Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1757 (Ring Collar Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 520 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 10:17 AM
Last Updated:4/7/08 10:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Sorry it didn't work out -- it's always frustrating to put in lots of time and have it not quite work. There is a pattern out there for you! Love the red color anyway.
4/7/08 11:28 AM
Re Becca said...
Sorry that this didn't work out. Something more fitted would work well, esp. in that great red color. Thanks for sharing your experience.
4/7/08 11:45 AM
So So said...
Take a gold star for sticking with it ! There is an ideal top for you, just waiting around the corner. You know and we know it.
4/7/08 1:02 PM
Birgitte said...
Your review was fun to read, sorry you didn't end up with what you wanted. I think your observations about what suits your frame is right on the mark. Try something really fitted and I think you'll be a knockout!
4/7/08 2:50 PM
beginagain said...
I do remember making a turtleneck style in the late 60s that had a zipper in back. It did go all the way up and folded over with the collar.
4/7/08 4:04 PM
fuzzygalore said...
No doubt you were meant to put the zipper into the folded collar, it couldn't work any other way. But this isn't a bad pattern - it's an atrocious fabric choice. If you're going to have a loose style, you -must- have drapey fabric. And drapey-ness has nothing to do with surface smoothness. If you were using a silk satin, then yes you'd have a chance, although the swearing might go off the scale at the zipper ;-). But polyester satin doesn't do looseness too gracefully, draping is ankward. And flannel-backed is meant only for linings, because you only get a small flash of color in the wearing, it's totally unsuitable for blouses. That said, I really like the color of yours, and that pattern looks good to me... I'd go for a light silk myself, or a rayon knit (no zipper).
4/8/08 1:37 AM
mylittleelephant said...
! Now I know that it is not only me who's going through this process of finishing the garment but not quite like it in the end.....though yours looks lovely in the photo to me. I am also thinking and looking for tops and jacket combinations and that makes the sewing list always endless, I am hoping that your next project will cheer you up! Thanks for the review!
4/8/08 8:13 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thanks everyone for your support. I normally choose very fitted things, so this was a departure for me. Now I am thinking if I gave it more shape I might like it more.... hmmm.
4/8/08 9:04 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, yorkshire lass, as you just said, I might get busy putting a nip, a tuck, a seam sliver here and there to put more of your shape into this top. You've nothing to lose and might end up with a surprisingly flattering (to your shape)blouse. Thanks for sharing your journey. -Lily
4/8/08 9:25 AM
LindsayT said...
Oh well...
4/8/08 9:44 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! What an ordeal! But a great review came out of it!
4/8/08 11:34 PM
slanden99 said...
Thanks for the review. I think I'll need to avoid tops with that collar style too. It would probably look great on someone larger
4/10/08 7:11 PM
Winifred said...
Please dont be discouraged by negative comments made earlier. I,m sure you can do something to redeem this and then you will feel so much better. Lily-of-the-valley had some good suggestions -go for it with determination , perhaps after you,ve made something else that is a success.
4/12/08 4:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's m4769 6 Great Looks
photo
Review by PrincessLe... on 8/30/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4117
photo
Review by NeedleandT... on 3/3/07
Read Review

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1363 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1363 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us