SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5144 (Retro 1948)

1 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:crystalwoods
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About crystalwoodsstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/27/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/08 2:52 AM
Last Updated:4/16/08 2:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
What a nice jacket. I might have to look for a similar style. Very flexible, dressy or casual.
10/2/13 4:50 PM
Wendy HH said...
I have a jacket almost exactly like this that belonged to my mother. It is so elegant: black velvet, with a white silk satin lining and a black frog closing.
3/9/13 9:05 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It is a lovely jacket. I love how nicely the boucle drapes in your coat!
2/4/13 11:14 AM
VelmaVance said...
Lovely ~ I've long loved the pop of turquoise on red. I especially appreciated your detail on the dart meeting the edge on the lining. well done.
5/16/12 3:53 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you for this review as I have the pattern; came across it in the Butterick book and loved it at first sight. I especially like that you used boucle for the outside fabric, and lined it. Your review has given me inspiration to try a different fabric, other than wool flannel. And the touch on the cuffs--what a idea! Thank you again!
6/2/09 9:00 AM
lb beginner said...
I bought this pattern. My plan is to do it unlined in fleece as an alternative to the 'sporty' fleece jackets. Who knows when I will get around it it!
5/15/09 3:29 PM
kcwoman said...
It is beautiful and your review was very helpful.
4/18/09 9:48 PM
lola95 said...
I made this jacket in a deep green, leafy cotton fabric. I used sew-in interfacing. I wish I'd read your review before working it! Iron-on would have been much easier, and I love the piping and the embroidery.
9/24/08 1:39 PM
Bibliogirl said...
Your jacket looks great! I love the turquoise. I'm about to start to make this in a soft pink silk velvet, as an evening jacket. Reading your review has been really helpful - I think i will cut that front a bit longer, as you suggest. thanks!
5/9/08 8:21 PM
wvsher said...
Great job, and I love the personal touches you added to it. Thanks for the review!
4/17/08 2:07 PM
Athene said...
I love your jacket and all the extra details you put in - the clasp, embroidery and piping. I have the pattern and have been waiting to see a review of it so thank you so much for your very helpful review.
4/16/08 5:24 PM
ryansmumAria said...
OMG! ABsolutely fabulous!
4/16/08 8:36 AM
Speech girl said...
Lovely jacket--you'll have fun wearing it.
4/16/08 8:15 AM
dorothyn said...
What a great project! I love your bold color combination, and the detailing and accents you added. It has retro lines, but your fabric choices, the clasp and the decorative stitching give it a modern look too. I'm sure you will enjoy wearing this and get loads of compliments!
4/16/08 7:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
What a beautiful jacket! Your piping and embroidery and nice little touches really make this. And I feel you on the weather - it's still scarf and mitten weather here in London, too!
4/16/08 7:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1300

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Master Pattern Book Alabama Chanin Corset

photo
by: rutaliet

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now