Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8379 (Very Easy Vogue) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1671 times 121 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/9/08 11:42 PM
Last Updated:4/10/08 0:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love your dress and the bold print! I agree with you that it could be adapted for any occasion and that the pattern picture does not do it justice. It's good to know that the skirt doesn't open when you walk, thats always my fear with wrap dresses.
4/10/08 0:03 AM
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks great! I love the print that you chose!
4/10/08 0:23 AM
3kids1036 said...
I love the print! I love the dress as well!
4/10/08 2:43 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oooh, gorgeous dress. Thanks for the really excellent review and particularly the tip on it fitting nice and short. I am the same height and have never managed to find a wrap dress that doesn't display my wares, such as they are, to the world. Definitely one for the expanding wish list.
4/10/08 4:43 AM
anetJay said...
pretty dress !!! i remember making Dianne von Furstenburg's version of this dress back in the 60's !!! it was always one of my favorites !!! great job :)
4/10/08 4:45 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress, good review.
4/10/08 5:11 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Great fabric and informative review. Glad to know about the short fit, as I'm 5'3" and always have to take up the hem line by several inches.
4/10/08 5:13 AM
MarthaMcKeon said...
Thanks for such a great review! I must say the print is too bold for me to wear, but I think you did a fantastic job and will no doubt receive many many compliments on it!!
4/10/08 5:54 AM
Tiner W said...
Ooooh! I love that one! The print is fabulous!
4/10/08 7:17 AM
MissCelie said...
great googly moogly. that dress is stunning. i adore it in that bold print!
4/10/08 8:09 AM
cindy-lou said...
absolutely beautiful!
4/10/08 8:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your dress is gorgeous in the bold print.
4/10/08 8:34 AM
cindyann said...
How wonderful! Perfection.
4/10/08 8:35 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thank you for a wonderful reveiw - I had not seen the neckline finish before. Great information. Great dress, too.
4/10/08 8:36 AM
KrystalL said...
Great dress. Okay, I need to break down and buy this pattern!
4/10/08 9:24 AM
LindsayT said...
Great dress and review. Thanks!
4/10/08 10:13 AM
Perfect Fit said...
Great review! Your review makes this the must have dress of the season.
4/10/08 10:38 AM
Patti B said...
Woooeee, is that a stunner! Excellent review as well. And I agree with you on the fabric shops in old Mazatlan -- fun places.
4/10/08 10:40 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Wow!
4/10/08 10:41 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress!
4/10/08 10:54 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Beautiful dress AND great review!
4/10/08 11:01 AM
SarahWeb said...
WOW! I love your fabric choice! You may feel it is overwhelming on you, but I'll bet you look great in it, especially with that necklace on. I'm going to have to give this pattern a try very soon. Thanks also for sharing the link to the blindstitching blog. I need to look into this.
4/10/08 11:16 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
FABULOUS, Love, love the fabric,great review. Thanks for all the tips etc.
4/10/08 11:42 AM
merry-one said...
Stunning!
4/10/08 12:08 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow! That looks amazing. I am the same height, so the info about the sizing were super helpful. I have this pattern at home but have not sewn it up yet - maybe I will try it next!
4/10/08 1:19 PM
born2bead said...
That fabric is to die for!
4/10/08 2:39 PM
Lori V said...
This is a gorgeous dress in equally gorgeous fabric. Great job.
4/10/08 2:42 PM
Dei said...
Yum Buckets! Pretty fabric, very pretty dress.
4/10/08 3:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
print is fab. dress is fab!
4/10/08 6:06 PM
oracle said...
Hello from Ontario! I agree with you that the diagonal print of your fabric doesn't look odd made up into this dress. In fact, I like the way it works very well indeed!
4/10/08 7:29 PM
EveS said...
FABULOUS version of my very favorite pattern of all time! Must. Have. That. Fabric. I second Cidell's "great googly moogly"!! ;)
4/10/08 11:09 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
4/11/08 5:56 AM
nannykk said...
Shut up! I love it.
4/11/08 2:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautiful dress, made even more beautiful by the stunning fabric you've chosen. Excellent and thorough review and thanks for introducing the 'bit' on a Blindstitch Neckline Finish - very intriguing. Lovely, Lily
4/14/08 2:57 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful classic dress in a unclassic fabric, great combination.
4/20/08 3:06 PM
Kbenco said...
fabulous dress. I am reading through reviews of this pattern before making it up, and the blindstitch link looks like a wonderful idea. Thank you
4/20/08 7:34 PM
NurseByrd said...
I love the print of the fbric. I plan to do this dress in an argyle knit pattern. do you thin that's a bad idea?
10/8/08 9:01 PM
MareeAlison said...
Thanks for the great review. I recently attended a seminar where the teacher sewed this dress and in a similar print to yours. She was showing ways to change the look and she added black ties. It was really amazing the difference such a small change made. Great looking dress. ETA she also did what you suggested for another time, no linings just turned over the edge (no elastic of any type) and coverstitched. The dress didn't gape but this probably would depend upon the stretch. Thanks again for all the ideas. :)
11/11/08 5:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Butterick 7646
photo
Review by unfinished... on 4/15/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2560 Knit Cardigan
photo
Review by CissieW on 10/5/09
Read Review

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2224 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 2224 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us