SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (Very Easy Vogue)

124 more reviews
Viewed 1680 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/9/08 11:42 PM
Last Updated:4/10/08 0:03 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MareeAlison said...
Thanks for the great review. I recently attended a seminar where the teacher sewed this dress and in a similar print to yours. She was showing ways to change the look and she added black ties. It was really amazing the difference such a small change made. Great looking dress. ETA she also did what you suggested for another time, no linings just turned over the edge (no elastic of any type) and coverstitched. The dress didn't gape but this probably would depend upon the stretch. Thanks again for all the ideas. :)
11/11/08 5:04 PM
NurseByrd said...
I love the print of the fbric. I plan to do this dress in an argyle knit pattern. do you thin that's a bad idea?
10/8/08 9:01 PM
Kbenco said...
fabulous dress. I am reading through reviews of this pattern before making it up, and the blindstitch link looks like a wonderful idea. Thank you
4/20/08 7:34 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful classic dress in a unclassic fabric, great combination.
4/20/08 3:06 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautiful dress, made even more beautiful by the stunning fabric you've chosen. Excellent and thorough review and thanks for introducing the 'bit' on a Blindstitch Neckline Finish - very intriguing. Lovely, Lily
4/14/08 2:57 PM
nannykk said...
Shut up! I love it.
4/11/08 2:26 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
4/11/08 5:56 AM
EveS said...
FABULOUS version of my very favorite pattern of all time! Must. Have. That. Fabric. I second Cidell's "great googly moogly"!! ;)
4/10/08 11:09 PM
oracle said...
Hello from Ontario! I agree with you that the diagonal print of your fabric doesn't look odd made up into this dress. In fact, I like the way it works very well indeed!
4/10/08 7:29 PM
CynthiaSue said...
print is fab. dress is fab!
4/10/08 6:06 PM
Dei said...
Yum Buckets! Pretty fabric, very pretty dress.
4/10/08 3:53 PM
Lori V said...
This is a gorgeous dress in equally gorgeous fabric. Great job.
4/10/08 2:42 PM
born2bead said...
That fabric is to die for!
4/10/08 2:39 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow! That looks amazing. I am the same height, so the info about the sizing were super helpful. I have this pattern at home but have not sewn it up yet - maybe I will try it next!
4/10/08 1:19 PM
merry-one said...
Stunning!
4/10/08 12:08 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
FABULOUS, Love, love the fabric,great review. Thanks for all the tips etc.
4/10/08 11:42 AM
SarahWeb said...
WOW! I love your fabric choice! You may feel it is overwhelming on you, but I'll bet you look great in it, especially with that necklace on. I'm going to have to give this pattern a try very soon. Thanks also for sharing the link to the blindstitching blog. I need to look into this.
4/10/08 11:16 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Beautiful dress AND great review!
4/10/08 11:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress!
4/10/08 10:54 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Wow!
4/10/08 10:41 AM
Patti B said...
Woooeee, is that a stunner! Excellent review as well. And I agree with you on the fabric shops in old Mazatlan -- fun places.
4/10/08 10:40 AM
Perfect Fit said...
Great review! Your review makes this the must have dress of the season.
4/10/08 10:38 AM
LindsayT said...
Great dress and review. Thanks!
4/10/08 10:13 AM
KrystalL said...
Great dress. Okay, I need to break down and buy this pattern!
4/10/08 9:24 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thank you for a wonderful reveiw - I had not seen the neckline finish before. Great information. Great dress, too.
4/10/08 8:36 AM
cindyann said...
How wonderful! Perfection.
4/10/08 8:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your dress is gorgeous in the bold print.
4/10/08 8:34 AM
cindy-lou said...
absolutely beautiful!
4/10/08 8:14 AM
MissCelie said...
great googly moogly. that dress is stunning. i adore it in that bold print!
4/10/08 8:09 AM
Tiner W said...
Ooooh! I love that one! The print is fabulous!
4/10/08 7:17 AM
MarthaMcKeon said...
Thanks for such a great review! I must say the print is too bold for me to wear, but I think you did a fantastic job and will no doubt receive many many compliments on it!!
4/10/08 5:54 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Great fabric and informative review. Glad to know about the short fit, as I'm 5'3" and always have to take up the hem line by several inches.
4/10/08 5:13 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress, good review.
4/10/08 5:11 AM
anetJay said...
pretty dress !!! i remember making Dianne von Furstenburg's version of this dress back in the 60's !!! it was always one of my favorites !!! great job :)
4/10/08 4:45 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oooh, gorgeous dress. Thanks for the really excellent review and particularly the tip on it fitting nice and short. I am the same height and have never managed to find a wrap dress that doesn't display my wares, such as they are, to the world. Definitely one for the expanding wish list.
4/10/08 4:43 AM
3kids1036 said...
I love the print! I love the dress as well!
4/10/08 2:43 AM
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks great! I love the print that you chose!
4/10/08 0:23 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love your dress and the bold print! I agree with you that it could be adapted for any occasion and that the pattern picture does not do it justice. It's good to know that the skirt doesn't open when you walk, thats always my fear with wrap dresses.
4/10/08 0:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

More Info