Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8355 (Divine Details) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1312 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 250
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/08 1:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ellenatlga said...
WOW!! That is absolutely beautiful!!
4/14/08 2:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous suit. It looks simply amazing on your friend.
4/14/08 2:13 PM
SueV said...
BEAUTIFUL, you did a fantastic job! thanks for sharing! Your friend is one lucky lady to have that suit!
4/14/08 2:32 PM
Trenessa said...
This is smoking HOT!!
4/14/08 2:34 PM
kim*brown said...
Work It!!!!
4/14/08 2:58 PM
sideseams said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful suit !
4/14/08 3:12 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! How wonderful to sew something like this for a friend. Great result.
4/14/08 3:23 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
This is really a beautiful suit!
4/14/08 3:33 PM
umjudis said...
Tres chic!!!! This absolutely stunning!
4/14/08 3:49 PM
Ann Smith said...
How gorgeous! I bought this pattern when it first appeared hoping to someday have the occasion to make it. Your review and post about the fitting muslin are so helpful.
4/14/08 4:25 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, it is a stunning suit. Amazing work.
4/14/08 4:41 PM
Athene said...
Gorgeous suit. Ms PB is very lucky to have you as a friend.
4/14/08 5:45 PM
marycds said...
Wow! How elegant. Great job.
4/14/08 5:54 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, excellent job, looks fantastic!
4/14/08 7:50 PM
Morisot said...
Superb!
4/14/08 7:52 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can see why this is someone you would sew for - she picked a great pattern and she let you work your magic because she knew she'd look fabulous in it. Absolutely gorgeous.
4/14/08 8:15 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
It's so great to see a review of this pattern, you did a fantastic job, it looks just like the pattern envelope. Extremely elegant no wonder your friend was delighted with it.
4/14/08 8:19 PM
frame said...
Absolutely stunning!
4/14/08 8:47 PM
Membear said...
Well done . I hope your friend has a really good insight into how much work is involved with made to measure!!!!!
4/14/08 9:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
wow, really professional and chic. the white is so sharp!
4/15/08 0:44 AM
rosannec said...
That suit is fierce!
4/15/08 3:07 AM
nzkiwi said...
Wonderful effort. This has certainly made me want to give it a go.
4/15/08 4:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fabulous suit!
4/15/08 5:17 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful! I love the style of this suit, and you did a marvelous job.
4/15/08 7:57 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Everyone you are so generous in your compliments. I really appreciate them and value the support here at PR. Thank you. I was pleased that the suit turned so well. Ms. PB is aware of the effort involved in sewing a garment. At the same time she likes to wear unique styles.
4/15/08 9:40 AM
DivaQ said...
This is beautiful!
4/15/08 10:10 AM
Dei said...
It's wonderful to see a pattern come to life. You translated Vogue's idea into a stunning outfit. Such craftsmanship!
4/15/08 10:24 AM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!
4/15/08 11:40 AM
jewelsfashions said...
You did a fantastic job on this suit. I am working on this exact suit right now (in the muslin stage). So, I was glad to come across you review. Mine is a pique fabric hoping it doesn't look to fancy(or glam as you say) so I can wear it to Sunday church. I hope mine turns out as fantastic as yours. Alot of helpful info and I will be checking back as I sew mine along. Thanks!!
4/15/08 1:17 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cennetta, this is one smashing suit you've created for the stunning Ms. PB. It is PERFECT in every way, and from every angle. My oh my, I'll bet Ms. PB and your killer suit turned some heads on that occasion!!!!! Wow seems understated. Please thank Ms. PB for modeling this dream ensemble. -Lily
4/15/08 1:26 PM
cmarie12 said...
All of the superlatives that first slipped from my mouth are taken...so I will just have to repeat them...WOW! Amazing! Stunning! Beautiful! You did a great job of interpreting this pattern!
4/15/08 3:27 PM
Mahler said...
Elegant, stylich, sexy, superbe on you !
4/15/08 6:23 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Well, you did just a fantastic job! I'm sure Ms. PB was the belle of the ball. :)
4/15/08 6:26 PM
rosannec said...
That suit is fierce!
4/15/08 10:23 PM
minggiddylooloo said...
WOW!!! I was thinking about making this suit for a friend's wedding in September, and it looks absolutely fabulous!!! I've gotta definitely pick this one up when Vogue goes on sale in May at Hancock! Thanks for sharing!!!!
4/17/08 7:57 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks again everyone. It's great sharing the sewing experience.
4/18/08 9:49 AM
Annette1 said...
I had to track down this review, because I had seen it in the thumbnail view back when it was first published (knew instantly what pattern it was), but I didn't get a chance to comment, so today I thought, I've got to find Mahogany Stylist's Divine Details outfit! I'm glad I did, as I've very much enjoyed reading your review and your blog. Ms. PB is one fabulous-looking lady in her lovely suit that you've designed for her. Your workmanship is impeccable, too. I wouldn't rate this as being at the "average" skill level either, for all the reasons you've mentioned. (Sometimes I wonder how they come up with these ratings.) Finally, I might add I'm glad to hear the jacket runs big, OKAY? :o)) Beautiful outfit!
4/23/08 8:28 PM
jjc said...
beautiful job
5/25/08 9:15 AM
tenaya said...
Fascinating account of getting this pattern to work! And Ms. PB looks FABULOUS!
8/27/08 5:29 PM
Cheryl in Chicago said...
I am having trouble fitting the pattern against Vogue's sloper and my personal sloper. I thought the patterns seemed to run small, so I think I will make a muslin. Great job on the finished garment.
1/31/09 9:18 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a fabulous job. I'm about to make the same outfit for someone. Any suggestions on what to charge given the detail? Thanks.
8/1/09 3:38 PM
Sweetiebop said...
How did I miss this review. Your friend looks fabulous in this dress.
8/1/09 3:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Hi Salsera7 - I charged PB $200.00 (she purchased the fabric, pattern and notions). She is a regular customer and friend. There is a fair amount of effort involved in making this outfit. So you may want to take that into consideration. After I counted up the hours spent (shopping, fittings, cutting and sewing), I made under $10.00 per hour.
8/4/09 5:53 PM
chucklehead said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Just bought this pattern but can never hope to look as stunning as your friend! You did an awesome job.
8/8/11 3:46 PM
Veronimuse said...
Wow, that's stunning! Brilliant!
11/6/11 11:30 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks.
11/8/11 10:10 AM
dpepperann said...
Absolutly gorgeous ! I will be making this outfit for myself. I am one of the designers in a fashion show .
4/1/12 4:17 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks and good luck with the fashion show.
4/2/12 10:00 AM
Louweezy23 said...
Just purchased this pattern, as I'm getting back into dressmaking. I'm going to make the jacket, next on my list. You've made a lovely job of it. Hope my turns out as good.
4/3/12 10:16 AM
Olly173 said...
Mahogany Stylist - this is a fabulous-looking suit. You've done a fantastic job. I actually saw it a couple of years ago at a wedding show, made in white like yours was. I've recently come across the pattern again and decided to make it for a wedding I'm attending. I've been going quite well, but I'm now stuck!! I've issues with the bands on the top (step 7). Either it's now clear how it should be neatened on the right side or I've done something wrong. Has anyone else completed this outfit? I'd be pleased for any help I can get. Many thanks.
4/7/14 3:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Ethan Shirt
photo
Review by terra123 on 12/10/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2451 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by arcrabtree on 12/16/10
Read Review

Burda 6997 Pattern
Burda 6997 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3476 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3476 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us