SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2006-5 (Basic Shirt Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 929 times 
Reviewed by:KimSews
photo

 
 
About KimSewsstar
WI USA
Member since: 4/24/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/08 11:02 AM
Last Updated:3/28/08 9:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Nice blouse and I like the plain fabric as a contrast. Sometimes things are meant to be. :) Your sleeve plackets look to be perfectly sewn too.
3/28/08 10:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Your blouse is wonderful! I love the print and the contrast is the perfect touch. It definitely all looks like it belongs together and is not an afterthought so this review should be the only place you mention that. ;-) Great fit! And who says we can't draw attention to ourselves and our curves with great fitting, pretty clothes!!
3/28/08 11:28 PM
cabinbaby said...
Your contrast idea is perfect. I love those colors together.
3/28/08 11:46 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your blouse is terrific!! I love the pairing of the fabrics. Thanks for a great review.
3/29/08 0:32 AM
Em's Summer said...
Wonderful shirt! You look great in it!
3/29/08 0:55 AM
EveS said...
Beautiful shirt and excellent first review!!! Had to reread it to see that the contrasting fabric was actually a "mistake"...I say NOT!!! Looks perfectly planned and very now, IMO! BTW, I've been stung by that "Oh, we're adding the s/a on just this one piece, k?" ugh.
3/29/08 2:14 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Yes, folks will see you coming and covet your beautiful blouse! Very stylish and flattering on you. Excellent work and first review!
3/29/08 6:04 AM
anetJay said...
beautiful !!! i love the fabrics that you chose :)
3/29/08 6:50 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a fabulous shirt and you look great in it.
3/29/08 7:25 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Way to go making lemonaide from something that could have only been a lemon. I agree with Debbie, don't hide those curves. This top shows you've got some. It turned out perfectly. Great fit and the contrast is a nice designer touch. Make more!
3/29/08 10:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking top - love the color combinations - they really belong together. The fit is perfect for you. This is a job well done.
3/29/08 10:52 AM
Sewingmi said...
That's a really nice shirt, flattering colors and flattering shape!
3/29/08 11:28 AM
Vintage Joan said...
What a wonderful blouse, and that fabric is absolutely spectacular!! :) !
3/29/08 12:33 PM
dollieo said...
I also like the print.Beautiful blouse, well done.
3/29/08 2:33 PM
pterion said...
Gorgeous shirt! It looks wonderful on you. Like Sherril said - you should definitely make more!
3/29/08 11:05 PM
Athene said...
I love the plain color contrast with this print. You got a lovely fit, excellent detail on the cuffs and placket and of course you look curvy and very attractive in this shirt.
3/30/08 0:12 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very flattering style and a great look for you.
3/30/08 1:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Groovylicious! Lovely intermingling of fashion, color and style!
3/30/08 1:20 PM
Robin Denning said...
What a cute cute cute top! I love the deatils on the cuff plackets. Very nicely done and you look great in it!
3/30/08 2:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I was shocked to read that you had not always intended the collar, cuff and button placket to be in a solid, contrasting fabric! It looks so intentional and perfect. Your fabric is stunning, and the fit you've obtained is perfect. I agree with everyone else. Show your curves, use striking fabric, and look beautiful, as you do in your artful Project Photo. Absolutely lovely, Lily
3/30/08 4:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a fun blouse - congrats on your first review!
3/30/08 10:13 PM
dkyllo1625 said...
You look terrific in this blouse!! Your background of learning how to sew is a real inspiration to others.
4/1/08 1:42 PM
AnneM said...
Very fun top. It is a bold fabric, but in a subtle way (I know, that sounds contraditory - but the print seems so traditional, almost Western). The solid fabric is a great touch. Wear this top with pride!
4/3/08 9:57 AM
Cristina_TC said...
Great!
4/3/08 9:59 AM
jlucie said...
What a beautiful blouse - very flattering & lokks terrific with the denim. The contrasting trim and stitching really make it unique. Good choice of buttons also!
4/6/08 11:09 AM
Mufffet said...
I just saw this! Great fabric and accent fabric. Looks very well fitted on you. Nice pattern and great review.
4/9/08 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now