SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6587 (two hour dress)

Viewed 546 times 
Reviewed by:gotpeace91
photo

 
 
About gotpeace91
AR USA
Member since: 3/11/08
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/08 2:13 PM
Last Updated:4/3/08 2:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gotpeace91 said...
I can't seem to get the links to work sorry!
4/3/08 2:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your "here" and "here" photo links don't work, but your main project photo does work, so I was able to see your dress. Yes, it's great that you reviewed so you can prepare others for any pitfalls. I too have a larger relative waist and would have hit the same 'wall' you did. Shame, b/c the dress' style is charming and you chose soft, feminine fabric. Sharing your pain, Lily
4/3/08 3:32 PM
Lorri said...
I think it looks nice. What if you made a jacket in somekind of print , then you wouldn't have to start over with the skirt.
4/3/08 3:36 PM
wvsher said...
Thanks for the review. I love your use of ribbon for a drawstring.
4/3/08 3:42 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Too bad this didn't work out for you -- it does look like an easy and quick pattern. Thanks for posting your review!
4/3/08 6:37 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I would like to see you "save" this dress. What about a thin shoulder pad? It seems to me that it would give the proportion needed. I liked the suggestion of a jacket as well. Put it on the back burner for a week and see if you like it better.
4/3/08 8:16 PM
mastdenman said...
I hope you can save the dress too. I like it.
4/3/08 10:13 PM
gotpeace91 said...
hooray, got the links fixed! Thank you for all the good suggestions. I have put the dress aside and am pondering them for a bit.
4/4/08 11:30 AM
bananaoil said...
I'm sorry this didn't work out for you. When I looked at the pattern, I recalled a similar pattern both my mother and I tried that didn't work for us either. In that case, the pattern envelope didn't say knits were exclusively required but a knit might have helped instead of the lightweight, soft challis my mom used but certainly not the quilting cotton I used. The problem with patterns like this is they're not drafted for a woman's figure. Perhaps the pattern companies are imagining these dresses being picked up by seventh graders in Home Ec because my fourteen year old body (read straight up and down) could have worked this type of dress just fine. That's just my take on the pattern from the envelope picture. I'd like to know: Did it have darts? Do you think another fabric would have been better? Was it uncomfortable to wear or just not attractive?Actually, since in the picture above I can only see the dress from the waist down, it doesn't look bad. But for so simple a style, maybe a bright and busy print would have given it some oomph. BTW I have made more mismatches of pattern and fabric than I can remember. That is, I believe, why there is the Goodwill. A well made dress may find just the right person to wear it.
4/4/08 11:32 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks for reviewing so that we can get a heads up - very helpful if we have this pattern
4/4/08 11:35 AM
gotpeace91 said...
bananaoil- there are no darts, you should be able to click on the pic for a full view, I also fixed the links so you can get a look at the side view which is my main complaint, it looks like i'm pregnant which i'm not. I've had the fabric so long that I don't know what it is but it's not cotton because it is a little heavier and drapier. I think it may be synthetic because it didn't take well to the iron. thanks
4/4/08 2:07 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I hope you can salvage the bottom for a skirt. I too liked your use of ribbon in the casing; its very attractive. Thanks for warning us with this review.
4/8/08 1:31 PM
kusine said...
It may not be the best dress, but I'm sure it will make a great skirt!
5/4/10 6:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now