Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5190 (Military Style Jacket) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1430 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/08 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/31/08 1:43 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen2931 said...
I love the jacket. You do beautiful work.
3/31/08 3:37 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great, another pattern I had not noticed and must now buy!! Brilliant work as always Erica, the epaulet detailed shot especially shows the workmanship that went into this. Love the fabric too.
3/31/08 3:56 AM
Squeezylemon said...
As usual Erica, your workmanship and style are impeccable! Gorgeous jacket.
3/31/08 4:24 AM
Cody7 said...
Beautiful, beautiful work Erica. You are such a talented sewer. I love to read your reviews.
3/31/08 4:41 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Erica. I like this style as well, it looks great on you. As the others have stated, great workmanship.
3/31/08 5:09 AM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful, Erica!
3/31/08 5:13 AM
jlg said...
Fantastic jacket. You did a beautiful job.
3/31/08 5:42 AM
Elke said...
I am always inspired by your work and attention to detail. It looks very cute on you!
3/31/08 5:54 AM
Karen8320 said...
Erica, another fantastic garment! This is really, really fabulous and I continue to be so impressed by your careful attention to detail. It looks terrific on you!
3/31/08 6:06 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful work! And great eye for a rockin' jacket from boring line drawings.
3/31/08 6:30 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous. the bound buttonsholes are such a special detail.
3/31/08 7:05 AM
lmg said...
I didn't give this pattern a second look. But in nubuck with bound buttonholes...WOW.
3/31/08 7:39 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous - I just love the fabric choice! You skills never cease to amaze me. Did you sew the yellow top underneath, too?
3/31/08 8:16 AM
Beek said...
Stunning! Love this fabric and you staged it so well with that bright yellow blouse and antique gold necklace! Way to go!
3/31/08 8:36 AM
Leora said...
Beautiful jacket!
3/31/08 9:02 AM
Nancywin said...
Great look, Erica. What can you share with us about working with faux nubuck? I've never tried it.
3/31/08 9:09 AM
Twinset said...
So beautiful! I love it!
3/31/08 10:15 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Beautiful jacket. I am always impressed by your workmanship.
3/31/08 10:35 AM
cindyann said...
Well done, Erica. Great fabric choice.
3/31/08 10:36 AM
anuprabhu said...
Wow! That is beautiful. I love everything you sew!
3/31/08 10:52 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Beautiful and chic! I love it with the yellow top. Nice combination.
3/31/08 11:01 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Another Erica B. masterpiece! I always look forward to seeing your new projects. :)
3/31/08 11:57 AM
LindsayT said...
Right out of the fashion pages as always. Well done.
3/31/08 12:00 PM
So So said...
WOW! I aspire to this level! In my dreams. Love your yellow top too! Off to check out your blog! Always loads of inspiration there. Thanks
3/31/08 12:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Tres chic jacket!
3/31/08 1:15 PM
Markie1 said...
Erica-You are our official Jacket Woman! This is another gorgeous creation. I love your fabric choices, they are always, always interesting and wonderful-and your sewing skills--enviable. Really really nice.
3/31/08 1:42 PM
loohoo44 said...
this is great Erica! Trendy but classic. I love how you accesorized your dressform too, LOL.
3/31/08 1:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Amazing jacket, Erica! Wonderfully crafted!
3/31/08 1:55 PM
kim*brown said...
Fierce!! HeeHee! Really, it turned out perfect! I wonder why you didn't have the same problem I had with the uneven lining pieces???
3/31/08 2:03 PM
Dei said...
Fabulousness once again. Impeccable and looking good in it.
3/31/08 3:16 PM
Annette1 said...
What an outstanding jacket! Everything about it just PERFECT. Of course, I would expect nothing less from The Lovely Erica. :o)
4/1/08 2:12 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What wonderful detailing! This is such a versatile jacket you can wear with a myriad of things- Great work on a wonderful piece!
4/1/08 8:48 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sharp, crisp military jacket and your use of nubuck was inspired; it really takes the look to a new level. Perfect topstitching, which is always a one-try-only challenge in leathers and nubuck. Your bound buttonholes and chain are couture worthy. Extraordinary! -Lily
4/1/08 12:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Chains are great - in Chanel's signature fabric, loosely woven and very lightweight, drapey. But they're there because they have a function, to add a bit of weight to hold the back in place. In upholstery fabric, they'd be purely ornemental, if not fighting the structure entirely. But whatever pleases you ;-). I have to admit that I'm not given to military looks on principle, but you make it looks sooo good it's tempting!
4/2/08 1:58 AM
kbryan said...
Wow! You are incredible seamstress. Your work is gorgeous and the jacket looks like it was made for you! :) Lovely, lovely work.
4/12/08 11:57 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous Erica ! ! !
6/25/08 6:50 PM
centineo said...
I was googling military-inspired patterns and found your jacket. Very cool!
11/1/09 7:54 PM
Poppycat222 said...
Stunning! I aspire to sew like this!
1/16/11 11:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8185
photo
Review by FuzzyNavel... on 6/19/07
Read Review

Vogue 8951 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8951 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Renfrew Top Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Renfrew Top Pattern

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6265
photo
Review by Selina on 5/31/08
Read Review

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us