:27 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is gorgeous! The use of color is wonderful =)
4/2/08 3:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking blouse.
4/2/08 6:50 PM
SewFar said...
~Thanks, everyone, for your wonderful comments.~ As a developing sewist it's really encouraging to get positive feedback!
Puddin Pop - I stitched two lengths of 3/8" ribbon together -> a seam on each side. VtMartha - Plain old waxed paper used to trace this pattern (see Adjusted Pattern pic): see through, very inexpensive, easy to mark (no bleed-through), fold out, pin/staple/tape for adjustments. I also like soil separator fabric/cloth, used here for the fitting muslin.
4/3/08 9:04 AM
jlucie said...
The collar is fabulous and I love the way the sleeves and pockets reflect each other's puffy design. Thanks for the tip on using wire!
4/6/08 10:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us