SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-108 (w_i_r_e_d Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1311 times 
Reviewed by:SewFar
photo

 
 
About SewFarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 4/19/06
Reviews written: 10
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:4/1/08 10:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlucie said...
The collar is fabulous and I love the way the sleeves and pockets reflect each other's puffy design. Thanks for the tip on using wire!
4/6/08 10:39 AM
SewFar said...
~Thanks, everyone, for your wonderful comments.~ As a developing sewist it's really encouraging to get positive feedback!
Puddin Pop - I stitched two lengths of 3/8" ribbon together -> a seam on each side. VtMartha - Plain old waxed paper used to trace this pattern (see Adjusted Pattern pic): see through, very inexpensive, easy to mark (no bleed-through), fold out, pin/staple/tape for adjustments. I also like soil separator fabric/cloth, used here for the fitting muslin.
4/3/08 9:04 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking blouse.
4/2/08 6:50 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is gorgeous! The use of color is wonderful =)
4/2/08 3:54 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous blouse and very interesting review! Can you tell me what you use to trace patterns and how it works for you? I've seen clear plastic suggested before but I'm not sure what weight.
4/2/08 12:27 PM
patrica said...
Lovely blouse , great review. I always wondered did Burda ever publish a book about thier construction methods. Got to get that book Thanks
4/2/08 11:36 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Did you sew the ribbon together to make a tube or did you fold it over lengthwise and make a tube? I have some of this ribbon and you have really outdone yourself using this. Awesome.
4/2/08 10:07 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for your detailed review. Those are always so helpful. Great job.
4/2/08 9:00 AM
Athene said...
Wonderful blouse - I especially love the collar.
4/2/08 2:19 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful! I think this would also make a cute jacket, especially with the collar. I love it!
4/2/08 0:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - unusual treatment for the collar but it looks great. I also like the treatment on the collar and pocket using a multi-colored fabric. Nice job.
4/1/08 11:14 PM
kathleen1304 said...
I also like your use of the word "sproing." I'm sure we all know exactly what you mean.
4/1/08 11:08 PM
EveS said...
Very pretty shirt! Your fabric was aged to perfection! :) Congrats on your first BWOF, and a fitted blouse, no less!
4/1/08 8:24 PM
CatMukai said...
Ooh, I like your version! If I had known you were planning this I would've held off on my review ;)
4/1/08 12:51 PM
LindsayT said...
Nice! Looking forward to seeing more photos of it.
4/1/08 8:54 AM
SewFar said...
Doubly chagrined.
4/1/08 8:15 AM
SewFar said...
Ohhhh -- I'm blushing with chagrin. I think I've commited the sewing equivalent of getting dressed in the dark. How did I manage to get crushproof fabric to look so dishevelled in the photos? Truly, the blouse looks a lot better in person! Will re-take pics.
4/1/08 8:08 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous blouse and wonderful color.
4/1/08 7:18 AM
anetJay said...
ooh LOVE IT !!! gorgeous colors !!!
4/1/08 6:13 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning. Love the collar and the gorgeous trim just makes the style for me. Love the colour as well.
4/1/08 3:21 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great blouse!!! I love the wired collar!!!
3/31/08 11:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just a gorgeous blouse, SewFar. Wonderful color, and each change you made has enhanced the style. Exactly the right touch with your trim and buttons. Needless to say, your wired collar is positively inspired. Lovely, Lily
3/31/08 11:32 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow! Thanks for the review!! I want to make this pattern too! There are so many that I want to make in BWOF!! I love your version too.
3/31/08 11:19 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Beautiful blouse and I love the color (eye-catching). I had to chuckle when I read that it's been in your stash since 1987. That sounds like something I'd do! :) Great review and I'm glad you shared the tip about the BWOF book on techniques. I stay away from their patterns, as I've never had great luck. Congratulations on making your deadline :)
3/31/08 11:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's 6078

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 2987

photo
by: PattyE

Review