SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8355 (Divine Details)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1361 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/08 1:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Olly173 said...
Mahogany Stylist - this is a fabulous-looking suit. You've done a fantastic job. I actually saw it a couple of years ago at a wedding show, made in white like yours was. I've recently come across the pattern again and decided to make it for a wedding I'm attending. I've been going quite well, but I'm now stuck!! I've issues with the bands on the top (step 7). Either it's now clear how it should be neatened on the right side or I've done something wrong. Has anyone else completed this outfit? I'd be pleased for any help I can get. Many thanks.
4/7/14 3:57 PM
Louweezy23 said...
Just purchased this pattern, as I'm getting back into dressmaking. I'm going to make the jacket, next on my list. You've made a lovely job of it. Hope my turns out as good.
4/3/12 10:16 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks and good luck with the fashion show.
4/2/12 10:00 AM
dpepperann said...
Absolutly gorgeous ! I will be making this outfit for myself. I am one of the designers in a fashion show .
4/1/12 4:17 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks.
11/8/11 10:10 AM
Veronimuse said...
Wow, that's stunning! Brilliant!
11/6/11 11:30 AM
chucklehead said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Just bought this pattern but can never hope to look as stunning as your friend! You did an awesome job.
8/8/11 3:46 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Hi Salsera7 - I charged PB $200.00 (she purchased the fabric, pattern and notions). She is a regular customer and friend. There is a fair amount of effort involved in making this outfit. So you may want to take that into consideration. After I counted up the hours spent (shopping, fittings, cutting and sewing), I made under $10.00 per hour.
8/4/09 5:53 PM
Sweetiebop said...
How did I miss this review. Your friend looks fabulous in this dress.
8/1/09 3:45 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a fabulous job. I'm about to make the same outfit for someone. Any suggestions on what to charge given the detail? Thanks.
8/1/09 3:38 PM
Cheryl in Chicago said...
I am having trouble fitting the pattern against Vogue's sloper and my personal sloper. I thought the patterns seemed to run small, so I think I will make a muslin. Great job on the finished garment.
1/31/09 9:18 PM
tenaya said...
Fascinating account of getting this pattern to work! And Ms. PB looks FABULOUS!
8/27/08 5:29 PM
jjc said...
beautiful job
5/25/08 9:15 AM
Annette1 said...
I had to track down this review, because I had seen it in the thumbnail view back when it was first published (knew instantly what pattern it was), but I didn't get a chance to comment, so today I thought, I've got to find Mahogany Stylist's Divine Details outfit! I'm glad I did, as I've very much enjoyed reading your review and your blog. Ms. PB is one fabulous-looking lady in her lovely suit that you've designed for her. Your workmanship is impeccable, too. I wouldn't rate this as being at the "average" skill level either, for all the reasons you've mentioned. (Sometimes I wonder how they come up with these ratings.) Finally, I might add I'm glad to hear the jacket runs big, OKAY? :o)) Beautiful outfit!
4/23/08 8:28 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks again everyone. It's great sharing the sewing experience.
4/18/08 9:49 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
WOW!!! I was thinking about making this suit for a friend's wedding in September, and it looks absolutely fabulous!!! I've gotta definitely pick this one up when Vogue goes on sale in May at Hancock! Thanks for sharing!!!!
4/17/08 7:57 PM
rosannec said...
That suit is fierce!
4/15/08 10:23 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Well, you did just a fantastic job! I'm sure Ms. PB was the belle of the ball. :)
4/15/08 6:26 PM
Mahler said...
Elegant, stylich, sexy, superbe on you !
4/15/08 6:23 PM
cmarie12 said...
All of the superlatives that first slipped from my mouth are taken...so I will just have to repeat them...WOW! Amazing! Stunning! Beautiful! You did a great job of interpreting this pattern!
4/15/08 3:27 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cennetta, this is one smashing suit you've created for the stunning Ms. PB. It is PERFECT in every way, and from every angle. My oh my, I'll bet Ms. PB and your killer suit turned some heads on that occasion!!!!! Wow seems understated. Please thank Ms. PB for modeling this dream ensemble. -Lily
4/15/08 1:26 PM
jewelsfashions said...
You did a fantastic job on this suit. I am working on this exact suit right now (in the muslin stage). So, I was glad to come across you review. Mine is a pique fabric hoping it doesn't look to fancy(or glam as you say) so I can wear it to Sunday church. I hope mine turns out as fantastic as yours. Alot of helpful info and I will be checking back as I sew mine along. Thanks!!
4/15/08 1:17 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!
4/15/08 11:40 AM
Dei said...
It's wonderful to see a pattern come to life. You translated Vogue's idea into a stunning outfit. Such craftsmanship!
4/15/08 10:24 AM
DivaQ said...
This is beautiful!
4/15/08 10:10 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Everyone you are so generous in your compliments. I really appreciate them and value the support here at PR. Thank you. I was pleased that the suit turned so well. Ms. PB is aware of the effort involved in sewing a garment. At the same time she likes to wear unique styles.
4/15/08 9:40 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful! I love the style of this suit, and you did a marvelous job.
4/15/08 7:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fabulous suit!
4/15/08 5:17 AM
nzkiwi said...
Wonderful effort. This has certainly made me want to give it a go.
4/15/08 4:45 AM
rosannec said...
That suit is fierce!
4/15/08 3:07 AM
CynthiaSue said...
wow, really professional and chic. the white is so sharp!
4/15/08 0:44 AM
Membear said...
Well done . I hope your friend has a really good insight into how much work is involved with made to measure!!!!!
4/14/08 9:21 PM
frame said...
Absolutely stunning!
4/14/08 8:47 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
It's so great to see a review of this pattern, you did a fantastic job, it looks just like the pattern envelope. Extremely elegant no wonder your friend was delighted with it.
4/14/08 8:19 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can see why this is someone you would sew for - she picked a great pattern and she let you work your magic because she knew she'd look fabulous in it. Absolutely gorgeous.
4/14/08 8:15 PM
Morisot said...
Superb!
4/14/08 7:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, excellent job, looks fantastic!
4/14/08 7:50 PM
marycds said...
Wow! How elegant. Great job.
4/14/08 5:54 PM
Athene said...
Gorgeous suit. Ms PB is very lucky to have you as a friend.
4/14/08 5:45 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, it is a stunning suit. Amazing work.
4/14/08 4:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
How gorgeous! I bought this pattern when it first appeared hoping to someday have the occasion to make it. Your review and post about the fitting muslin are so helpful.
4/14/08 4:25 PM
umjudis said...
Tres chic!!!! This absolutely stunning!
4/14/08 3:49 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
This is really a beautiful suit!
4/14/08 3:33 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! How wonderful to sew something like this for a friend. Great result.
4/14/08 3:23 PM
sideseams said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful suit !
4/14/08 3:12 PM
kim*brown said...
Work It!!!!
4/14/08 2:58 PM
Trenessa said...
This is smoking HOT!!
4/14/08 2:34 PM
SueV said...
BEAUTIFUL, you did a fantastic job! thanks for sharing! Your friend is one lucky lady to have that suit!
4/14/08 2:32 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous suit. It looks simply amazing on your friend.
4/14/08 2:13 PM
Ellenatlga said...
WOW!! That is absolutely beautiful!!
4/14/08 2:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

More Info