SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-110 (Empire Waist Sleeveless Top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1491 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 10:36 PM
Last Updated:5/6/08 0:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks very nice! Pretty color too.
4/7/08 10:54 PM
Kbenco said...
Your top is really pretty.
4/7/08 10:55 PM
mary in FL said...
That fits you pretty well. Next time, I dare ya to gather above and below the band. That would certainly avoid the extra-long bust darts.
4/7/08 11:31 PM
emo said...
Adorable! I have this on the list, and the review is super-helpful. Thanks!
4/8/08 0:44 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
Gosh, I do like your top. Great colour and fit and love the belt.
4/8/08 1:17 AM
LauraLo said...
It looks very pretty and the colour suits you so nicely!
4/8/08 3:49 AM
Peggy L said...
Very cute on you - great color.
4/8/08 8:14 AM
Lori V said...
This looks great on you.
4/8/08 8:31 AM
LindsayT said...
That is so adorable on you and I love the color. Nice!
4/8/08 9:35 AM
cindyann said...
I think it's just adorable! A great design for your figure.
4/8/08 10:51 AM
Leora said...
I absolutely LOVE this top on you. It is so Audry... don't you think?
4/8/08 11:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, your top is absolutely lovely. And on your tiny frame, I think I like the gathers close to your middle better than I would like them spread farther apart. The color's very flattering, too. This is a winner for you. Lovely, Lily
4/8/08 11:10 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very cute! Another vote for gathers rather than a dart for your figure - I think it would flatter you a bit more.
4/8/08 11:43 AM
myrooks said...
Great job, I can't tell that the pleats are off. It is probably one of the mistakes that will only bother you!! To raise the neck line--is it really just starting the cut one inch higher? I am fairly modest and didn't make this because it looked low cut.
4/8/08 11:44 AM
meli88a said...
This shirt was designed for you. It fits you so well!
4/8/08 11:49 AM
EveS said...
That color looks FABULOUS on you, icky fabric or not!!! Your photo really stood out in the gallery! You're making this easy on me...every BWOF I'm planning to make you've reviewed!! I owe you one! :)
4/8/08 12:18 PM
nellc said...
This is a very pretty top that really suits you, I like the colour.
4/8/08 2:11 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
Wow, I thought this top was pretty blah in the magazine but I really like it on you. Just goes to show ya... It's a very flattering look, you should definitely make more. Brava!
4/8/08 2:56 PM
sb1280 said...
I think it looks great and don't think the belt loop sticks out too far at all. Great job - and good to know it works in a knit as well!
4/8/08 4:07 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Dawn, your cool blue top is wonderful! I have chosen this pattern for my introduction to BWOF so I really appreciate your review. Concerning your shoulder-bust length alteration, it appears you need this in order to have a nice fit at the armholes. You might try adding the 1/2" you removed either at the bodice bottom edge or at the bustline, and/or shortening the darts as needed. Hope this helps! ...Gail
4/8/08 6:44 PM
lauraborealis said...
Nice job... it looks great in a knit.
4/8/08 7:25 PM
GollyGolly said...
The color is just terrific on you and I appreciate the review. As a result of this review, I am beginning to think I actually might give Burda another go ! Thanks Gail
4/8/08 11:36 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO PRETTY!!! I love the color!!!
4/27/08 4:04 PM
Karen6790 said...
I like this one even more than the first. I've got to make this top.
5/6/08 0:56 AM
Athene said...
I love your top. The fabric is so gorgeous. A very attractive look on you.
5/6/08 3:01 AM
EveS said...
Oh, I REALLY like this version, Dawn!!! This has been next in the queue for a LONG time, but I've been neck deep in kidswear projects forever. Must sew faster, must sew faster... :)
5/6/08 8:28 AM
Kay Y said...
Hey, I am glad you found that little idea useful. Your top is really beautiful!
5/6/08 8:45 AM
born2bead said...
Girl - you got it goin' on. I thought I was a fast sewer but I think you've got me beat! Love the top (on my to-do-list) and especially the use of a decorative stitch on the hem. I think I may try that.
5/6/08 10:34 AM
pinkli said...
What a cute top you've made. Nice fabric choice too. I love the use of 'dork' in your review to: that word always makes me giggle! I'm sure you're not one though :)
5/6/08 12:47 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, your creamy white eyelet was an inspired choice to repeat this flattering top. Thanks for showcasing Kay's tip about shaping the hem; I'd missed it and can see where it would 'save the day' in the right application. You look positively beautiful in your eyelet top. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 11:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
Dawn, I discovered your version after reading EveS's review of this top. Your eyelet version is breathlessly lovely! Great fabric, great details, great choices by you. Strong work!
5/14/08 9:07 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dawn, I discovered your version after reading EveS's review of this top. Your eyelet version is breathlessly lovely! Great fabric, great details, great choices by you. Strong work!
5/14/08 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: atymonw

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now