SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8471 (Men's shirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 492 times 
Reviewed by:Vintage Joan
photo

 
 
About Vintage Joanstar
ON Canada
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/08 5:39 PM
Last Updated:4/4/08 5:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Great looking, handsome shirt, Joan. Yes, all these little parts out of plaid could make a person crazy, but you've done it. Brava! -Lily
4/4/08 6:59 PM
gotpeace91 said...
Way to go! Glad you persevered because it turned out great.
4/4/08 8:31 PM
Athene said...
A great shirt for your son. Now that you have made it once, any others you make with this pattern will be easier. This is my TNT pattern for shirts for my DH .
4/4/08 10:40 PM
EveS said...
That is some impressive plaidwork, Joan! I seriously had to go back to the thumbnail and find the pockets! I see we share similar neurosis. :) Thanks for the helpful review!
4/4/08 10:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! You did a wonderful job lining up the plaid! It looks great!
4/5/08 2:43 PM
wvsher said...
Great job on the shirt! Thanks for all the helpful tips.
4/5/08 9:35 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
I just wrote a post in the "biggest sewing goofs" thread about sewing not one but two sleeves inside out, and then attaching them backwards, with the plackets at the thumb. Well, this was the shirt! Lyonel is a perfect 40 in Burda, and loves a fitted shirt, so I've made it again at least three times (practice, practice, practice). I applaud you for tackling a plaid, though. You should try it in linen next time--it's wonderful!
4/5/08 10:46 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You did a really nice job matching your plaid. I used to love sewing plaids when I was in my teens and took it as a great challenge to align them perfectly. A quick trick: cut one piece (say the front) on a single cut, then find the center front and lap it over the 2nd front and line up the plaid before cutting. From there, you line up the side front to back, then find the center back and so on. Like connecting dominoes :) Maybe I'll write an article... it's really not that hard, once you find the formula. Great review and very handsome shirt!
4/7/08 11:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking shirt for that wonderful guy! You convinced me to try this pattern!
5/26/08 2:37 PM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks, I'm looking for a good men's shirt pattern! It sounds as though this is well drafted, unlike one of the others reviewed where at least one sewer reckoned the collar stand was too long for the shirt.
4/29/09 8:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Other Gertie\'s NBBS

photo
by: Cashrhymes

Review
HotPatterns 1143

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now