Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Plus Patterns: 101 (Short Sleeve Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1592 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy in BC
photo
About Nancy in BC
Member since: 9/1/02
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/03 1:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alana Robson said...
Nancy, thanks for the through review. Unfortunately, the picture link doesn't work for me.
6/4/03 2:55 PM
Mbarkle said...
It looks great. Is the pattern intended for a knit only? thanks for reviewing this, I've been curious about this line and haven't ever seen it made up.
6/4/03 4:14 PM
Dale C said...
Thanks for the review. It's good to know that this line is properly made for the plus size woman. Your outfit looks great and that set would be wonderful to do some fancy schmancy embellishments... hmm... ideas ideas!
6/4/03 4:59 PM
Nancy in BC said...
Mary, the recommended fabric for the top is a soft, lightweight drapey fabric, woven or knit with 25% or less stretch in cotton, rayon, silk, microfibers and double knits. Click the link above to go to the website, she has some nice garments on her site.
6/5/03 1:57 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm a petite plus woman, but I'm not a D cup. I made her button down top and it fit really large in the bust on me--I'm a small sized C. Your top fits great. Does the hem rise in the front or is it the way you are standing? On Big4 patterns I have to do a full bust adjustment or the patterns pull up in front to go over my bust. Your review makes me want to try out this pattern line again. What, may I ask, is your cup size? (sorry for getting so personal, but it would help me decide if this pattern would work for me.) - Sherril
6/5/03 2:08 AM
http mom said...
nancy, this looks really good on you. I really love petit plus patterns. You get a lot for your money with them.
6/5/03 4:48 AM
Georgene said...
Nancy, this looks great. I think the Petite Plus pattern line is wonderful.
6/5/03 1:58 PM
Nancy in BC said...
Hi Sherril, I wear a D cup bra. The top does tend to ride up in front. I think that is because of the way I put on the bias for the neckline. I am not real pleased with the neckline, but it's the way I sewed it, or maybe the fabric I used, not the pattern that has the problem. It pulls up on the hanger too. This pattern includes The Perfect Fit Guide, which explains how to adjust for a fuller or flatter bust. The button-down top, #103, probably has this too. Hope this helps.
6/6/03 9:34 PM
AnneM said...
That came out great; thanks for the review. I am thinking about making this for my mother, although she is smaller busted than the pattern line design. Their skirt pattern was also good.
6/7/03 11:17 PM
Sarah said...
Thanks for the review Nancy. I made this up, but its a UFO at the moment because it just seems to have too much room in the front - but I think this is a problem with my alterations. I have also made the button front top 103, I found that it didn't ride up in front. I am a DD cup, and I followed the instructions in the Perfect Fit Guide to enlarge the top - they worked well. Overall, I think this is a great pattern range, she has really put a lot of work into each one.
7/4/03 6:37 AM
Mini said...
Nancy, I bought this pattern and am getting ready to try it out. I plan to use the upper back adjustment shown in the pattern's fitting guide. Lately I have noticed my pullover tops need to be adjusted for a slightly rounded upper back. Otherwise, they pull up in front and have a neckline that doesn't stay in place even when I have perfected the bust fit. Most plus-size women (and many thin ones too) need this adjustment but don't know it because it so hard to see how our backs really look. Sew Grand drafts patterns with this adjustment built in, but most companies do not. I e-mailed Kathleen to find out if Petites Plus drafts for a rounded back. She says they don't, but suggested making a muslin with the back adjustment to test the fit.
9/17/03 3:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmanypat... on 3/18/11
Read Review

McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by karenball on 7/16/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us