SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4081 (Misses 1940's Retro Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1180 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 10:41 AM
Last Updated:8/5/08 8:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket is lovely! The fit is very good-and the fabric adds just enough "bling". I could go either way with the topstitching.
4/7/08 10:57 AM
Luckylibbet said...
OK, it looks elegant and classy! Maybe after the frustration has settled you'll like it better? It's been known to happen.
4/7/08 12:26 PM
EleanorSews said...
Very good looking jacket, helpful review and useful tips!! I hope you enjoy wearing your jacket because it is lovely and fits so nicely.
4/7/08 1:27 PM
frame said...
Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the great review.
4/7/08 1:38 PM
goldesdottar said...
Nicely detailed review, and a great jacket. Since it has a real dressmaker style rather than a blazer look, i would think no topstitching. The collar is really a shawl collar, with a cut-in notch, and together with the fitted body look "lady-like". The suedecloth is a great counterpoint to that. But i think the gold cuttons would be great!
4/7/08 5:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous jacket! I know what you mean about not looking finished, I've often thought the same, but honestly, your fabric is so pretty I don't think you need to top stitch. The fabric and style are a lovely combination.
4/7/08 8:30 PM
Diane E said...
What a lovely jacket. I'm glad you think all the work was worth it, because from an outside point of view, it definitely was. It fits you beautifully.
4/7/08 9:17 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the very informative review. The jacket is beautiful.
4/7/08 9:23 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful jacket - I love the fabric and your review was extremely helpful.
4/8/08 0:20 AM
gotpeace91 said...
Gorgeous! Fabric, jacket, and color on you!
4/8/08 9:37 AM
frogs2 said...
Wow! You did a wonderful job on the fit and construction, and the fabric is stunning. The results are definitely elegant and classy, and suits you to a T! Nice job!
4/8/08 11:38 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Really lovely jacket, beautifully fitted to you. And the fabric is gorgeous, too. Yes, I believe it is everything you hoped it would be, and you look fabulous in it. Lovely, Lily
4/8/08 11:54 AM
cabinbaby said...
Awww, I think you should keep the pattern! The other view has a different collar and you might like it more. The fit is great on you. I just reviewed this last week or the week before but it was a different view (with the collar).
4/8/08 12:23 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
Wow, what a lovely jacket - great style and awesome fabric. I love it. Very sassy!
4/8/08 3:38 PM
Re Becca said...
I am sorry that it made you stressed, but it looks fabulous! I think the collar looks great. Hhmm, no complicated collar peak to worry about. It lays flat and looks great. It does look elegant and very classy! The fabric told you what it wanted to be, and it looks quite happy, even if it made you pull your hair out.
4/8/08 5:47 PM
Lori V said...
Lovely jacket. The fit is great.
4/8/08 7:45 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely! I wouldn't topstitch as it looks perfect as it is.
4/8/08 8:46 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous jacket, much more inspiring thatn the pattern cover. You chose lovely fabric for this - well worth taking your time over. i agree with this fabric there is no need for topstitching as well.
4/9/08 2:13 AM
Sew Shy said...
Great review. I previously overlooked this jacket, but your version - especially the fabric - looks amazing!
4/9/08 4:09 PM
sewtime said...
Your jacket is really beautiful, you will be wearing it for years to come. The gold buttons touched it off just right.
8/5/08 8:26 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nancy, please be assured that this jacket does indeed look elegant and classy. What a fabulous job you've done on this and it looks wonderful on you. The fabric is beautiful and the buttons set it off perfectly. I'm not a big top-stitching fan and I really don't think this jacket needs it. The fabric design has enough interest that I think top-stitching would just clutter it. I also don't have a problem with the collar. It looks fine. I'm sure you will receive heaps of compliments on this jacket and it will all have been worth the effort. Great work!
8/5/08 8:52 PM
Elona said...
What a lovely jacket! All your hard work paid off. The lining pieces were larger because that's the way linings are supposed to be. They are both longer and wider than their outer garment so as to prevent pulling. You should have seen instructions for a center back pleat for ease, as well as what is called a "jump hem" for the extra lining length.
8/5/08 9:03 PM
Athene said...
I thought the original jacket was great, but I too like it even more with the new gold buttons.
8/5/08 10:16 PM
tweedcurtain said...
I somehow missed this when it was first posted. It is a lovely jacket. I enjoyed your review and was dismayed when I saw the original buttons and your plan to probably just leave them. So I was ecstatic when I read further and saw you had swapped them out for gold buttons. Such a difference. They are buttons worthy of this gorgeous jacket. I have this pattern and have yet to open it, but nice to learn about the different cup sizes included. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. Enjoy wearing your jacket for years to come.
8/5/08 10:20 PM
wreninrome said...
wow! that is a beautiful jacket! what's the name of the store in Denton?
8/5/08 10:35 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket, fabulous fit.
8/6/08 8:38 AM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely jacket.
8/6/08 9:49 AM
chacha45 said...
Love the gold buttons, just what it needed to be perfect! Unlike all the others, I would topstitch-I'm kind of a control freak! Sometimes those edges work their way out of place. If that's not happening, and you should know by now, let it go. The jacket is really lovely and looks great on you.
8/6/08 10:00 AM
born2bead said...
Lovely jacket and it looks like you got a really nice fit too even with some of the issues that you had with the pattern.
8/6/08 6:27 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely!
8/6/08 6:34 PM
Karendee said...
No topstitching, please. With such an elegant look, the stitching would go off in a tailored, sport direction--IMHO. Beautiful jacket.
8/7/08 2:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

New Look 6030

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
Keyka Lou Zip Clutches

photo
by: pajamapart...

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now