SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Patrones Magazine> 12-2007-38 (Celine Raincoat)

Viewed 686 times 
Reviewed by:Natasha R.
photo

 
 
About Natasha R.star
Member since: 4/23/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/08 3:32 AM
Last Updated:3/31/08 3:32 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern; I plan on sewing it next fall. Your raincoat looks wonderful and your review is excellent!
3/25/09 8:17 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very stylish and fashion forward; your attention to details makes it more so. I too think you'll have many opportunities to wear this lovely coat, rain or no rain. And of course, you look smashing in the coat. A difficult job, very well done, indeed. Absolutely lovely, Lily
4/1/08 12:40 PM
Natasha R. said...
Thank you all for your kind words! squirrellypoo -- I don't know for sure what the gray fabric is -- the place where I got it is kind of a dumping ground for random unlabeled bolts of fabric of varying quality and the people who work there don't usually know the fiber content either. I asked if it was waterproof, and the woman there opened her water bottle and poured a little on the fabric. We concluded yes. I do think it's a nylon (I might have even burned it to test?), and it's really fine and lightweight. It was very floaty before I added the lining. Before I found this, I was going to try to find fabric on the internet, and I was thinking my search term would be "nylon taffeta", but I just tried that now and didn't get much. A possible source (although their online catalogue drives me crazy) is this -- http://www.rosecitytextiles.com/product-browser.aspx. I've ordered from them before, but their photos are useless and you must order samples to know what you're getting first!
3/31/08 10:19 PM
trinicity said...
wow, this came out great, so pretty
3/31/08 5:12 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Just stunning! So stylin'.
3/31/08 3:06 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Don't worry, it looks like you're going to get plenty of opportunity to try it out this season yet :-). Seriously, I looked long and hard for a lining as water resistant as my raincoat's fabric, and I've never regretted it. The few times when I've really soaked through, it was easy enough for the nylon to dry out completely (if it leaks in, it leaks out). What I did that worked great was to seal the seams with camping stuff on the inside, but it's so many years that it's worn off alas, and I'm too lazy to open it up and do it again. Go with Nikwax for water resistance refreshes in the future.
3/31/08 3:00 PM
Markie1 said...
This coat is an amazing accomplishment, and I wouldn't worry, you will wear this in many rainy seasons to come! I love it.
3/31/08 1:28 PM
LindsayT said...
Nice work!!
3/31/08 12:08 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Fantastic!
3/31/08 11:55 AM
CatMukai said...
Beautiful! Great job!
3/31/08 11:19 AM
meli88a said...
great coat and review. I agree with you, the wide covered placket, the neck, are wonderful details. You constructed them so well, too!
3/31/08 9:10 AM
Sew_Creative said...
I love it and you should be proud. I know how difficult it can be to work with fabric like this so bravo to you.
3/31/08 9:09 AM
Beek said...
I love the result of your "puckered" seams. It does give it interest and texture. Your turquoise lining is perfect! Wonderful coat!
3/31/08 8:30 AM
Nancy K said...
Great results! Enjoy the rain!
3/31/08 7:53 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Very nice! I'm so jealous of the fabric stores! I wanna go!!!! Your raincoat is wonderful!
3/31/08 7:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fantastic coat. I love all the details of this. Indeed very professional.
3/31/08 7:02 AM
MissCelie said...
That, is pretty fantastic. Your detailing and topstitching are amazing.
3/31/08 6:55 AM
susinok said...
You'll have plenty of cool days where you can wear it. I wear my trenches in the cold wind here in Oklahoma even when it isn't raining. It's a fabulous coat!
3/31/08 6:33 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! Do you know the name or the fiber content of your exterior fabric? I've got a raincoat on my to make list and yours looks SO much more svelte than the oilcloth I was contemplating!
3/31/08 6:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very fashionable coat. What meticulous attention to the details too. Well done!
3/31/08 5:59 AM
Lori V said...
Fabulous coat, Natasha, your details are incredible.
3/31/08 4:51 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is so fabulous, it looks incredibly professional and the detailing is superb. I have and love this pattern, but am a bit nervous about attempting it (especially with zero spanish skills!) so your review is really encouraging and helpful, thank you
3/31/08 3:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

More Info