SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7937 (Pannelled, straight skirt)

33 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:Blooms
photo

 
 
About Bloomsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/2/06
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 11:48 PM
Last Updated:4/7/08 11:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
FABULOUS!
4/8/08 0:14 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
This is so cute. I love what you have done to the pockets. Great colour
4/8/08 1:15 AM
Athene said...
Love the pocket detail - gives the skirt that special edge.
4/8/08 2:16 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wonderful pocket details. That really lifts the skirt onto the super fabulous level.
4/8/08 3:08 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful.
4/8/08 7:10 AM
carolynw said...
How cute is that! Love your skirt and the pockets make it nicely different
4/8/08 8:33 AM
SewingSusan said...
These pockets make me smile too! Love that skirt.
4/8/08 9:20 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I'm totally gonna have to steal those pockets! They would also be great pockets for an apron.
4/8/08 10:39 AM
pterion said...
Absolutely adorable!
4/8/08 10:54 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I too am very pleased that you translated the images in your head to fabric, because this skirt - and those pockets - are the absolute limit! Charmingly vintage but still extremely modern. Love it, love it. -Lily
4/8/08 11:20 AM
meli88a said...
I like your version, and am relieved that I'm not the only one finding it "poochy"! I also was surprised by how much easing one has to do to fit the skirt to the facing, which makes me think that this makes it poochy. The pockets are fantastic. So cute!
4/8/08 11:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very innovative and inspiring!
4/8/08 1:07 PM
SewingSusan said...
Can you share any details on the pocket design? Looks like it's an egg shape with the corner folded, or is it an oval?
4/9/08 7:33 AM
Blooms said...
Hello Sewing Susan! The pockets are sort of egg shaped, only I squared the ends a little bit. The bottom width is 16.5 cm, the top width is about 11 cm, the height is about 18 cm...the unfolded pocket has left/right symmetry. The pockets have a front and back, so that the folded down bit also shows the right side of fabric. The inside egg is a single piece. The outside egg has a seam line on the fold line...this was so that I could turn the pocket through a gap in this seam after I had sewn the 2 eggs right sides together...you can't see this seam once the pocket corner is turned down. So, construction order...first I sewed the construction seam on the outer egg, leaving a gap. Then I attached the ric-rac to one of the egg shapes, then I sewed the inside and outside egg shapes right sides together (with the seam width adjusted to sew down the middle of the ric-rac) and turned through the construction seam on the outer egg. I handstitched the gap closed. I then topstitched the pocket above the fold line, folded down a corner, sewed on a button, then sewed the pocket to the skirt below the fold line. Hope this is clear, if not, ask more questions!
4/9/08 6:06 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love the design detail and the outfit. It is just cute without looking prissy.
4/11/08 6:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Ottobre Design 2011

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 222944-1001

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now