Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 318 (European Knit Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 786 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:malrene
photo
About malrenestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 7/6/07
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/08 10:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Very sharp jacket! The seaming is really unique. Thanks for your review - I had never heard of this line of patterns.
4/6/08 11:22 PM
geeklite said...
Great looking jacket. I also had never heard of this line of patterns before these designs look more unique than the big pattern companies.
4/6/08 11:50 PM
xtreme1 said...
You've managed to make an interesting jacket look very pretty as well. Well done. It's got me interested in boiled wool.
4/7/08 0:45 AM
lynny said...
Wow, very smart looking jacket indeed. Thanks for the review and web address, boiled wool is very in and very warm - just heading into winter here in Australia so will be a good idea.
4/7/08 3:16 AM
goldesdottar said...
You're right - the back is especially nice, the whole jacket very effective. Out here in Oregon, felting wool is quite in the mode now, and this is a fabulous line of patterns you've introduced us to here. Thank-you so much.
4/7/08 3:27 AM
Athene said...
The jacket looks really nice - especially like the seam detailing you did. Thanks for the info on this pattern line.
4/7/08 6:26 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your seam details make your jacket interesting. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/7/08 6:34 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wonderful jacket! I love designs with lots of contours and seams and this pattern line has my attention. Thanks for the review and the new pattern source. Your jacket looks both stylish and comfy!
4/7/08 6:52 AM
jent said...
I love the style of this jacket! Thanks for this review and link to the pattern site - there lots of great designs there!
4/7/08 7:13 AM
carolynw said...
Wow - this is one beautiful jacket - I just love it. You did a terrific job
4/7/08 8:41 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love this type of single layer, no facings tailoring! The varigated thread is perfect. I do have one observation though; you might want to use your iron along with a pressing ham and a clapper to shape the bust seams and to steam shrink the extra fabric along the hem for a nice clean edge.
4/7/08 9:59 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jackets! Thanks for sharing this new-to-me pattern company. I liked many of the designs.
4/7/08 12:01 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I've done some boiled wool research myself, and most advice is to buy twice as much yardage of wool jersey as needed, although many types of wool are said to give success.
4/7/08 12:31 PM
Annette1 said...
As soon as I clicked on the pattern link and saw the back of the jacket, I thought, oh, I hope she includes a picture of the back. :o) I LOVE the back ... AND The front, for that matter. I had not known about this pattern company, so THANKS A LOT! (I mean that in a good/bad way.) The wool that you started with, was it a fairly loose weave? It sure did felt up nice, or whatever they call it. I have LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS of patterns, so many it impedes my decision-making, yet I rarely say something is a "must have." THIS, though, has made the short list. Thanks for the great review.
4/7/08 5:27 PM
KathySews said...
This is a beautiful jacket. I love the back. Thanks so much for introducing this pattern line.
4/7/08 9:43 PM
moushka said...
Smashing jacket! I hadn't heard of Trudy's patterns before - and I'm in Canada, lol! Thanks for introducing her to us; I'm sure I'm not the only one who is adding her pattern to their 'must sew' list. Sue
4/7/08 9:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lovely jacket, just lovely. The variegated thread following the many seams is so stunning; and the many seams themselves just pop this jacket so marvelously. I like just as much your earlier version with the outward serger seams and don't think it looks inside out at all. Extremely flattering, Lily
4/8/08 8:57 AM
Sanibelle said...
What a sharp looking jacket. The variegated thread makes it especially special. :)
6/1/09 4:09 AM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful jacket! You did a great job. Thanks for introducing us to this line of patterns. Boiled wool is way too hot for Texas but I see some other patterns I would like to try.
6/1/09 9:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-20
photo
Review by JuliaS on 1/15/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Paper Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5765 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5765 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8499
photo
Review by arianamani... on 11/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us