Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB032SC (Sophia Carry-all) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1152 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/08 10:06 AM
Last Updated:4/8/08 10:06 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
What a great looking, fun bag. And your fabric is so much more eyecatching than the original.
4/8/08 10:24 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute bag. Your right - fabric choice makes all the difference and yours is certainly fun.
4/8/08 10:25 AM
pterion said...
Great-looking bag! I like yours better than the pattern photo too.
4/8/08 11:09 AM
anuprabhu said...
I LOVE this bag! It's so fun - the fabric really complements the shape of the bag. I may have to make one of these myself. =) Thanks for the helpful review.
4/8/08 11:25 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very attractive bag, and the bag seems quite a good size. Nice to have a practical item that looks lovely, as well. -Lily
4/8/08 11:45 AM
Peggy L said...
Yours is much more "fun". Great looking bag and review.
4/8/08 11:46 AM
Sic said...
Darling! I love the fabric!
4/8/08 12:21 PM
a.me.s said...
The fabric is PERFECT for that bag!!! Great job :)
4/8/08 12:38 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your bag turned out wonderful and is so cute! I'm sure you'll get lots of us out of it.
4/8/08 1:04 PM
maryfrana said...
You did make this more fun. Beautifully made.
4/8/08 1:04 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love these bags--especially the fabric. Great job!
4/8/08 2:00 PM
RobinMCPA said...
That turned out great!! I am discovering the world of Amy Butler patterns and enjoying the process. Thanks for the ideas and hints. I love the "Thread Nest" phrase, as I hadn't heard that before, and it perfectly described some of the issues I was having on one part of an AB project!
4/8/08 2:38 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gorgeous! Great job!
4/8/08 3:09 PM
Blooms said...
What fun!
4/8/08 5:25 PM
Lori V said...
Such a cute and fun bag. Great job, Stacy.
4/8/08 5:54 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
What a fun, sassy bag, both retro and trendy! I'm so jealous... :)
4/8/08 6:57 PM
anetJay said...
cool bag !!! thanks for your helpful review !!!
4/9/08 5:01 AM
born2bead said...
I just finished this same bag and I agree about the lining needing to be interfaced and did add it to mine for the same reason. I love your fun fabric and the contrasting piping. I did put the piping on the bottom and it wasn't as bad as I envisioned. Very cute and fun!
4/9/08 10:56 AM
aunt saidee said...
Too cute!! I clicked over to the tutorial on the bottom treatment and feet and noticed a comment that Timtex is "no more." Does anyone know anything about that?? Beautiful work on your bag--great fabric.
4/9/08 2:12 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Yes, timtex has been discontinued! Apparently the plant that manufactured it suddenly shut down. I contacted the Timtex folks and they said they are looking for someone in the US to produce it, but haven't had any luck. Apparently what is left on the internet (or in people's stashes is the last of their product, at least for now).
4/10/08 1:41 PM
Amanda107 said...
Wow - looks great! Thanks for your review!
4/20/08 10:56 PM
I SEW Stitch Cleveland said...
Your bag looks great, I love the fabric. I started mine this week, I'm free motion quilting the pieces and binding the inside seams-I'll let you know how it turns out--I love it so far!
4/26/08 0:02 AM
cnp71203 said...
Wow, Stacy, your things always look so amazing! I LOVE this bag so much!
9/28/08 3:34 PM
ccmjj5 said...
Thanks for the review - how did you fare with the zipper? I'm having such a hard time - not sure if you get emails when comments are posted... I think I'll take pictures of my own progress so I can make a tutorial for someone else! thanks for the changes in pattern - I'm having fun with this pattern! carri
11/7/08 8:22 PM
Hilary said...
This is such a cute bag!!
12/14/08 8:03 PM
aliciavr6 said...
LOVE IT! And love the fabric!
9/14/10 11:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Loes Hinse Designs 5003 Cruise Pant
photo
Review by Nancywin on 2/24/10
Read Review

McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs 302
photo
Review by JenSews2 on 6/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us