Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8471 (Men's shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 491 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Vintage Joan
photo
About Vintage Joanstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 26
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/08 5:39 PM
Last Updated:4/4/08 5:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Great looking, handsome shirt, Joan. Yes, all these little parts out of plaid could make a person crazy, but you've done it. Brava! -Lily
4/4/08 6:59 PM
gotpeace91 said...
Way to go! Glad you persevered because it turned out great.
4/4/08 8:31 PM
Athene said...
A great shirt for your son. Now that you have made it once, any others you make with this pattern will be easier. This is my TNT pattern for shirts for my DH .
4/4/08 10:40 PM
EveS said...
That is some impressive plaidwork, Joan! I seriously had to go back to the thumbnail and find the pockets! I see we share similar neurosis. :) Thanks for the helpful review!
4/4/08 10:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! You did a wonderful job lining up the plaid! It looks great!
4/5/08 2:43 PM
wvsher said...
Great job on the shirt! Thanks for all the helpful tips.
4/5/08 9:35 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
I just wrote a post in the "biggest sewing goofs" thread about sewing not one but two sleeves inside out, and then attaching them backwards, with the plackets at the thumb. Well, this was the shirt! Lyonel is a perfect 40 in Burda, and loves a fitted shirt, so I've made it again at least three times (practice, practice, practice). I applaud you for tackling a plaid, though. You should try it in linen next time--it's wonderful!
4/5/08 10:46 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You did a really nice job matching your plaid. I used to love sewing plaids when I was in my teens and took it as a great challenge to align them perfectly. A quick trick: cut one piece (say the front) on a single cut, then find the center front and lap it over the 2nd front and line up the plaid before cutting. From there, you line up the side front to back, then find the center back and so on. Like connecting dominoes :) Maybe I'll write an article... it's really not that hard, once you find the formula. Great review and very handsome shirt!
4/7/08 11:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking shirt for that wonderful guy! You convinced me to try this pattern!
5/26/08 2:37 PM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks, I'm looking for a good men's shirt pattern! It sounds as though this is well drafted, unlike one of the others reviewed where at least one sewer reckoned the collar stand was too long for the shirt.
4/29/09 8:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vanilla House Designs P144
photo
Review by Peggy L on 5/9/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1610 Misses Dress
photo
Review by tanyamaile on 11/22/13
Read Review

Jalie 3136 Pattern
Jalie 3136 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3889 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3889 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us