SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-113 (Flouncy Wrap Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1242 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 163 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/08 4:04 PM
Last Updated:4/5/08 6:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, I too am pleased that you reconsidered because this top looks like it was designed with you in mind. And this fabric is absolutely charming. You look beautiful. -Lily
4/7/08 8:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm so glad the Burda WOF is back in your favor. So many of their patterns would look great on you. I really like this top on you so much that now I'm wondering if I should attempt to grade it up for me. It was the only pattern in this issue I wanted to make.
4/6/08 10:31 AM
Bonnie O said...
Both versions of the top look cute on you.
4/6/08 10:11 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is definitely so pretty on you! The fit, the print--make it again.
4/6/08 7:27 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Your tops are cute. Love the fabric and style combination
4/6/08 1:25 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful top. I just bought this issue and this top is on my list (very long list). Thanks for all the information
4/5/08 10:25 PM
Peggy L said...
Cute! Great style for teeny little you!
4/5/08 10:09 PM
nellc said...
So glad you made this one again, it's lovely.
4/5/08 8:39 PM
EveS said...
Oh, I like this one even better than the first...encouraging since I just traced this one last night! :) It's very flattering on you and I love the fabric.
4/5/08 8:25 PM
mary in FL said...
Ooh, la, la! Very nice!
4/5/08 7:24 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO PRETTY!!!! I love your fabric choice!!! I want to make this REALLY bad!!!!
4/4/08 7:52 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute top. Thanks for the informative review.
3/31/08 5:59 PM
jhansby said...
I saw this pattern and so glad to read a review...want to try it myself. Thanks for the heads-up on what to look-out for. It's a cute top!
3/31/08 3:39 PM
LindsayT said...
Wow, look at you. Miss BWOF! I'm liking it...
3/31/08 12:03 PM
MissCelie said...
I too say Make It Again. Also, I usually measure a 12 in the Big 4 and cut a 38 top in BWOF and 38/40 in the pants. It looks terrific!
3/31/08 7:11 AM
anetJay said...
great review !! this is on my to sew list. with your cute shape, you would make anything look adorable !! ps, i enjoyed your website, and your little ones are so cute . you really must have your hands full !!!ps did i say that i really love that top :)
3/31/08 6:01 AM
Maychi said...
I also think you should make it again. WOF does have some challenging instructions; but the results are usually worth the trouble. This top is very flattering on you.
3/31/08 0:43 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Adding my vote to the Make It Again delegates. ;-) It's very flattering on you. WOF has given me big headaches at times, but it's also made me figure things out on my own. The process takes longer, but I usually learn a thing or two. I think you did too with this top, so that's one aspect that is NOT a wadder. :-)
3/31/08 0:14 AM
akazukinchan said...
Oh this is super cute. Great fabric choice. Maybe you just need to spend a few weeks away from it. Wait for your frustration w/ BWOF to dissipate.
3/31/08 0:13 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, as everyone else notes, I beg to differ with you; this top is highly flattering on you, as is the fabric choice. The instructions sound awful, yet you produced a beautiful top. Please wear it. -Lily
3/30/08 11:40 PM
cabinbaby said...
mary in FL - This IS a wadder. My serger was skipping stitches because I probably need to change the needle and I got sloppy at the end and did not finish as nicely as I should have. I will make it again though because of all the flattering comments. Thank you all! You changed my mind on this one!
3/30/08 11:16 PM
Lori V said...
This is so cute on you.
3/30/08 10:49 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Despite all the problems you had making this pattern it looks fantastic!
3/30/08 10:47 PM
mary in FL said...
Repeat after me: "This is Not a wadder."
3/30/08 9:30 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The top looks super cute on you! I think you should wear it often and pus a cami under it if you think it's too revealing. Very cute!
3/30/08 9:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a pretty top on your cute figure!
3/30/08 9:24 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, this top is SO on my to-make list! And I, for one, love yours. Thanks for reviewing it. It seems like I remember a line in the instructions about leaving a hole for the tie co come through o nthe *left*. I thought, 'huh? Shouldn't this be on the right?' And there it is in your review. Great top, and great deciphering of the instructions! :)
3/30/08 9:06 PM
Vivienne said...
You've just experienced the classic Burda WTF that comes free with every Burda WOF magazine. The top is very flattering on you and summer is coming!
3/30/08 8:45 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
I like your top. You could wear it over a cami or put in an insert to cover the parts you don't like. I also have a lot of trouble understanding BWOF instructions. BUT...I feel that struggling to understand and doing things on my own when I don't understand are making me a better sew..(ist?). I am pretty much exclusively using BWOF and I am determined to make it work. Hope your experience with this top has not put you off.
3/30/08 7:34 PM
avancleve said...
The top is cute, I want to give it a try. I am in the same boat as you when it comes to Burda sizing....don't know whether to do a 36 or a 38. I guess it just depends on the pattern. In the big 4 world I also measure a 12, and everything is just gaping on me. Nice to know I will need to choose the larger size with this one.
3/30/08 7:26 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is a super cute top. I love the print and the entire combo is really flattering on you. I've only tried Burda a few times... after reading several Burda reviews, I didn't feel so bad that I couldn't make sens of their instructions! Your 'hobbling through' paid off :)
3/30/08 7:07 PM
nellc said...
I think this top is very flattering and the colours really suit you. Thanks for the review this one is on my to do list.
3/30/08 6:48 PM
Athene said...
This is a cute top. Too bad the BWOF instructions are not that great.
3/30/08 6:41 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top. This is on my "to sew" list, and I'll definitely be referring back to your review for your tips when I do make this.
3/30/08 6:30 PM
So So said...
Your blouse/top looks fantastic. Fits you perfectly.
3/30/08 5:44 PM
mahalosu said...
I made this top in a trial fabric. I ran into a lot of the same issues you had. But I never put a slit into the sleeves. My sleeves are one piece. I must have missed something. I finished the entire top before realizing it needs a slit in the side for the ties to go thru. I do like the top on you though. Looks really cute.
3/30/08 4:42 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute! Cute! Cute! Can you tell I think that top is cute? :-)
3/30/08 4:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3299

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

More Info
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

More Info