Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 500 (Pleated Top/ Tank top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1055 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/08 11:09 PM
Last Updated:3/27/08 11:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
That's a really interesting concept to make it into a pattern. The fabric is very pretty made up, the print is nice and I can see it being really effective under a jacket. But 75% stretch - oiy!
3/28/08 4:02 AM
OP Gal said...
It looks great in the picture. Too bad you had such problems with it. I really love the fabric. I can imagine how attractive it must be under a black jacket.
3/28/08 5:16 AM
Peggy L said...
I've made this a couple of times - actually I have it on in my avatar. With the right fabric, its super quick. Glad you finally got yours to work.
3/28/08 8:37 AM
carolynw said...
It is beautiful Lisa and congrats for sticking with it - a lesson to those of us who like me call things a wadder maybe too soon?
3/28/08 8:43 AM
Modiste Madness said...
The trials and tribulations we go through to get something finished. Perseverence paid off and you got your top for you suit. Those look great and fit well under jackets.
3/28/08 8:45 AM
janet said...
I took a make and take class with an associate of Peggy Sager's at the 07 Sewing Expo in Chantilly, VA. Many of the people in the class had the same problems that you did including myself! I made a 4 and could barely take it off! By the pre-made trials I should have made a 5W--but would not because it was W sizing and W sizing does not fit my proportions. I have made the same top in small pleats in size 2 in black and have worn it close to ten years. Go with the small pleats! You will get many compliments! I am impressed with your perserverance--your top turned out great. And Peggy Sagers, she is a super human being--even if sometimes I don't really 'get' what she is saying the first time!
3/28/08 12:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stunning, head-turning top! I'll bet you were shocked upon learning that what you thought would be a simple top (now that you had purchased exactly the correct fabric) turned into quite a trial and test of character. You passed the test with flying colors. I'll bet this top looks smashing under your black jacket. -Lily
3/28/08 12:57 PM
blue mooney said...
Very exciting top. It's fun to sew something with such unique construction.
3/29/08 8:22 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the fabric - and it really makes this top stand out from the crowd. Lovely
3/29/08 11:02 AM
JudiBee2 said...
Your top is stunning. I don't think I could get such a top to fit me without a dart. It certainly sounds intriquing
3/29/08 4:32 PM
fryman said...
Hello Lisa: Well, for me anyway, the prettiest thing in the attached photo of you wearing the one piece s-t-r-e-t-c-h-a-b-l-e fabric is YOUR SMILE and PRETTY FACE. I really can't come up with a positive comment about the pattern or the fabric. Yes, I think the fabricis interesting but I don't think it's flattering nor do I think it would be flattering on ANY body. A very big high five for the customer service though. That was really good news. However, you did spur my curiosity and I'm going to investigate sihouette patterns. Good Luck on your next project!
3/29/08 8:50 PM
cecelia said...
This looks terrific on you. It seems like a very unusual pattern--nice to know you can contact Peggy for good help.
3/30/08 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2796
photo
Review by Speech gir... on 3/25/14
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3740
photo
Review by Sewing Nur... on 1/26/11
Read Review

New Look 6054 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6054 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3886 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3886 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us