Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
You Sew Girl: BO710 (Nicole Mallalieu Purse/handbag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 2349 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 46 people   
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/08 4:26 PM
Last Updated:4/18/08 5:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
There are lots and lots of other words for this bag - doing short compliments is like doing short reviews - so I'll stick at this word: Gorgeous. It looks like something you'd pay way too much money for in a store when you fell in love with it.
4/18/08 4:41 PM
Lyudmila said...
I love your purse, you should make and sell them. Great Job!
4/18/08 4:43 PM
wvsher said...
Wow, what a project. I love both the brown leather and the blue one. So beautiful and professional looking. Great job!
4/18/08 4:44 PM
nancy2001 said...
Love, love, love the bag. Very expensive looking.
4/18/08 4:49 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You have got to be flippin' kidding me, Connie. I have my LA and NYC connections on the hunt for a purse frame just like that with which to make a purse out of crocodile pleather. Great minds think alike, I guess. The difference? Yours is finished. And *beautiful*!!
4/18/08 5:09 PM
rivergum said...
What a fabulous bag! I absolutely love it. I need to make myself a new bag and your review has really encouraged me. Normally I feel a bit blah about handbag sewing, but your bag is very inspiring.
4/18/08 5:20 PM
rivergum said...
What a fabulous bag! I absolutely love it. I need to make myself a new bag and your review has really encouraged me. Normally I feel a bit blah about handbag sewing, but your bag id very inspiring.
4/18/08 5:21 PM
Twinset said...
Terrific bag! I wish I'd have one like that! I think Nicole is going to have lots of new customers because of you!
4/18/08 5:31 PM
Peggy L said...
I agree - gorgeous fits!! Wonderful bag and a great review. Congratulations.
4/18/08 5:32 PM
Nancy K said...
Oh my goodness! How absolutely fabulous! You sewed this on a home sewing machine? The site is wonderful too, thanks for sharing, and thanks for a terrific review.
4/18/08 5:54 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous bag! I think you just won the contest!!!
4/18/08 6:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an impressive project. Great job on the bag and great review too.
4/18/08 6:08 PM
mylittleelephant said...
WOW......this is amazing....... I never thought I would sew bags but I may change my mind now after reading this, sooner than later. Just gorgeous!
4/18/08 6:09 PM
Vivienne said...
Your new bag is gorgeous. Stunning. Please don't ever write a short review.
4/18/08 6:23 PM
So So said...
Knock out bag! Now I will read your review! i agree never write a short review! You have created an"IT BAG". I totally love this bag. I woudl be parading round the house with it too!
4/18/08 6:54 PM
lizpalmer said...
Wow.
4/18/08 7:12 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is such an amazing bag and you've written a great review. So detailed... I felt like I was there with you during construction! ;) Thank you for sharing!
4/18/08 8:43 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow!! WOW again!!
4/18/08 9:14 PM
LindsayT said...
No way you made this!!! I need proof! Let me speak to one of your kids right now and ask them if you really made this!
4/18/08 9:21 PM
Lori V said...
This is so fabulous, I just keep looking at the pictures. The fabric is incredible and the construction wonderful. Great job.
4/18/08 10:32 PM
Athene said...
I love your purse - it looks very TOL. You will definitely be very busy in the next while making more of these for the FCX5. Thank you for the very detailed review.
4/18/08 10:42 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is such an amazing bag and you've written a great review. So detailed... I felt like I was there with you during construction! ;) Thank you for sharing!
4/18/08 10:53 PM
GollyGolly said...
Oh my goodness gracious what a wonderful bag. You have absolutely inspired me !
4/18/08 11:06 PM
EveS said...
Oh yeah. I'd carry that. Every day til the darned thing wore out. I could babble and gush for days on this purse and I'm not typically a make-your-own-purse kinda gal. Correction...WASN'T that type of gal. Incredible purse, Connie, and a review worthy of an extra-super-helpful rating. :)
4/18/08 11:23 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Amazing amazing purse!
4/19/08 0:52 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I want to make 50 of these! I want to make it for all my friends! I LOVE it! Yours is beautiful. thank you thank you for introducing me to this awesome website.
4/19/08 2:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this purse! You did an excellent job!
4/19/08 7:32 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you so much for a such a good, detailed review. Indeed the rating Very helpful doesn't do your review justice enough. Yesterday I admired your bag on your blog and said that I wanted one. This morning I read your review thoroughly, and I already contacted Nicole. I really want to make one (and my daughter has an eye on it too! In this case lucky I don't have 5 daughters).
4/19/08 8:45 AM
carolynw said...
What abeaufil bag - bet you would pay $$$ for that in a store. Grerat and veryhelpful review
4/19/08 9:03 AM
Linda E. said...
wow great looking bag gorgeous..
4/19/08 11:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastique! You did a fabulous job. Thanks for the review and the link to Nicole's Web site. I have already downloaded the bib pattern and instructions to make baby gifts.
4/19/08 1:08 PM
cindyann said...
Just fantastic! I love it!
4/19/08 3:48 PM
ryan's mom said...
Connie, your bag is AWESOME! Really looks like one you'd find in a designer boutique. This sounds like a great design--I'll have to check it out.
4/19/08 5:01 PM
Andreahg said...
This is JUST the bag I've been looking for! Thanks for sharing your bag, I can't wait to make one of my own. Your bag is lovely!
4/19/08 9:53 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Connie, like everyone else, I'm pea green with envy over your stunning purse. Mmmm....Mmmm....Mmmm. -Lily
4/20/08 11:58 AM
Zip said...
Beautiful! Very inspiring! I'd love to see it in person!!!
4/20/08 3:03 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I have 'bag envy'. Thanks for the review and the link to Nicole. I will be forced to make my own bag.
4/20/08 3:25 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous review! And everything about this bag is gorgeous too. Just beautiful.
4/20/08 8:16 PM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
A very sophisticated bag! It really turned out well. Thanks for the wonderfully detailed review and the tips. I had already discovered using a block of wood to press odd seams and I'm glad you mentioned it for those who don't.
4/21/08 3:09 PM
Carol Wisman said...
LOVE IT!, I have some serious bag envy going on! Beautiful!
4/29/08 12:51 PM
Tiner W said...
What a stunning bag--what I really mean is that I WANT this bag! Thanks for the very detailed review. I've bought some of these purse frames recently and haven't had the courage to work with them. Your reveiw really makes me want to get to work. And to buy some leather.
4/30/08 8:41 PM
trishapatk said...
SPECTACULAR!!! Thanks for all the great info and delightful story too! I just LOVE this bag ... it captured my attention immediately and continued to impress me the more I read. Great job!!!!
5/2/08 12:28 PM
Birgitte said...
Fantastic bag, and your review is so helpful- and inspiring. Like everyone else, I too need this bag!
5/2/08 4:26 PM
Boo97 said...
What a beautiful bag, one I would definitely wear proudly!
5/2/08 9:58 PM
AquariJenn said...
Cute bag! You did a great job with the construction and reviewing it. Thanks!
5/2/08 10:07 PM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous bag and wonderful, detailed review. I've always wondered how one installed that type of purse frame. In fact, as I put a purse aside a purse for a garage sale, I wondered if I could reclaim the frame? Congratulations on trying something new and having terrific results.
5/3/08 12:17 PM
W said...
Your fabric choice was great, and the bag came out amazingly well -- I can't believe you made this yourself! My hat is off to you!
5/5/08 5:20 PM
AnneM said...
What a lovely bag. Definitely a retro-style, in all the cutest ways. You did a great job on this. And thanks for telling us about this pattern source. Sounds worth getting a pattern just to see the instructions!
5/8/08 8:43 PM
priscilla said...
Hi Connie, I remember when you bought that leather in NYC. I was able to get a small piece of it, maybe I'll make a small clutch. Your bag is fabulous and it's a great inspiration. Thank you also for your great review and the lead on the bag website!!!!!
5/20/08 8:22 AM
aussew said...
Here in Australia we really love Nicole Mallalieu!!!
5/21/08 5:46 AM
JDpenelope said...
Holy Handbag! Just seeing this amazing review and project will do wonders for my humility.
8/28/09 2:07 PM
AmandaW said...
Your bag is absolutely stunning and your review is very informative.
12/18/09 4:31 PM
DeanneW said...
Great job with your purse.
12/19/09 11:26 AM
waltzqueen said...
To echo everyone else - FABULOUS !!
1/28/10 1:45 PM
GotCurves said...
Wow GORGEOUS! Thanks for the tips!
3/17/12 5:33 PM
QueenBeeOne said...
So, So Chic!!! Very brave to make it in leather!!! I was hoping to just add leather straps!!! You did a very nice job.
4/1/12 0:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us