Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Female - Magazine: 2008winter-page15-33 (Misses Pleated Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 503 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Pinkhibiscus
photo
About Pinkhibiscusstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/26/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 9:33 PM
Last Updated:4/7/08 9:33 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Thank you! I've been curious about the contents of this vs Mrs Stylebook, so it's great to see some made up. So do they show the same things, pattern pieces with measured deviations from a standard sloper, in a small scale so you can do it yourself? Not like full-size pieces in a Burda I mean (I'm way beyond Japanese sizes). Another note: interesting that someone else had trouble with flannel-backed satin - it doesn't drape! At all. So you did well to transform the pleats into darts, it was the only solution. And a very good-looking one, yumm.
4/8/08 1:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress! I love the front darts.
4/8/08 5:24 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gorgeous! Love the pleats details and great fit. I wonder where I can get this magazine.... Thanks for the review!
4/8/08 7:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
This dress was a very ambitious undertaking, and you excelled - not only at construction, but at stylish problem solving. Your resulting dress is simply smashing, and you look beautiful in it. -Lily
4/8/08 10:51 AM
Pinkhibiscus said...
fuzzygalore, thanks for your comment. the magazine has an illustration of how the pattern was made from the original sloper (no design), where pattern was cut and how the pattern was moved around. At first I thought I had to alter the pattern, but then found that they had already printed it out. Since they have they small illustration of pattern alteration, I think it is easy to apply to your own sloper. They do have different measured deviations for the sizes, which they offer from XS-L. I checked my issue of Mrs Stylebook, the Female magazine has similar format.
4/8/08 11:02 AM
Pinkhibiscus said...
Thanks for your comments. to mylittleelephant, I got this magazine when I was in Taiwan, but I've seen some sellers on etsy.com selling Japanese sewing magazines and most are located in Japan. You can either search on etsy to see if anyone offers them, or you can find a seller that has the most similar items and ask them if they can buy the magazine. Another way is maybe to go through a Japanese book website (like Japan amazon), but I've never tried that.
4/8/08 11:03 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO CUTE!!!! I love the color!!!!!
4/8/08 6:22 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Pretty dress!
4/8/08 8:08 PM
ncegbu said...
oh, its nice to see this one sewn up! I received this issue from a friend and blogged about how much I liked this very same dress. ***ETA*** I looked at my copy of the draft/construction instructions and it looks like the bodice darts are sewn and the skirt is pleated. Maybe a crisper fabric will hold up better?
4/9/08 3:05 AM
W said...
That is a lovely dress. Brava!
8/21/08 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

StyleArc Peta Peta pants
photo
Review by newsewer20... on 3/9/12
Read Review

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1015 Violet
photo
Review by spankachut... on 9/11/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us