Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 14 (HP Pussycat Blouse KnockOff) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 881 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/08 7:11 PM
Last Updated:4/13/08 7:13 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kris32 said...
Amazing job and I like that color on you!
4/13/08 7:23 PM
bunz said...
You look gorgeous in it - looks like a $90 blouse!
4/13/08 9:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great review of your drafting process. Keep it up and you'll talk me into buying PMB. Your blouse looks super nice.
4/13/08 9:23 PM
NanKaye said...
This is way better than HP! I just viewed your flicker report on this shirt am and so impressed with what a fine and detailed job you did with this shirt. It looks really good on you and your choice of fashion fabric is stunning. WOW!!
4/13/08 9:41 PM
Lady_Mame said...
I had to bring my non-sewing roomie over to be impressed with this shirt-- that is very stylish!
4/13/08 10:03 PM
Mahler said...
I would love to see that blouse with the new suit. Your fabric looks stunning. I great, great, original blouse.
4/13/08 10:06 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely blouse!
4/13/08 10:55 PM
Lori V said...
Great review and wonderful blouse.
4/13/08 11:08 PM
ajax said...
Lovely blouse, beautiful fit and colour. It looks really good on you. From what I remember of the reviews for the HP original some people has problems with the fit. A job well done copying it with the PMB software, and a very informative review. Love the idea for stabilising the neckline.
4/14/08 4:51 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great blouse. I'm not sure how I missed that Jacket, but I am IN LOVE with it. It's a great style and awesome fit! I aspire to sew that well.
4/14/08 6:24 AM
AnneM said...
I love it! I really like that style. Excellent to see what you did to get there. Another thing to aspire to with my new PMB4 program. (Maybe you can just send me your version? ;) )
4/14/08 8:04 AM
Irene Q said...
Lovely blouse! I love the tie neck on the bias with the stripes. I think you should sew another one (well, I would if I got such great results), or at least re-use the empire waist part. It looks so good on you!
4/14/08 8:44 AM
carolynw said...
Really helpful review and a really lovely shirt!
4/14/08 8:44 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Just beautiful Kay! You certainly don't need to buy $20 patterns when you can do such great knockoffs in PMB.
4/14/08 8:45 AM
cecelia said...
I love the way your blouse came out, the color and the fit. Your review proves that muslins are important, even when you have Wild Ginger.
4/14/08 8:53 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow, AMAZING fabric and great fit, I have enjoyed your muslin pictures and how you did it, I have never done muslin like that properly, this is very helpful and I even like your muslin fabric.......great combination with your jacket, inspiring, thanks for the reveiw.
4/14/08 8:56 AM
fuzzygalore said...
That looks really great! Probably much better than the original without more fuss in the fitting.
4/14/08 1:41 PM
Sandil said...
As always, just beautiful... looks lovely on you!
4/14/08 3:37 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
4/14/08 7:38 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, Kay, this is clearly a Masterpiece. The fit, the fabric, the styling - all completely perfect. You are quickly mastering your pattern making software, and this beauty will make a delightful entry in the One Fabric - Silk contest. I'm completely enamored with this blouse! -Lily
4/14/08 11:31 PM
SarahWeb said...
Fabulous blouse! What a great job. You look so stylish in your beautiful creations.
4/15/08 10:34 AM
Susan Fleury said...
I Love the technical info, but what version of PMB
4/19/08 6:25 PM
Athene said...
Absolutely devine. Make me wish I had PMB and knew how to use it.
4/19/08 8:24 PM
Kellie R. said...
This blouse is amazing!!! It is so well made and your pattern/stripes match perfectly! Very impressive!
4/26/08 1:44 AM
Cristina_TC said...
Great job, so stylish!
4/28/08 9:43 AM
Marji said...
That has always been on my list of blouses to make someday - love the style but haven't wanted to fuss with the pattern draft. You've created a lovely blouse here. Thanks for sharing the whole drafting process using PMB with us.
5/1/08 4:56 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful top. You really proved the benefits of constructing a muslin as your top fits wonderfully.
5/2/08 2:25 PM
OP Gal said...
Very clever use of PMB to produce a wonderful knock-off of the HP blouse. It looks identical to me. Very becoming--the color looks great on you.
2/14/09 9:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116 dress
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 7/19/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6084 Two Hour Top
photo
Review by KatieA on 10/21/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us