SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3385 

13 more reviews
Viewed 727 times 
Reviewed by:avancleve
photo

 
 
About avanclevestar
AZ USA
Member since: 7/11/07
Reviews written: 17
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 1:03 PM
Last Updated:4/1/08 1:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JTink said...
You ended up with a nice look. Yep the fabric is what caused your problems. I just finished this in a cotton. Because I wanted it longer and loose in the hips, I had to allow. I also had to make adjustments in the armhole and neck line(neck to big, arm too tight). I have to make a lot of adjustments to most of my patterns, so none of this was unusual for me. It turned out to be a good pattern to work with. One other thing, I didn't add the tie back strings(at age 53, I feel they are a bit young). I just made some small darts in the back of the pattern to take in the fullness.
5/22/08 11:27 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great looking top - I love the printed fabric with this look.
4/11/08 9:15 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Like your top. It fits well and the fabric makes it unique.
4/2/08 8:44 AM
EveS said...
I love your top...a great summery look! Great save!
4/1/08 4:29 PM
wvsher said...
Yes, patterns for wovens are sized differently than patterns for knits, so the issue may not be the pattern, though I see the pattern did not work for a couple of other reviewers as well. I can see why you used a knit, as the style seems to cry out for one. In any case, you ended up with a smashing looking top despite the difficulties! Thanks for the review.
4/1/08 4:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Adding the elastic to the front and gathering it a bit greatly improved the fit of the front and took nothing away from the style. With your adjustments, this top looks very cute on you. -Lily
4/1/08 3:19 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You ended up with a very cute top! I've had this pattern in my cupboard for ages, but have never made it. Good to know there's added ease for wovens (or in your case, too much for 2-way stretch). Thanks for your review on this top.
4/1/08 2:28 PM
cabinbaby said...
It looks like this pattern is for a woven. It sounds like you used a knit. When I use a knit for a woven pattern, I usually size down several sizes because the knit is so much stretchier. You may want to try it again with the smallest size in the envelope.
4/1/08 1:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Simplicity 2209

photo
by: thequirkyp...

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

More Info