SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 500 (Pleated Top/ Tank top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1074 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/08 11:09 PM
Last Updated:3/27/08 11:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
This looks terrific on you. It seems like a very unusual pattern--nice to know you can contact Peggy for good help.
3/30/08 10:25 AM
fryman said...
Hello Lisa: Well, for me anyway, the prettiest thing in the attached photo of you wearing the one piece s-t-r-e-t-c-h-a-b-l-e fabric is YOUR SMILE and PRETTY FACE. I really can't come up with a positive comment about the pattern or the fabric. Yes, I think the fabricis interesting but I don't think it's flattering nor do I think it would be flattering on ANY body. A very big high five for the customer service though. That was really good news. However, you did spur my curiosity and I'm going to investigate sihouette patterns. Good Luck on your next project!
3/29/08 8:50 PM
JudiBee2 said...
Your top is stunning. I don't think I could get such a top to fit me without a dart. It certainly sounds intriquing
3/29/08 4:32 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the fabric - and it really makes this top stand out from the crowd. Lovely
3/29/08 11:02 AM
blue mooney said...
Very exciting top. It's fun to sew something with such unique construction.
3/29/08 8:22 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stunning, head-turning top! I'll bet you were shocked upon learning that what you thought would be a simple top (now that you had purchased exactly the correct fabric) turned into quite a trial and test of character. You passed the test with flying colors. I'll bet this top looks smashing under your black jacket. -Lily
3/28/08 12:57 PM
janet said...
I took a make and take class with an associate of Peggy Sager's at the 07 Sewing Expo in Chantilly, VA. Many of the people in the class had the same problems that you did including myself! I made a 4 and could barely take it off! By the pre-made trials I should have made a 5W--but would not because it was W sizing and W sizing does not fit my proportions. I have made the same top in small pleats in size 2 in black and have worn it close to ten years. Go with the small pleats! You will get many compliments! I am impressed with your perserverance--your top turned out great. And Peggy Sagers, she is a super human being--even if sometimes I don't really 'get' what she is saying the first time!
3/28/08 12:07 PM
Modiste Madness said...
The trials and tribulations we go through to get something finished. Perseverence paid off and you got your top for you suit. Those look great and fit well under jackets.
3/28/08 8:45 AM
carolynw said...
It is beautiful Lisa and congrats for sticking with it - a lesson to those of us who like me call things a wadder maybe too soon?
3/28/08 8:43 AM
Peggy L said...
I've made this a couple of times - actually I have it on in my avatar. With the right fabric, its super quick. Glad you finally got yours to work.
3/28/08 8:37 AM
OP Gal said...
It looks great in the picture. Too bad you had such problems with it. I really love the fabric. I can imagine how attractive it must be under a black jacket.
3/28/08 5:16 AM
Marji said...
That's a really interesting concept to make it into a pattern. The fabric is very pretty made up, the print is nice and I can see it being really effective under a jacket. But 75% stretch - oiy!
3/28/08 4:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6091

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
New Look 6190

photo
by: ak21

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now