Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7196 (Pants and Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1305 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Alana Robson
photo
About Alana Robsonstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/1/02
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/03 1:47 PM
Last Updated:6/3/03 1:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Thanks for the sidebar on the techniques you used to get a better finish. Your pants look very nice.
6/3/03 1:54 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your pants look great, and I really appreciate the notes on additional techniques for a more professional finish. Thanks for a thorough, informative review!
6/3/03 6:39 PM
Pam Z said...
Alana, even though the instructions were not as complete as you'd like, you produced a nice looking pair of pants that look like they fit well.
6/3/03 8:22 PM
Cassandra W. said...
Love your sewing pictures and comments. Thanks for being honest. The slacks look great on you!
6/3/03 10:38 PM
Stilltheone said...
Thanks for the great review. You did a wonderful job on the pants and look great in them. It is amazing that some of these patterns have such terrible directions. I'm sure that your review will be helpful to many people. I don't wear below the waist pants so wouldn't have been tempted to buy the pattern.
6/4/03 8:33 AM
Rustybobn said...
Great pants, Alana! Your garments and the wonderful pictures on your website always inspire me. Thanks!
6/4/03 11:46 AM
Kris said...
Hi Alana, Could you elaborate on the Burda underlay technique. I go to that Web site and am completely lost, not knowing German. I am about to make dd a pair of blue jean shorts and would love to know this zipper technique. Thanks, the pants look great and I like your tip about the pocket lining.
6/5/03 11:09 AM
CycleGal said...
Great pants and great fit. I appreciate the comments about construction. I liked the trouser front zipper application on the Kwik sew trouser skirt, and I am sure thats the application used for all their patterns. An aside, I never knew that there is a stitching template on the zipper package for a trouser fly (probably everyone but me knew that...)
6/5/03 8:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us