Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6022 (Capri Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1433 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/03 0:19 AM
Last Updated:6/10/03 10:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Too bad this pattern didn't work out like you hoped it would, Lisa. Are you tempted to make it in a knit? The fit may be much improved with the proper amount of stretch.
6/7/03 3:46 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't think it's a problem with stretch; this is a very stretchy woven. I think it's a function of the drape of the fabric; a knit would be much drapier than the bottom-weight woven I used. But if I were going to use a knit, I think I'd want to skip the zipper and such and just make pull-on pants. But I really don't have a desire for knit capris at the moment; I want something that looks kind of tailored. But I'd have to do some re-engineering of the crotch curve in these in any case.... I have a pattern for slim-fitting pants that I think I'm going to shorten to capri length; I may morph the lower leg from this pattern on to that....
6/7/03 10:27 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Lisa, do you think that a stretchy woven could be used without a zipper? I have this pattern, and want to make some capris for summer. I think I will have to cut away the hippiness and increase the waist to get them to fit my apple shape. I really like the way that top covers the "sins." My skinny legs are just the part of me I want to show off. LOL! - Sherril
6/11/03 2:04 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Sherril, I read your question this morning and all day I meant to go back and just see if I could get mine on without unzipping them and just can't seem to remember! If you leave the darts out, and if your fabric is really stretchy, it might work. You can do a little test -- see how far 5" of the fabric will stretch...to 6"? 7"? so on...then you can just do the math to see if the amount of fabric in the waist will stretch enough to go over your hips. If your fabric will stretch enough, it'll probably work. Good luck!
6/11/03 8:24 PM
AnneM said...
Great recovery by adding that long top. That makes a nice casual outfit. I wonder if just making them looser would help?
7/1/03 2:48 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't know, Anne; the hip curve isn't shaped like my hip at all (that's why those bumps are on the side, I think). My waist is large compared to my hips (and the rest of me, for that matter...), so I don't have a lot of curve. I have a Palmer/Pletcsh pattern traced and adapted to capris that I hope to make this week; we'll see how that works!
7/1/03 3:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 8550
photo
Review by ShereeSews on 6/17/03
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by laurajanef... on 11/21/13
Read Review

Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us