Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2008-110 (Empire Waist Sleeveless Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1490 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 10:36 PM
Last Updated:5/6/08 0:38 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks very nice! Pretty color too.
4/7/08 10:54 PM
Kbenco said...
Your top is really pretty.
4/7/08 10:55 PM
mary in FL said...
That fits you pretty well. Next time, I dare ya to gather above and below the band. That would certainly avoid the extra-long bust darts.
4/7/08 11:31 PM
emo said...
Adorable! I have this on the list, and the review is super-helpful. Thanks!
4/8/08 0:44 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
Gosh, I do like your top. Great colour and fit and love the belt.
4/8/08 1:17 AM
LauraLo said...
It looks very pretty and the colour suits you so nicely!
4/8/08 3:49 AM
Peggy L said...
Very cute on you - great color.
4/8/08 8:14 AM
Lori V said...
This looks great on you.
4/8/08 8:31 AM
LindsayT said...
That is so adorable on you and I love the color. Nice!
4/8/08 9:35 AM
cindyann said...
I think it's just adorable! A great design for your figure.
4/8/08 10:51 AM
Leora said...
I absolutely LOVE this top on you. It is so Audry... don't you think?
4/8/08 11:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, your top is absolutely lovely. And on your tiny frame, I think I like the gathers close to your middle better than I would like them spread farther apart. The color's very flattering, too. This is a winner for you. Lovely, Lily
4/8/08 11:10 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very cute! Another vote for gathers rather than a dart for your figure - I think it would flatter you a bit more.
4/8/08 11:43 AM
myrooks said...
Great job, I can't tell that the pleats are off. It is probably one of the mistakes that will only bother you!! To raise the neck line--is it really just starting the cut one inch higher? I am fairly modest and didn't make this because it looked low cut.
4/8/08 11:44 AM
meli88a said...
This shirt was designed for you. It fits you so well!
4/8/08 11:49 AM
EveS said...
That color looks FABULOUS on you, icky fabric or not!!! Your photo really stood out in the gallery! You're making this easy on me...every BWOF I'm planning to make you've reviewed!! I owe you one! :)
4/8/08 12:18 PM
nellc said...
This is a very pretty top that really suits you, I like the colour.
4/8/08 2:11 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
Wow, I thought this top was pretty blah in the magazine but I really like it on you. Just goes to show ya... It's a very flattering look, you should definitely make more. Brava!
4/8/08 2:56 PM
sb1280 said...
I think it looks great and don't think the belt loop sticks out too far at all. Great job - and good to know it works in a knit as well!
4/8/08 4:07 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Dawn, your cool blue top is wonderful! I have chosen this pattern for my introduction to BWOF so I really appreciate your review. Concerning your shoulder-bust length alteration, it appears you need this in order to have a nice fit at the armholes. You might try adding the 1/2" you removed either at the bodice bottom edge or at the bustline, and/or shortening the darts as needed. Hope this helps! ...Gail
4/8/08 6:44 PM
lauraborealis said...
Nice job... it looks great in a knit.
4/8/08 7:25 PM
GollyGolly said...
The color is just terrific on you and I appreciate the review. As a result of this review, I am beginning to think I actually might give Burda another go ! Thanks Gail
4/8/08 11:36 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO PRETTY!!! I love the color!!!
4/27/08 4:04 PM
Karen6790 said...
I like this one even more than the first. I've got to make this top.
5/6/08 0:56 AM
Athene said...
I love your top. The fabric is so gorgeous. A very attractive look on you.
5/6/08 3:01 AM
EveS said...
Oh, I REALLY like this version, Dawn!!! This has been next in the queue for a LONG time, but I've been neck deep in kidswear projects forever. Must sew faster, must sew faster... :)
5/6/08 8:28 AM
Kay Y said...
Hey, I am glad you found that little idea useful. Your top is really beautiful!
5/6/08 8:45 AM
born2bead said...
Girl - you got it goin' on. I thought I was a fast sewer but I think you've got me beat! Love the top (on my to-do-list) and especially the use of a decorative stitch on the hem. I think I may try that.
5/6/08 10:34 AM
pinkli said...
What a cute top you've made. Nice fabric choice too. I love the use of 'dork' in your review to: that word always makes me giggle! I'm sure you're not one though :)
5/6/08 12:47 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, your creamy white eyelet was an inspired choice to repeat this flattering top. Thanks for showcasing Kay's tip about shaping the hem; I'd missed it and can see where it would 'save the day' in the right application. You look positively beautiful in your eyelet top. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 11:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
Dawn, I discovered your version after reading EveS's review of this top. Your eyelet version is breathlessly lovely! Great fabric, great details, great choices by you. Strong work!
5/14/08 9:07 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dawn, I discovered your version after reading EveS's review of this top. Your eyelet version is breathlessly lovely! Great fabric, great details, great choices by you. Strong work!
5/14/08 9:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7997 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mimi g. on 2/11/14
Read Review

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Manequim 04-2012-2211 Skirt (Saia)
photo
Review by Kathhhhhy on 11/19/13
Read Review

Jalie 2787 Pattern
Jalie 2787 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )
McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us