SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Misses top)

34 more reviews
Viewed 2076 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 416 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 2:35 AM
Last Updated:4/1/08 2:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Erica, your reviews are always so helpful. It looks great and sounds like just the thing for summer
5/8/08 7:55 AM
Gold said...
Very cute top.I like the ribbon idea you used.I might have to copy that one!:)Fabulous top!
4/18/08 2:36 PM
AuntieShel said...
Erica, don't know how I missed this review--your top is fabulous, the color so spring-like (which we're still waiting for up here in RI.) Just noticed this pattern in the book and based on your gorgeous top, I'll have to get it!!
4/13/08 7:59 PM
N_Vogue said...
Erica, you've done it again!! That colour is so hot this year. Just p/u pattern. Impeccable! Thanks for the review.
4/3/08 1:36 AM
Larkin said...
I love your use of grosgrain - really cute top. Enjoy!
4/2/08 8:15 PM
Dei said...
Too pretty! Love the color and the ribbon. I agree about your selection of zipper. Everything came together well.
4/2/08 4:50 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Thanks for reviewing this top. I've had my eye on this pattern and wanted to see what it would look like when a PR member made it. You've done a beautiful job on your blouse and what an eye-catching color!
4/2/08 2:13 PM
CreativeDiva said...
Very nice. I love the colour and I bet it looks smashing on you. You have a great eye for design and colour.
4/2/08 12:08 PM
Modiste Madness said...
You always do such nice work and have a great eye for design.
4/2/08 8:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this top and I know I will be out to get this pattern.
4/2/08 6:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Difficult fabric, but nary a pucker in sight. :o) Beautiful finish and fantastic fabric!
4/2/08 1:30 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful top! I wish I could put in zippers as good as you did!! I love your choice of the ribbon ties. Great job!
4/2/08 0:38 AM
born2bead said...
Erica - this looks great and yellow is one of my favorite colors! I just picked up this pattern because I liked the top because of the pleats at the neckline. I've never used stretch charmeuse but I may be tempted to look for it after seeing your top :-)
4/1/08 5:46 PM
Sic said...
Love it! I picked up the pattern today - thanks for the review!
4/1/08 5:33 PM
EveS said...
What a fabulous shell and a gorgeous color...I bet that yellow looks great on you! I would've overlooked this pattern if not for your review...thanks, Erica!
4/1/08 4:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Difficult stretch charmeuse and yet you've gotten pristine finishes. Very exciting color and I'm enchanted by the princess seams that curve inward towards the neck detail. Extremely flattering and feminine. This is quite a beauty! -Lily
4/1/08 2:40 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Cute color and very stylish! Your garments always look great.
4/1/08 2:33 PM
Maychi said...
I love this top on you! And the colour is perfect!
4/1/08 1:10 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous top - and you found grosgrain ribbon to match?
4/1/08 12:21 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Thanks for the review! This pattern has practically been begging me to sew it the past week or two, and your version is a great inspiration! Beautiful as always...
4/1/08 12:11 PM
Meredith P said...
You do an awesome invisible zipper! Any tips on getting it so smooth and absolutely even at the top on each side?
4/1/08 10:42 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great top, love the lines, gorgeous colour too!!
4/1/08 10:24 AM
Christina W said...
Hey - this looks great! Have you seen the J. Crew charmeuse shell that looks just like this and retails for> $80? I am totally going to knock it off after seeing your success with this pattern! And the color is stunning!
4/1/08 10:21 AM
meli88a said...
I love this color and the simple lines in this top!
4/1/08 10:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a gorgeous top. Those pleats at the neckline are so hot right now!
4/1/08 10:00 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Just gorgeous! I was debating about this one (you know, "Do I really *need* another pattern?"), but you've made up my mind.
4/1/08 9:56 AM
annie11 said...
That's gorgeous! I just got this pattern and am glad to hear that it worked well for you.
4/1/08 9:47 AM
Marji said...
That's a winner. I never would have looked twice at this pattern, but I love what you've done with it.
4/1/08 9:03 AM
LindsayT said...
Love the yellow! Me too, big Tory Burch fan here.
4/1/08 8:52 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a great little shirt to wear with jeans or a skirt. Love your color and fabric choice, and thanks for the heads-up about removing the ease.
4/1/08 8:49 AM
Tearsa said...
Yellow is my favorite color.. so I am in love with this top! Great job!
4/1/08 7:25 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, beautiful color. The ties in the side seams - great idea.
4/1/08 7:22 AM
So So said...
Thanks for review this fabulous top which a few of us spotted under your nubuck jacket. Totally agree about the colour. don't you find the fabrics that just sneakly catch your eey e are the ones that youmust have and become some of your all time favs? witht eh concealed zipper and the grossgrain rib detail this is a very classy top! edit just checke dout the pattern , you certainlyhave an eye for the patterns, I would never never have given this a 2nd look. Tho love the dress fabric on the model too. Tho i am usually a plain girl.
4/1/08 7:09 AM
susinok said...
Fabulous top in a fabulous color!
4/1/08 6:44 AM
Elaray said...
That is a "great little top". The color is gorgeous!
4/1/08 6:43 AM
anetJay said...
very pretty top!! the invisible zipper was a great choice !!!
4/1/08 6:16 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it, and the colour is so perfect and cheery for Spring! I didn't even know there was such a thing as stretch charmeuse... interesting.
4/1/08 6:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: DonnaH

Review
Vogue Patterns 8725

photo
by: 10SeventyT...

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

More Info