SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Misses top)

34 more reviews
Viewed 2075 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 2:35 AM
Last Updated:4/1/08 2:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
I love it, and the colour is so perfect and cheery for Spring! I didn't even know there was such a thing as stretch charmeuse... interesting.
4/1/08 6:11 AM
anetJay said...
very pretty top!! the invisible zipper was a great choice !!!
4/1/08 6:16 AM
Elaray said...
That is a "great little top". The color is gorgeous!
4/1/08 6:43 AM
susinok said...
Fabulous top in a fabulous color!
4/1/08 6:44 AM
So So said...
Thanks for review this fabulous top which a few of us spotted under your nubuck jacket. Totally agree about the colour. don't you find the fabrics that just sneakly catch your eey e are the ones that youmust have and become some of your all time favs? witht eh concealed zipper and the grossgrain rib detail this is a very classy top! edit just checke dout the pattern , you certainlyhave an eye for the patterns, I would never never have given this a 2nd look. Tho love the dress fabric on the model too. Tho i am usually a plain girl.
4/1/08 7:09 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, beautiful color. The ties in the side seams - great idea.
4/1/08 7:22 AM
Tearsa said...
Yellow is my favorite color.. so I am in love with this top! Great job!
4/1/08 7:25 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a great little shirt to wear with jeans or a skirt. Love your color and fabric choice, and thanks for the heads-up about removing the ease.
4/1/08 8:49 AM
LindsayT said...
Love the yellow! Me too, big Tory Burch fan here.
4/1/08 8:52 AM
Marji said...
That's a winner. I never would have looked twice at this pattern, but I love what you've done with it.
4/1/08 9:03 AM
annie11 said...
That's gorgeous! I just got this pattern and am glad to hear that it worked well for you.
4/1/08 9:47 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Just gorgeous! I was debating about this one (you know, "Do I really *need* another pattern?"), but you've made up my mind.
4/1/08 9:56 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a gorgeous top. Those pleats at the neckline are so hot right now!
4/1/08 10:00 AM
meli88a said...
I love this color and the simple lines in this top!
4/1/08 10:08 AM
Christina W said...
Hey - this looks great! Have you seen the J. Crew charmeuse shell that looks just like this and retails for> $80? I am totally going to knock it off after seeing your success with this pattern! And the color is stunning!
4/1/08 10:21 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great top, love the lines, gorgeous colour too!!
4/1/08 10:24 AM
Meredith P said...
You do an awesome invisible zipper! Any tips on getting it so smooth and absolutely even at the top on each side?
4/1/08 10:42 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Thanks for the review! This pattern has practically been begging me to sew it the past week or two, and your version is a great inspiration! Beautiful as always...
4/1/08 12:11 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous top - and you found grosgrain ribbon to match?
4/1/08 12:21 PM
Maychi said...
I love this top on you! And the colour is perfect!
4/1/08 1:10 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Cute color and very stylish! Your garments always look great.
4/1/08 2:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Difficult stretch charmeuse and yet you've gotten pristine finishes. Very exciting color and I'm enchanted by the princess seams that curve inward towards the neck detail. Extremely flattering and feminine. This is quite a beauty! -Lily
4/1/08 2:40 PM
EveS said...
What a fabulous shell and a gorgeous color...I bet that yellow looks great on you! I would've overlooked this pattern if not for your review...thanks, Erica!
4/1/08 4:36 PM
Sic said...
Love it! I picked up the pattern today - thanks for the review!
4/1/08 5:33 PM
born2bead said...
Erica - this looks great and yellow is one of my favorite colors! I just picked up this pattern because I liked the top because of the pleats at the neckline. I've never used stretch charmeuse but I may be tempted to look for it after seeing your top :-)
4/1/08 5:46 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful top! I wish I could put in zippers as good as you did!! I love your choice of the ribbon ties. Great job!
4/2/08 0:38 AM
Annette1 said...
Difficult fabric, but nary a pucker in sight. :o) Beautiful finish and fantastic fabric!
4/2/08 1:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this top and I know I will be out to get this pattern.
4/2/08 6:43 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You always do such nice work and have a great eye for design.
4/2/08 8:49 AM
CreativeDiva said...
Very nice. I love the colour and I bet it looks smashing on you. You have a great eye for design and colour.
4/2/08 12:08 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Thanks for reviewing this top. I've had my eye on this pattern and wanted to see what it would look like when a PR member made it. You've done a beautiful job on your blouse and what an eye-catching color!
4/2/08 2:13 PM
Dei said...
Too pretty! Love the color and the ribbon. I agree about your selection of zipper. Everything came together well.
4/2/08 4:50 PM
Larkin said...
I love your use of grosgrain - really cute top. Enjoy!
4/2/08 8:15 PM
N_Vogue said...
Erica, you've done it again!! That colour is so hot this year. Just p/u pattern. Impeccable! Thanks for the review.
4/3/08 1:36 AM
AuntieShel said...
Erica, don't know how I missed this review--your top is fabulous, the color so spring-like (which we're still waiting for up here in RI.) Just noticed this pattern in the book and based on your gorgeous top, I'll have to get it!!
4/13/08 7:59 PM
Gold said...
Very cute top.I like the ribbon idea you used.I might have to copy that one!:)Fabulous top!
4/18/08 2:36 PM
USMCMom said...
Erica, your reviews are always so helpful. It looks great and sounds like just the thing for summer
5/8/08 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Wild Ginger Tank Top

photo
by: Kuby

Review
Butterick 5496

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now