SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-113 (Flouncy Wrap Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1242 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 182
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/08 4:04 PM
Last Updated:4/5/08 6:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
Cute! Cute! Cute! Can you tell I think that top is cute? :-)
3/30/08 4:06 PM
mahalosu said...
I made this top in a trial fabric. I ran into a lot of the same issues you had. But I never put a slit into the sleeves. My sleeves are one piece. I must have missed something. I finished the entire top before realizing it needs a slit in the side for the ties to go thru. I do like the top on you though. Looks really cute.
3/30/08 4:42 PM
So So said...
Your blouse/top looks fantastic. Fits you perfectly.
3/30/08 5:44 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top. This is on my "to sew" list, and I'll definitely be referring back to your review for your tips when I do make this.
3/30/08 6:30 PM
Athene said...
This is a cute top. Too bad the BWOF instructions are not that great.
3/30/08 6:41 PM
nellc said...
I think this top is very flattering and the colours really suit you. Thanks for the review this one is on my to do list.
3/30/08 6:48 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is a super cute top. I love the print and the entire combo is really flattering on you. I've only tried Burda a few times... after reading several Burda reviews, I didn't feel so bad that I couldn't make sens of their instructions! Your 'hobbling through' paid off :)
3/30/08 7:07 PM
avancleve said...
The top is cute, I want to give it a try. I am in the same boat as you when it comes to Burda sizing....don't know whether to do a 36 or a 38. I guess it just depends on the pattern. In the big 4 world I also measure a 12, and everything is just gaping on me. Nice to know I will need to choose the larger size with this one.
3/30/08 7:26 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
I like your top. You could wear it over a cami or put in an insert to cover the parts you don't like. I also have a lot of trouble understanding BWOF instructions. BUT...I feel that struggling to understand and doing things on my own when I don't understand are making me a better sew..(ist?). I am pretty much exclusively using BWOF and I am determined to make it work. Hope your experience with this top has not put you off.
3/30/08 7:34 PM
Vivienne said...
You've just experienced the classic Burda WTF that comes free with every Burda WOF magazine. The top is very flattering on you and summer is coming!
3/30/08 8:45 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, this top is SO on my to-make list! And I, for one, love yours. Thanks for reviewing it. It seems like I remember a line in the instructions about leaving a hole for the tie co come through o nthe *left*. I thought, 'huh? Shouldn't this be on the right?' And there it is in your review. Great top, and great deciphering of the instructions! :)
3/30/08 9:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a pretty top on your cute figure!
3/30/08 9:24 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The top looks super cute on you! I think you should wear it often and pus a cami under it if you think it's too revealing. Very cute!
3/30/08 9:27 PM
mary in FL said...
Repeat after me: "This is Not a wadder."
3/30/08 9:30 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Despite all the problems you had making this pattern it looks fantastic!
3/30/08 10:47 PM
Lori V said...
This is so cute on you.
3/30/08 10:49 PM
cabinbaby said...
mary in FL - This IS a wadder. My serger was skipping stitches because I probably need to change the needle and I got sloppy at the end and did not finish as nicely as I should have. I will make it again though because of all the flattering comments. Thank you all! You changed my mind on this one!
3/30/08 11:16 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, as everyone else notes, I beg to differ with you; this top is highly flattering on you, as is the fabric choice. The instructions sound awful, yet you produced a beautiful top. Please wear it. -Lily
3/30/08 11:40 PM
akazukinchan said...
Oh this is super cute. Great fabric choice. Maybe you just need to spend a few weeks away from it. Wait for your frustration w/ BWOF to dissipate.
3/31/08 0:13 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Adding my vote to the Make It Again delegates. ;-) It's very flattering on you. WOF has given me big headaches at times, but it's also made me figure things out on my own. The process takes longer, but I usually learn a thing or two. I think you did too with this top, so that's one aspect that is NOT a wadder. :-)
3/31/08 0:14 AM
Maychi said...
I also think you should make it again. WOF does have some challenging instructions; but the results are usually worth the trouble. This top is very flattering on you.
3/31/08 0:43 AM
anetJay said...
great review !! this is on my to sew list. with your cute shape, you would make anything look adorable !! ps, i enjoyed your website, and your little ones are so cute . you really must have your hands full !!!ps did i say that i really love that top :)
3/31/08 6:01 AM
MissCelie said...
I too say Make It Again. Also, I usually measure a 12 in the Big 4 and cut a 38 top in BWOF and 38/40 in the pants. It looks terrific!
3/31/08 7:11 AM
LindsayT said...
Wow, look at you. Miss BWOF! I'm liking it...
3/31/08 12:03 PM
jhansby said...
I saw this pattern and so glad to read a review...want to try it myself. Thanks for the heads-up on what to look-out for. It's a cute top!
3/31/08 3:39 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute top. Thanks for the informative review.
3/31/08 5:59 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO PRETTY!!!! I love your fabric choice!!! I want to make this REALLY bad!!!!
4/4/08 7:52 PM
mary in FL said...
Ooh, la, la! Very nice!
4/5/08 7:24 PM
EveS said...
Oh, I like this one even better than the first...encouraging since I just traced this one last night! :) It's very flattering on you and I love the fabric.
4/5/08 8:25 PM
nellc said...
So glad you made this one again, it's lovely.
4/5/08 8:39 PM
Peggy L said...
Cute! Great style for teeny little you!
4/5/08 10:09 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful top. I just bought this issue and this top is on my list (very long list). Thanks for all the information
4/5/08 10:25 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Your tops are cute. Love the fabric and style combination
4/6/08 1:25 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is definitely so pretty on you! The fit, the print--make it again.
4/6/08 7:27 AM
Bonnie O said...
Both versions of the top look cute on you.
4/6/08 10:11 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm so glad the Burda WOF is back in your favor. So many of their patterns would look great on you. I really like this top on you so much that now I'm wondering if I should attempt to grade it up for me. It was the only pattern in this issue I wanted to make.
4/6/08 10:31 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, I too am pleased that you reconsidered because this top looks like it was designed with you in mind. And this fabric is absolutely charming. You look beautiful. -Lily
4/7/08 8:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Burda 8332

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-110

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review