SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1027 (Very Easy Very Vogue Dress)

76 more reviews
Viewed 892 times 
Reviewed by:emr
photo

 
 
About emrstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/30/04
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:4/7/08 7:05 PM
Last Updated:9/16/14 10:49 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1027 by emr

Vogue Patterns: 1027 by emr  Vogue Patterns: 1027 by emr  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1027
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by emr

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Fabric:Matte Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE: PICTURES ADDED

Pattern Description:
DNKY Calf length dress has semi-fitted, pleated and lapped bodice, bias skirt with inseam pockets and stitched hems.

Pattern Sizing:
6-22 Made my standard size 10, but with major adjustments to the back, bodice length, and skirt length to make it appear as on the pattern envelope and picture.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, but I suggest a different finish to the edges and removing the elastic. Not needed with the deep neckline.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
LIKES: Style lines are interesting. Drape does a great job of flattering while skimming curves, but not clinging. Neckline appears daring without actually being too revealing.

DISLIKES: Pattern draft is a bit off from the rest of Vogue's line. Short waisted, really broad across the back, shorter in length then in description. Hem finish. In the picture you can see that there are issues with the hem not hanging smoothly.

Fabric Used:
Polly blend red matte jersey. Very stable knit with medium drape.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
After tissue fitting and measuring the pattern, I realized that it was quite short waisted, broad through the back, and shorter in length then it appears in the pictures and drawing. These are unusual issues for me to run into with Vogue patterns but very easy to fix with this particular pattern.

1) lengthened the bodice pieces by almost 2 inches so the bottom of the ties would hit right above my waist after they are sewn to the bodice. This required the pleats to be deepened, the neckline to be slightly redrawn, and the overlap of the front pieces to be slightly adjusted. This put the waist line in the correct location as marked on the skirt.

2) Slashed the center back of the bodice piece. Took about 3.5" out of the back at the bottom, tapering to about 1" at the back neckline. Smoothed out the back neckline curve after the adjustment. For those of you without a sway back, an full inch folded out of the back, top to bottom, would likely be enough. This adjustment kept the side seams in the correct location on my body.

3) Removed 1.5" from top side seams of back skirt piece, tapering down to nothing at apex of hips so it matched adjustment to back bodice.

4) Removed 1.5" from each end of back tie to match change to back bodice.

5) Added 3" in length to the bottom hem so the skirt falls mid to lower calf.

6) Removed pockets and elastic. Did not want the bulk of the pockets, and the elastic was not needed due to back bodice adjustments.

7) Changed the finishing on the neckline, hem, and underarms. Used clear elastic on shoulders and the front neckline to stabilize. Omitted top-stitching throughout. Used narrow hem on neckline and bottom hem. Mimicked the look on the under arms, grading seam allowances to reduce bulk.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I may sew again in a patterned fabric with more drape for a different look.

Conclusion:
A bit disappointed in the pattern drafting issues from Vogue, but very happy with the final result. Fun, flowing and sexy dress that is very flattering and comfortable.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Timmithea said...
Pretty. I have this pattern too. Maybe I'll get around to it, now that I see how pretty it is!
9/25/14 10:55 PM
lao0264 said...
I love this! Thank you for the tips...
9/19/14 0:15 AM
canei said...
Nice!
9/17/14 2:48 PM
Cololee said...
Absolutely beautiful! I have this pattern, Yeah! I love the fabric you chose and your alterations look great!
9/17/14 11:23 AM
TalyQ said...
That really is a great dress. I love the drop sleeves and the color you chose is gorgeous. Now to somehow get my hands on that pattern and that fabric LOL. Wonderful job.
9/17/14 1:16 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
oh oh oh - can't wait to see you dress. I have the fabric ready and waiting.
4/28/08 4:41 AM
cindyann said...
Double post
4/19/08 5:41 PM
cindyann said...
I am anxious to see your dress too! Thank you so much for the great tips. I just got this pattern and I'm eager to make it up.
4/19/08 5:40 PM
candyo said...
can't wait for the pic! I just cut this dress out!
4/13/08 10:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-1013-130

photo
by: Kbenco

Review