Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-126 (Simple Hooded Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1190 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:jaeng
photo
About jaengstar
NJ USA
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/08 5:44 PM
Last Updated:3/29/08 6:19 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
It looks great from here - I can't enlarge your picture, probably because I got here while you're still working on it :-)
3/28/08 5:50 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Hey this is COOL! I have been interested in this pattern for ages but not sure how it works on me and fabrics etc., so still haven't done it, love your version with obi belt, thanks for the review!
3/28/08 6:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Jaeng, this is just a stunning piece of work! Despite the minimum of seams, the jacket has shape and curve at all the right places. The microsuede is perfect; and I love the single button at bust level. Sleek, sophisticated and definitely Asian inspired. Quite a beauty! -Lily
3/28/08 6:10 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Inspired. Love it.
3/28/08 6:17 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is gorgeous. Clever girl!
3/28/08 7:30 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! WOW! WOW!!! This is absolutely tres chic! It looks so upscale! I just love this!
3/28/08 8:16 PM
nellc said...
What a stylish jacket, I love the changes you have made to the original design.
3/28/08 8:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What an interesting jacket! I like the design changes you made. It looks nothing like any duvet cover I've ever seen. :)
3/28/08 8:39 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
Droooool, I am drooooling over your gorgeous jacket! It looks so well-made, and your alterations suit the style perfectly. Well done!
3/28/08 9:14 PM
Karen6790 said...
I was thinking about making the original jacket from the 11/2007 issue, now I'm reconsidering. This is gorgeous and I absolutely love that it started otu as a duvet cover. Stylish recycling!
3/28/08 10:17 PM
Tez said...
I am always inspired by your work. This jacket is lovely.
3/29/08 3:27 AM
anetJay said...
LOVE IT !!!
3/29/08 6:39 AM
Beek said...
Great jacket! Looks like a designer garment! Nice job!
3/29/08 8:52 AM
So So said...
WOW! I have just had another look at 11/07. Thought i had missed something! youhave created a fabulous jacket form this pattern. I am now off to look at your other reviews.
3/29/08 9:01 AM
Sewingmi said...
That is really gorgeous and original! I love it!
3/29/08 11:24 AM
lcavagnolo said...
I love your interpretation of this pattern and the Naomi top, JJ! I, too, did a double take after I realized that I own the November issue and your jacket looks way better! :)
3/29/08 3:33 PM
JudiBee2 said...
Very beautiful. Good to know that seams can be eliminated. That is a new one on me.
3/29/08 4:26 PM
jaeng said...
Hello, thank you so much for very nice compliments. I am into minimal seam projects right now. Everytimes I look at the patterns, I always think about eliminating seams/ combind seams. This pattern (burda 11/2007/126) is perfect for making bath robe, don't you think?
3/29/08 5:33 PM
simpleliving said...
Great job! I love the belt. Is it a separate piece or is it sewn to the jacket?
3/29/08 5:49 PM
jaeng said...
Simpleliving, I just add the link of how to make an obi belt. It's a seperated piece, not sewn into the jacket.
3/29/08 6:21 PM
jaeng said...

3/29/08 6:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the combination of the jacket and the obi belt. You created a very unique look.
3/29/08 6:58 PM
lillydee said...
Maybe you should start publishing your own designs.....I'd love to see how you changed the BWOF version t make the new front and shoulder line!
3/29/08 7:19 PM
CShelley said...
Brilliant! Thanks so much for sharing.
3/29/08 8:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket.
3/29/08 8:16 PM
pterion said...
Gorgeous and very chic. You are very talented.
3/29/08 9:36 PM
jaeng said...
Next week I will make a how to on changing the design/pattern, I will post the how to at burdastyle and I will drop a link here.
3/29/08 10:28 PM
Athene said...
Your interpretation of the pattern is so interesting and attractive - I really like it.
3/29/08 11:44 PM
Maychi said...
Great interpretation of the pattern.
3/30/08 3:06 AM
meli88a said...
Wow, you are so creative! I love your additions to the pattern. This is a beautiful jacket, great choice of fabric and very well executed.
3/30/08 9:09 AM
Catbird said...
I agree with lillydee -- you should publish your own designs! Always inspiring, unusual and chic. I look forward to your next posting. Thank you!
3/30/08 7:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Cool jacket!
3/30/08 10:04 PM
Erin Marmoset said...
I love the line of the hood. The whole thing is beautiful, but I'm in LOOOVE with the hood! Thanks for the review!
4/2/08 1:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7696
photo
Review by Renee B on 7/11/09
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6123
photo
Review by wendlesue on 4/30/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6641 Pattern
New Look 6641 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us