Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2006-5 (Basic Shirt Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 927 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:KimSews
photo
About KimSewsstar
WI USA
Member since: 4/24/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/08 11:02 AM
Last Updated:3/28/08 9:58 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Nice blouse and I like the plain fabric as a contrast. Sometimes things are meant to be. :) Your sleeve plackets look to be perfectly sewn too.
3/28/08 10:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Your blouse is wonderful! I love the print and the contrast is the perfect touch. It definitely all looks like it belongs together and is not an afterthought so this review should be the only place you mention that. ;-) Great fit! And who says we can't draw attention to ourselves and our curves with great fitting, pretty clothes!!
3/28/08 11:28 PM
cabinbaby said...
Your contrast idea is perfect. I love those colors together.
3/28/08 11:46 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your blouse is terrific!! I love the pairing of the fabrics. Thanks for a great review.
3/29/08 0:32 AM
Em's Summer said...
Wonderful shirt! You look great in it!
3/29/08 0:55 AM
EveS said...
Beautiful shirt and excellent first review!!! Had to reread it to see that the contrasting fabric was actually a "mistake"...I say NOT!!! Looks perfectly planned and very now, IMO! BTW, I've been stung by that "Oh, we're adding the s/a on just this one piece, k?" ugh.
3/29/08 2:14 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Yes, folks will see you coming and covet your beautiful blouse! Very stylish and flattering on you. Excellent work and first review!
3/29/08 6:04 AM
anetJay said...
beautiful !!! i love the fabrics that you chose :)
3/29/08 6:50 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a fabulous shirt and you look great in it.
3/29/08 7:25 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Way to go making lemonaide from something that could have only been a lemon. I agree with Debbie, don't hide those curves. This top shows you've got some. It turned out perfectly. Great fit and the contrast is a nice designer touch. Make more!
3/29/08 10:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking top - love the color combinations - they really belong together. The fit is perfect for you. This is a job well done.
3/29/08 10:52 AM
Sewingmi said...
That's a really nice shirt, flattering colors and flattering shape!
3/29/08 11:28 AM
Vintage Joan said...
What a wonderful blouse, and that fabric is absolutely spectacular!! :) !
3/29/08 12:33 PM
dollieo said...
I also like the print.Beautiful blouse, well done.
3/29/08 2:33 PM
pterion said...
Gorgeous shirt! It looks wonderful on you. Like Sherril said - you should definitely make more!
3/29/08 11:05 PM
Athene said...
I love the plain color contrast with this print. You got a lovely fit, excellent detail on the cuffs and placket and of course you look curvy and very attractive in this shirt.
3/30/08 0:12 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very flattering style and a great look for you.
3/30/08 1:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Groovylicious! Lovely intermingling of fashion, color and style!
3/30/08 1:20 PM
Robin Denning said...
What a cute cute cute top! I love the deatils on the cuff plackets. Very nicely done and you look great in it!
3/30/08 2:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I was shocked to read that you had not always intended the collar, cuff and button placket to be in a solid, contrasting fabric! It looks so intentional and perfect. Your fabric is stunning, and the fit you've obtained is perfect. I agree with everyone else. Show your curves, use striking fabric, and look beautiful, as you do in your artful Project Photo. Absolutely lovely, Lily
3/30/08 4:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a fun blouse - congrats on your first review!
3/30/08 10:13 PM
dkyllo1625 said...
You look terrific in this blouse!! Your background of learning how to sew is a real inspiration to others.
4/1/08 1:42 PM
AnneM said...
Very fun top. It is a bold fabric, but in a subtle way (I know, that sounds contraditory - but the print seems so traditional, almost Western). The solid fabric is a great touch. Wear this top with pride!
4/3/08 9:57 AM
Cristina_TC said...
Great!
4/3/08 9:59 AM
jlucie said...
What a beautiful blouse - very flattering & lokks terrific with the denim. The contrasting trim and stitching really make it unique. Good choice of buttons also!
4/6/08 11:09 AM
Mufffet said...
I just saw this! Great fabric and accent fabric. Looks very well fitted on you. Nice pattern and great review.
4/9/08 10:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 05-2006-16
photo
Review by slanden99 on 12/13/06
Read Review

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda E930 evening dress
photo
Review by Saya on 4/3/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0177 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0177 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6017 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
McCalls 6017 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us