Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7937 (Pannelled, straight skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 789 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Blooms
photo
About Bloomsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/2/06
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 11:48 PM
Last Updated:4/7/08 11:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
FABULOUS!
4/8/08 0:14 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
This is so cute. I love what you have done to the pockets. Great colour
4/8/08 1:15 AM
Athene said...
Love the pocket detail - gives the skirt that special edge.
4/8/08 2:16 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wonderful pocket details. That really lifts the skirt onto the super fabulous level.
4/8/08 3:08 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful.
4/8/08 7:10 AM
carolynw said...
How cute is that! Love your skirt and the pockets make it nicely different
4/8/08 8:33 AM
SewingSusan said...
These pockets make me smile too! Love that skirt.
4/8/08 9:20 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I'm totally gonna have to steal those pockets! They would also be great pockets for an apron.
4/8/08 10:39 AM
pterion said...
Absolutely adorable!
4/8/08 10:54 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I too am very pleased that you translated the images in your head to fabric, because this skirt - and those pockets - are the absolute limit! Charmingly vintage but still extremely modern. Love it, love it. -Lily
4/8/08 11:20 AM
meli88a said...
I like your version, and am relieved that I'm not the only one finding it "poochy"! I also was surprised by how much easing one has to do to fit the skirt to the facing, which makes me think that this makes it poochy. The pockets are fantastic. So cute!
4/8/08 11:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very innovative and inspiring!
4/8/08 1:07 PM
SewingSusan said...
Can you share any details on the pocket design? Looks like it's an egg shape with the corner folded, or is it an oval?
4/9/08 7:33 AM
Blooms said...
Hello Sewing Susan! The pockets are sort of egg shaped, only I squared the ends a little bit. The bottom width is 16.5 cm, the top width is about 11 cm, the height is about 18 cm...the unfolded pocket has left/right symmetry. The pockets have a front and back, so that the folded down bit also shows the right side of fabric. The inside egg is a single piece. The outside egg has a seam line on the fold line...this was so that I could turn the pocket through a gap in this seam after I had sewn the 2 eggs right sides together...you can't see this seam once the pocket corner is turned down. So, construction order...first I sewed the construction seam on the outer egg, leaving a gap. Then I attached the ric-rac to one of the egg shapes, then I sewed the inside and outside egg shapes right sides together (with the seam width adjusted to sew down the middle of the ric-rac) and turned through the construction seam on the outer egg. I handstitched the gap closed. I then topstitched the pocket above the fold line, folded down a corner, sewed on a button, then sewed the pocket to the skirt below the fold line. Hope this is clear, if not, ask more questions!
4/9/08 6:06 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love the design detail and the outfit. It is just cute without looking prissy.
4/11/08 6:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 3774 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 4/6/10
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6365 Apron
photo
Review by sewinfranc... on 2/5/13
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6566 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6566 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8903 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8903 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us