Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Favorite Things: V028 (Prairie Girl) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 573 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Sew Mother Like Daughter
photo
About Sew Mother Like Daughter
WI USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/08 3:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Hi, I guess I'm the first to comment on this review, which I was happy to see, as I made this top a few weeks ago, have wanted to review, but just not gotten to it. Anyway, I'm sorry you were disappointed, it is so cute in the photo on the pattern. I agree with the points you made, that it is very large (I made the 14 by mistake, I read the size chart wrong :( !!) and the bodice is quite low. I guess I knew going in that it would be large and that the ties are what pull it in to look like the photo. I also expected the gathers to be somewhat low, though they are not too bad on me--I'm not thin, so maybe my excess avoir dupois (did I get that right?) helps it fit better. I have to say that when I first tried it on, before I tied the ties, all I could think was it screamed "scrubs." The V neck does not want to lay flat on me, it tends to pooch out away from my body. I think I will wear it when the weather gets warm just to see how I feel wearing it. Your top looks adorable in the photo and I'm sorry you're disappointed with it--I know how it feels to be so excited about something in the beginning and then so disappointed in the result, and that you spent a lot of money on the beautiful fabric. Well, that's my experience and I wish I had suggestions, as I'm sure there are things you can revise and that some of the other reviewers who are more talented than I can help you out there.
4/2/08 4:49 PM
wvsher said...
Thanks for the review/warning. It really does look adorable by itself, but that must be little comfort when the fit is all wrong compared to what is advertised on the package. :(
4/2/08 9:56 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I'm sorry that this pretty little top has proven to be such an expensive disappointment, but I thank you for reviewing it. Regrettably, I have no fix suggestions, either. -Lily
4/3/08 0:40 AM
AuntieShel said...
I've been thinking of possible solutions to your top and wonder if it might be possible to raise it by the shoulder seams. You would not be able to raise it too much or you'd throw the whole thing off, but try putting it on as you would wear it and just pinning a new shoulder seam to see if that helps. If it seems to, you would then have to remove the sleeves, but it might be worth it. Also, I wonder if you could make a casing in the seam allowance of the back bodice/back "skirt" and thread a narrow elastic through it. Again, I wouldn't pull too much of it in, just enough to take a small but consistent amount of fullness out of the back. Not sure if these will work for you, but may be worth a try. Let me know. Good luck.
4/3/08 9:19 AM
Winifred said...
Hi, I know what I would do in this case - it may not appeal to you of course. I would cut down from the base of the neck (centre front ) to the hem therefore turning it into a little jacket. Face it all -straighten the side seams ( if wished ) You could leave the sleeves or take them out to make a vest - bind arnholes etc ? Striking lttle buttons down the front ? I just love altering things and I can see this ! All the best to you.
4/3/08 6:12 PM
Prudentilla said...
I made this last year - I was so excited about the pattern based on the photos on the package, but I had exactly the same issues as you! It seemed to just fit.....funky. I won't make it again, as I think the same look could be had by altering a pattern that I know will fit better.
4/4/08 9:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1002
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 11/20/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5251
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 8/14/11
Read Review

McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us