SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8414 (Very Easy Vogue)

4 more reviews
Viewed 687 times 
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/08 9:00 PM
Last Updated:4/13/08 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
K_sew said...
Your new dress looks very nice on you...quite flattering
4/13/08 9:58 PM
lcavagnolo said...
I love this! Are you making the matching jacket, too?
4/13/08 10:46 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for the review. This is the second time I've seen this pattern pop up and I really like it. Your version looks great!
4/13/08 10:52 PM
goldesdottar said...
Love this dress...it has a little feeling of vintage styling, and is quite sleek. It would be an elegant LBD - or maybe a 'little navy blue dress".
4/13/08 10:52 PM
Athene said...
A very nice fit and a lovely look.
4/14/08 1:25 AM
BillieJean said...
Thanks for all the lovely comments. The jacket I'm making to go with it is New Look 6609.
4/14/08 6:30 AM
inkstain said...
You've highlighted the pluses and minuses of this design excellently. If you can make the sleeve lining a "non-event" and line the whole dress, this is a winner pattern for it's versatility and elegance. I like the mitred corners that you used as an idea. If goldesdottar wants to see the LBD version, it's on my website/review worn by my daughter.
4/14/08 7:49 AM
carolynw said...
Love your dress - when I first looked at it I wondered where you had found the pattern - then saw it was under a dress in the Vogue drawing - I went right by it and so must now back track as that is something I seriously need in my stash - a nice and stylish and simple pattern for a dress - thank you!!
4/14/08 8:42 AM
nellc said...
This is a very stylish dress with some nice design features that are easy to miss in the small drawing on the pattern envelope. It looks good on you and fits very well.
4/14/08 2:25 PM
halleyscomet said...
Very slimming on you; versatile pattern; Could dress it up with a scarf and I could see it with a jacket too.
4/14/08 3:19 PM
fryman said...
The dress looks great on you. I also have problems with making the best fabric choice. Drape is always a feature I strongly consider. I'm looking forward to your next creation with this pattern
4/14/08 6:38 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Billie Jean, this is a smashing dress and so flattering on you. I too like the sleeve treatment. Although your silk was difficult to work with, it produced a classicly beautiful dress, and I hope you'll make more of these. Lovely, Lily
4/14/08 11:45 PM
SewTwin said...
No wonder you got compliments, looks like a runway dress to me..I would have passed up the pattern, but both pieces look cool..Actually, the dress makes you look much younger...
4/18/08 3:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Burda Easy Fashion Magazine 10-2009-16A

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
McCall's 6948

photo
by: twotoast

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now