SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4070 (Prom Dress)

43 more reviews
Viewed 958 times 
Reviewed by:SewingSusan
photo

 
 
About SewingSusanstar
KY USA
Member since: 2/2/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/08 10:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pinkli said...
That's a lovely dress: fantastic colour. What lucky daughters you have. And I totally agree about sewing as therapy! Happy sewing
4/11/08 12:46 PM
jhansby said...
She looks lovely! (and so does the dress)
4/9/08 8:31 PM
LindsayT said...
Cute dress, cute daughter! Hope she's being extra nice to you for making this.
4/9/08 12:24 PM
RobinMCPA said...
The dress looks beautiful and so does your daughter!! How lucky she is to have a mom who can make such a great dress in 2 days!!
4/9/08 9:38 AM
anetJay said...
how charming your DD looks in her beautiful dress !! you must be very proud !!! :)
4/9/08 5:04 AM
Dei said...
Your DD looks so happy and she has a great mom to sew up something so sweet in just 2 days. Major mom points for that. I'm glad someone else noticed the sizing issue with Simplicity.
4/8/08 10:30 PM
carolynw said...
How absolutely beautiful your daughter looks in this dress - you did a wonderful job
4/8/08 10:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful done for a beautiful girl.
4/8/08 8:00 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO PRETTY!!!!! I can't believe that only took you 2 days!!!!! WOW!!!
4/8/08 6:11 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Lovely dress on a lovely young lady. I hope she enjoyed her prom!
4/8/08 4:38 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Beautiful!
4/8/08 3:39 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, the colour is lovely.
4/8/08 1:45 PM
moxie3601 said...
Beautiful dress and incredible work on your part, especially given the limited time you had!
4/8/08 1:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very lovely dress in a beautiful peau de soil fabric. Your DD *does* look very, very pretty in it and it suits her frame perfectly. Lovely, Lily
4/8/08 11:48 AM
Linda Mae said...
Beautiful girl and dress! She looks fantastic! I've been seeing the "balloon" hem feature lately as I look through the pattern books. I had a dress in the 5th grade with that type of hem in the 58-59 school year and am surprised to see this back in fashion. I don't think I've seen it before this year in the books. Liked it then and now as it gives a whole different look to a dress. You did a great job on the dress even with the few problems you described.
4/8/08 11:42 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your daughter looks absolutely adorable in her prom dress. Fabulous job--and in only 2 days.
4/8/08 10:27 AM
SewingSusan said...
oh, forgot to mention, we ended up shortening the skirt by at least three inches. unfortunately, this was done after attaching it to the bodice which meant taking it all apart again. determine length before attaching (something the pattern stated clearly) turns out to be good advice : ) .
4/8/08 10:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 100698-1000

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review