SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4070 (Prom Dress)

39 more reviews
Viewed 953 times 
Reviewed by:SewingSusan
photo

 
 
About SewingSusanstar
KY USA
Member since: 2/2/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/08 10:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingSusan said...
oh, forgot to mention, we ended up shortening the skirt by at least three inches. unfortunately, this was done after attaching it to the bodice which meant taking it all apart again. determine length before attaching (something the pattern stated clearly) turns out to be good advice : ) .
4/8/08 10:15 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your daughter looks absolutely adorable in her prom dress. Fabulous job--and in only 2 days.
4/8/08 10:27 AM
Linda Mae said...
Beautiful girl and dress! She looks fantastic! I've been seeing the "balloon" hem feature lately as I look through the pattern books. I had a dress in the 5th grade with that type of hem in the 58-59 school year and am surprised to see this back in fashion. I don't think I've seen it before this year in the books. Liked it then and now as it gives a whole different look to a dress. You did a great job on the dress even with the few problems you described.
4/8/08 11:42 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very lovely dress in a beautiful peau de soil fabric. Your DD *does* look very, very pretty in it and it suits her frame perfectly. Lovely, Lily
4/8/08 11:48 AM
moxie3601 said...
Beautiful dress and incredible work on your part, especially given the limited time you had!
4/8/08 1:19 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, the colour is lovely.
4/8/08 1:45 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Beautiful!
4/8/08 3:39 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Lovely dress on a lovely young lady. I hope she enjoyed her prom!
4/8/08 4:38 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO PRETTY!!!!! I can't believe that only took you 2 days!!!!! WOW!!!
4/8/08 6:11 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful done for a beautiful girl.
4/8/08 8:00 PM
carolynw said...
How absolutely beautiful your daughter looks in this dress - you did a wonderful job
4/8/08 10:28 PM
Dei said...
Your DD looks so happy and she has a great mom to sew up something so sweet in just 2 days. Major mom points for that. I'm glad someone else noticed the sizing issue with Simplicity.
4/8/08 10:30 PM
anetJay said...
how charming your DD looks in her beautiful dress !! you must be very proud !!! :)
4/9/08 5:04 AM
RobinMCPA said...
The dress looks beautiful and so does your daughter!! How lucky she is to have a mom who can make such a great dress in 2 days!!
4/9/08 9:38 AM
LindsayT said...
Cute dress, cute daughter! Hope she's being extra nice to you for making this.
4/9/08 12:24 PM
jhansby said...
She looks lovely! (and so does the dress)
4/9/08 8:31 PM
pinkli said...
That's a lovely dress: fantastic colour. What lucky daughters you have. And I totally agree about sewing as therapy! Happy sewing
4/11/08 12:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 20013

photo
by: Dilliander

Review