SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> You Sew Girl> BO710 (Nicole Mallalieu Purse/handbag)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2356 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/08 4:26 PM
Last Updated:4/18/08 5:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 46 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QueenBeeOne said...
So, So Chic!!! Very brave to make it in leather!!! I was hoping to just add leather straps!!! You did a very nice job.
4/1/12 0:04 AM
GotCurves said...
Wow GORGEOUS! Thanks for the tips!
3/17/12 5:33 PM
waltzqueen said...
To echo everyone else - FABULOUS !!
1/28/10 1:45 PM
DeanneW said...
Great job with your purse.
12/19/09 11:26 AM
AmandaW said...
Your bag is absolutely stunning and your review is very informative.
12/18/09 4:31 PM
JDpenelope said...
Holy Handbag! Just seeing this amazing review and project will do wonders for my humility.
8/28/09 2:07 PM
aussew said...
Here in Australia we really love Nicole Mallalieu!!!
5/21/08 5:46 AM
priscilla said...
Hi Connie, I remember when you bought that leather in NYC. I was able to get a small piece of it, maybe I'll make a small clutch. Your bag is fabulous and it's a great inspiration. Thank you also for your great review and the lead on the bag website!!!!!
5/20/08 8:22 AM
AnneM said...
What a lovely bag. Definitely a retro-style, in all the cutest ways. You did a great job on this. And thanks for telling us about this pattern source. Sounds worth getting a pattern just to see the instructions!
5/8/08 8:43 PM
W said...
Your fabric choice was great, and the bag came out amazingly well -- I can't believe you made this yourself! My hat is off to you!
5/5/08 5:20 PM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous bag and wonderful, detailed review. I've always wondered how one installed that type of purse frame. In fact, as I put a purse aside a purse for a garage sale, I wondered if I could reclaim the frame? Congratulations on trying something new and having terrific results.
5/3/08 12:17 PM
AquariJenn said...
Cute bag! You did a great job with the construction and reviewing it. Thanks!
5/2/08 10:07 PM
Boo97 said...
What a beautiful bag, one I would definitely wear proudly!
5/2/08 9:58 PM
Birgitte said...
Fantastic bag, and your review is so helpful- and inspiring. Like everyone else, I too need this bag!
5/2/08 4:26 PM
trishapatk said...
SPECTACULAR!!! Thanks for all the great info and delightful story too! I just LOVE this bag ... it captured my attention immediately and continued to impress me the more I read. Great job!!!!
5/2/08 12:28 PM
Tiner W said...
What a stunning bag--what I really mean is that I WANT this bag! Thanks for the very detailed review. I've bought some of these purse frames recently and haven't had the courage to work with them. Your reveiw really makes me want to get to work. And to buy some leather.
4/30/08 8:41 PM
Carol Wisman said...
LOVE IT!, I have some serious bag envy going on! Beautiful!
4/29/08 12:51 PM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
A very sophisticated bag! It really turned out well. Thanks for the wonderfully detailed review and the tips. I had already discovered using a block of wood to press odd seams and I'm glad you mentioned it for those who don't.
4/21/08 3:09 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous review! And everything about this bag is gorgeous too. Just beautiful.
4/20/08 8:16 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I have 'bag envy'. Thanks for the review and the link to Nicole. I will be forced to make my own bag.
4/20/08 3:25 PM
Zip said...
Beautiful! Very inspiring! I'd love to see it in person!!!
4/20/08 3:03 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Connie, like everyone else, I'm pea green with envy over your stunning purse. Mmmm....Mmmm....Mmmm. -Lily
4/20/08 11:58 AM
Andreahg said...
This is JUST the bag I've been looking for! Thanks for sharing your bag, I can't wait to make one of my own. Your bag is lovely!
4/19/08 9:53 PM
ryan's mom said...
Connie, your bag is AWESOME! Really looks like one you'd find in a designer boutique. This sounds like a great design--I'll have to check it out.
4/19/08 5:01 PM
cindyann said...
Just fantastic! I love it!
4/19/08 3:48 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastique! You did a fabulous job. Thanks for the review and the link to Nicole's Web site. I have already downloaded the bib pattern and instructions to make baby gifts.
4/19/08 1:08 PM
Linda E. said...
wow great looking bag gorgeous..
4/19/08 11:22 AM
carolynw said...
What abeaufil bag - bet you would pay $$$ for that in a store. Grerat and veryhelpful review
4/19/08 9:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you so much for a such a good, detailed review. Indeed the rating Very helpful doesn't do your review justice enough. Yesterday I admired your bag on your blog and said that I wanted one. This morning I read your review thoroughly, and I already contacted Nicole. I really want to make one (and my daughter has an eye on it too! In this case lucky I don't have 5 daughters).
4/19/08 8:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this purse! You did an excellent job!
4/19/08 7:32 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I want to make 50 of these! I want to make it for all my friends! I LOVE it! Yours is beautiful. thank you thank you for introducing me to this awesome website.
4/19/08 2:44 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Amazing amazing purse!
4/19/08 0:52 AM
EveS said...
Oh yeah. I'd carry that. Every day til the darned thing wore out. I could babble and gush for days on this purse and I'm not typically a make-your-own-purse kinda gal. Correction...WASN'T that type of gal. Incredible purse, Connie, and a review worthy of an extra-super-helpful rating. :)
4/18/08 11:23 PM
GollyGolly said...
Oh my goodness gracious what a wonderful bag. You have absolutely inspired me !
4/18/08 11:06 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is such an amazing bag and you've written a great review. So detailed... I felt like I was there with you during construction! ;) Thank you for sharing!
4/18/08 10:53 PM
Athene said...
I love your purse - it looks very TOL. You will definitely be very busy in the next while making more of these for the FCX5. Thank you for the very detailed review.
4/18/08 10:42 PM
Lori V said...
This is so fabulous, I just keep looking at the pictures. The fabric is incredible and the construction wonderful. Great job.
4/18/08 10:32 PM
LindsayT said...
No way you made this!!! I need proof! Let me speak to one of your kids right now and ask them if you really made this!
4/18/08 9:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow!! WOW again!!
4/18/08 9:14 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is such an amazing bag and you've written a great review. So detailed... I felt like I was there with you during construction! ;) Thank you for sharing!
4/18/08 8:43 PM
lizpalmer said...
Wow.
4/18/08 7:12 PM
So So said...
Knock out bag! Now I will read your review! i agree never write a short review! You have created an"IT BAG". I totally love this bag. I woudl be parading round the house with it too!
4/18/08 6:54 PM
Vivienne said...
Your new bag is gorgeous. Stunning. Please don't ever write a short review.
4/18/08 6:23 PM
mylittleelephant said...
WOW......this is amazing....... I never thought I would sew bags but I may change my mind now after reading this, sooner than later. Just gorgeous!
4/18/08 6:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an impressive project. Great job on the bag and great review too.
4/18/08 6:08 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous bag! I think you just won the contest!!!
4/18/08 6:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Oh my goodness! How absolutely fabulous! You sewed this on a home sewing machine? The site is wonderful too, thanks for sharing, and thanks for a terrific review.
4/18/08 5:54 PM
Peggy L said...
I agree - gorgeous fits!! Wonderful bag and a great review. Congratulations.
4/18/08 5:32 PM
Twinset said...
Terrific bag! I wish I'd have one like that! I think Nicole is going to have lots of new customers because of you!
4/18/08 5:31 PM
rivergum said...
What a fabulous bag! I absolutely love it. I need to make myself a new bag and your review has really encouraged me. Normally I feel a bit blah about handbag sewing, but your bag id very inspiring.
4/18/08 5:21 PM
rivergum said...
What a fabulous bag! I absolutely love it. I need to make myself a new bag and your review has really encouraged me. Normally I feel a bit blah about handbag sewing, but your bag is very inspiring.
4/18/08 5:20 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You have got to be flippin' kidding me, Connie. I have my LA and NYC connections on the hunt for a purse frame just like that with which to make a purse out of crocodile pleather. Great minds think alike, I guess. The difference? Yours is finished. And *beautiful*!!
4/18/08 5:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Love, love, love the bag. Very expensive looking.
4/18/08 4:49 PM
wvsher said...
Wow, what a project. I love both the brown leather and the blue one. So beautiful and professional looking. Great job!
4/18/08 4:44 PM
Lyudmila said...
I love your purse, you should make and sell them. Great Job!
4/18/08 4:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
There are lots and lots of other words for this bag - doing short compliments is like doing short reviews - so I'll stick at this word: Gorgeous. It looks like something you'd pay way too much money for in a store when you fell in love with it.
4/18/08 4:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Burda 9501

photo
by: guineveres...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 5977

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

More Info
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

More Info