SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6609 (Wardrobe Pattern)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1449 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 10:59 PM
Last Updated:1/17/10 5:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Pants    Skirts    Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
This cardigan is beautiful on you! I love when my UFOs work out...
2/16/14 9:14 AM
moonchild61 said...
Great jackets; they look nice on you!
1/19/10 6:57 PM
4u2cme said...
Very nice.
1/18/10 1:58 AM
Christas said...
This is a beautiful jacket and it looks great on you! I am enjoying your sewing projects so much.
1/17/10 7:57 PM
sewing for fun said...
Absolutely gorgeous print jacket. I did not see the fit problems you mentioned, but I know how critical the sewer's eye can be :)
1/17/10 7:27 PM
Andreahg said...
Is the print jacket a new one? I love both versions of this jacket!
1/17/10 6:47 PM
AnneM said...
Love the jacket! It was worth your patience.
7/19/08 7:44 PM
merry-one said...
Your outfit looks wonderful. I like the combination of patterns, sleek but fun.
4/3/08 5:35 PM
jhansby said...
great jacket & outfit!
4/2/08 11:32 PM
Larkin said...
Thanks for all the detail on this review - your jacket looks wonderful!
4/2/08 8:01 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful jacket Sherril - I really like both sides, and the colors look fabulous on you!
4/2/08 3:15 PM
Stephenie said...
Your jacket looks great! It completes the outfit. What a great idea, to make it reversible!
4/2/08 2:08 PM
cmarie12 said...
Sherrill - this is fantastic! I love that its reversible. I love the colors you choose and I love how it looks on you! Simply fantastic!
4/2/08 12:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking jacket!
4/2/08 11:38 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I think you're being too picky about the fit! Love both sides of this, and I'll go on the record to say I think the length is fine - and both colors are so flattering!
4/2/08 11:19 AM
Irene Q said...
What a great jacket - or should I say jackets! :-) You're going to be wearing this all time. I know it's frustrating to have to start from scratch with all your alterations after losing weight, but this came out wonderful! Two years ago you would have thought it was perfect. :-)
4/2/08 11:03 AM
mastdenman said...
Cute outfit. You look great in it.
4/2/08 9:41 AM
cecelia said...
Sherril, the jacket looks terrific--nice job. Did you know Palmer/Pletsch have a new FBA? I saw it in Spring 2008 "Sewing Today." They call it the "Y" FBA, but your pivot/slide seems to have worked well for you.
4/2/08 9:38 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You look great--sleek and sophisticated!
4/2/08 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
Thjis is absolutely lovely and I have to disagree with you re the length - it is dead spot on! I just love the finished garment and may try a reversible soon - as far as shoulder pads - I think it's either the Sewing Place or CJ Patterns that has some you attach to your bra strap - have never seen/tried them but they may work or you may be able to make them yourself.
4/2/08 8:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great idea to make this reversible and you did a wonderful job doing so. I love the green side since green is my favorite color, but the white is very summery and fresh looking too. I think the fit is great so stop complaining. (Kidding!!!) :)
4/2/08 6:33 AM
Linda G said...
Very interesting with the reversible jacket. You will get a lot of wear out of this outfit.
4/2/08 6:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice reversible jacket.
4/2/08 5:24 AM
Athene said...
You look lovely in your outfit. The reversible jacket is beautiful and you will be able to get so much wear out of it this summer.
4/2/08 2:18 AM
Annette1 said...
Sherril, this is just lovely, both sides. I'm having trouble deciding which side I like the best. :o) I love that, with your expert fitting techniques, you have a jacket that looks to be very comfortable yet not sloppy. I hate sloppy. :o) I really think you've found yourself a new TNT here! (You sure do have pretty hair.) I know what you mean about shoulder pads for a reversible garment. I did finally run across a really wimpy pair somewhere along the line that I was eyeing, thinking it might work in a reversible garment. I haven't actually tried it yet though. They were so flat and unshapely, I thought it just migiht be a possibility. On the other hand, they were so flat and unshapely, I wasn't sure it would make much difference anyway. :o( At any rate, thanks fo rthe great review! My machine goes into the shop tomorrow, and I'm already breaking out into hives, so your review was a nice diversion for me -- ha!
4/2/08 2:02 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket! I absolutely love both sides of this--that shade of green is one of my favorite colors! Wear it with the sleeves folded up--it looks great with the contrast showing off.
4/2/08 0:45 AM
Em's Summer said...
Congratulations on bagging the lining! You did a great job because the jacket looks wonderful! It's so pretty and summery, and it looks great on you!
4/2/08 0:29 AM
Patti B said...
Nicely done, Sherril. It looks very nice on you and reminds me of a favorite saying, "Don't throw away the good in search of the perfect." Isn't it the puzzle solving aspect of sewing that keeps us sewing?
4/2/08 0:21 AM
SueV said...
Very nice! Love the color!
4/2/08 0:19 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the shape of the jacket and the colors. The brown and green together is just gorgeous. It's just genius that the jacket is reversible! It fits so well and the colors look wonderful on you. It's a beautiful spring ensemble. Thanks for the review. I'm going to be thinking about reversible garments now, I just know it.
4/1/08 11:48 PM
moushka said...
Sherrill, Fantastic looking outfit on you. Black and white are so "your colours," you lucky Winter. I like the length on you with the sleeves turned up. The whole outfit looks very classic and chic. Wear it with pride. Sue
4/1/08 11:46 PM
Laurasews said...
I think you have a great outfit. I would be very pleased with the fit...much better that you could get from RTW.
4/1/08 11:38 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a fabulous jacket, great colours and love the reversability. Thanks so much for this review all the tips are so helpful
4/1/08 11:30 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sherrill, this is a very beautiful, reversible jacket. You've used both of my favorites colors for Summer, and your alterations provide a marvelous fit. Thanks so much for reference to K Fasanella's reversible bagging technique. Absolutely lovely, Lily
4/1/08 11:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now