SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6022 (Capri Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1435 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/03 0:19 AM
Last Updated:6/10/03 10:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Too bad this pattern didn't work out like you hoped it would, Lisa. Are you tempted to make it in a knit? The fit may be much improved with the proper amount of stretch.
6/7/03 3:46 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't think it's a problem with stretch; this is a very stretchy woven. I think it's a function of the drape of the fabric; a knit would be much drapier than the bottom-weight woven I used. But if I were going to use a knit, I think I'd want to skip the zipper and such and just make pull-on pants. But I really don't have a desire for knit capris at the moment; I want something that looks kind of tailored. But I'd have to do some re-engineering of the crotch curve in these in any case.... I have a pattern for slim-fitting pants that I think I'm going to shorten to capri length; I may morph the lower leg from this pattern on to that....
6/7/03 10:27 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Lisa, do you think that a stretchy woven could be used without a zipper? I have this pattern, and want to make some capris for summer. I think I will have to cut away the hippiness and increase the waist to get them to fit my apple shape. I really like the way that top covers the "sins." My skinny legs are just the part of me I want to show off. LOL! - Sherril
6/11/03 2:04 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Sherril, I read your question this morning and all day I meant to go back and just see if I could get mine on without unzipping them and just can't seem to remember! If you leave the darts out, and if your fabric is really stretchy, it might work. You can do a little test -- see how far 5" of the fabric will stretch...to 6"? 7"? so on...then you can just do the math to see if the amount of fabric in the waist will stretch enough to go over your hips. If your fabric will stretch enough, it'll probably work. Good luck!
6/11/03 8:24 PM
AnneM said...
Great recovery by adding that long top. That makes a nice casual outfit. I wonder if just making them looser would help?
7/1/03 2:48 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't know, Anne; the hip curve isn't shaped like my hip at all (that's why those bumps are on the side, I think). My waist is large compared to my hips (and the rest of me, for that matter...), so I don't have a lot of curve. I have a Palmer/Pletcsh pattern traced and adapted to capris that I hope to make this week; we'll see how that works!
7/1/03 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
McCall's 6617

photo
by: QuikSew

Review