SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Favorite Things> V028 (Prairie Girl)

9 more reviews
Viewed 576 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Mother Like Daughter
photo

 
 
About Sew Mother Like Daughter
WI USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/08 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Prudentilla said...
I made this last year - I was so excited about the pattern based on the photos on the package, but I had exactly the same issues as you! It seemed to just fit.....funky. I won't make it again, as I think the same look could be had by altering a pattern that I know will fit better.
4/4/08 9:45 AM
Winifred said...
Hi, I know what I would do in this case - it may not appeal to you of course. I would cut down from the base of the neck (centre front ) to the hem therefore turning it into a little jacket. Face it all -straighten the side seams ( if wished ) You could leave the sleeves or take them out to make a vest - bind arnholes etc ? Striking lttle buttons down the front ? I just love altering things and I can see this ! All the best to you.
4/3/08 6:12 PM
AuntieShel said...
I've been thinking of possible solutions to your top and wonder if it might be possible to raise it by the shoulder seams. You would not be able to raise it too much or you'd throw the whole thing off, but try putting it on as you would wear it and just pinning a new shoulder seam to see if that helps. If it seems to, you would then have to remove the sleeves, but it might be worth it. Also, I wonder if you could make a casing in the seam allowance of the back bodice/back "skirt" and thread a narrow elastic through it. Again, I wouldn't pull too much of it in, just enough to take a small but consistent amount of fullness out of the back. Not sure if these will work for you, but may be worth a try. Let me know. Good luck.
4/3/08 9:19 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I'm sorry that this pretty little top has proven to be such an expensive disappointment, but I thank you for reviewing it. Regrettably, I have no fix suggestions, either. -Lily
4/3/08 0:40 AM
wvsher said...
Thanks for the review/warning. It really does look adorable by itself, but that must be little comfort when the fit is all wrong compared to what is advertised on the package. :(
4/2/08 9:56 PM
AuntieShel said...
Hi, I guess I'm the first to comment on this review, which I was happy to see, as I made this top a few weeks ago, have wanted to review, but just not gotten to it. Anyway, I'm sorry you were disappointed, it is so cute in the photo on the pattern. I agree with the points you made, that it is very large (I made the 14 by mistake, I read the size chart wrong :( !!) and the bodice is quite low. I guess I knew going in that it would be large and that the ties are what pull it in to look like the photo. I also expected the gathers to be somewhat low, though they are not too bad on me--I'm not thin, so maybe my excess avoir dupois (did I get that right?) helps it fit better. I have to say that when I first tried it on, before I tied the ties, all I could think was it screamed "scrubs." The V neck does not want to lay flat on me, it tends to pooch out away from my body. I think I will wear it when the weather gets warm just to see how I feel wearing it. Your top looks adorable in the photo and I'm sorry you're disappointed with it--I know how it feels to be so excited about something in the beginning and then so disappointed in the result, and that you spent a lot of money on the beautiful fabric. Well, that's my experience and I wish I had suggestions, as I'm sure there are things you can revise and that some of the other reviewers who are more talented than I can help you out there.
4/2/08 4:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1292

photo
by: chenille

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-5

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now