SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5144 (Retro 1948)

1 more reviews
Viewed 742 times 
Reviewed by:crystalwoods
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About crystalwoodsstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/27/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/08 2:52 AM
Last Updated:4/16/08 2:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
What a beautiful jacket! Your piping and embroidery and nice little touches really make this. And I feel you on the weather - it's still scarf and mitten weather here in London, too!
4/16/08 7:27 AM
dorothyn said...
What a great project! I love your bold color combination, and the detailing and accents you added. It has retro lines, but your fabric choices, the clasp and the decorative stitching give it a modern look too. I'm sure you will enjoy wearing this and get loads of compliments!
4/16/08 7:35 AM
Speech girl said...
Lovely jacket--you'll have fun wearing it.
4/16/08 8:15 AM
ryansmumAria said...
OMG! ABsolutely fabulous!
4/16/08 8:36 AM
Athene said...
I love your jacket and all the extra details you put in - the clasp, embroidery and piping. I have the pattern and have been waiting to see a review of it so thank you so much for your very helpful review.
4/16/08 5:24 PM
wvsher said...
Great job, and I love the personal touches you added to it. Thanks for the review!
4/17/08 2:07 PM
Bibliogirl said...
Your jacket looks great! I love the turquoise. I'm about to start to make this in a soft pink silk velvet, as an evening jacket. Reading your review has been really helpful - I think i will cut that front a bit longer, as you suggest. thanks!
5/9/08 8:21 PM
lola95 said...
I made this jacket in a deep green, leafy cotton fabric. I used sew-in interfacing. I wish I'd read your review before working it! Iron-on would have been much easier, and I love the piping and the embroidery.
9/24/08 1:39 PM
kcwoman said...
It is beautiful and your review was very helpful.
4/18/09 9:48 PM
lb beginner said...
I bought this pattern. My plan is to do it unlined in fleece as an alternative to the 'sporty' fleece jackets. Who knows when I will get around it it!
5/15/09 3:29 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you for this review as I have the pattern; came across it in the Butterick book and loved it at first sight. I especially like that you used boucle for the outside fabric, and lined it. Your review has given me inspiration to try a different fabric, other than wool flannel. And the touch on the cuffs--what a idea! Thank you again!
6/2/09 9:00 AM
VelmaVance said...
Lovely ~ I've long loved the pop of turquoise on red. I especially appreciated your detail on the dart meeting the edge on the lining. well done.
5/16/12 3:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It is a lovely jacket. I love how nicely the boucle drapes in your coat!
2/4/13 11:14 AM
Wendy HH said...
I have a jacket almost exactly like this that belonged to my mother. It is so elegant: black velvet, with a white silk satin lining and a black frog closing.
3/9/13 9:05 PM
AnneM said...
What a nice jacket. I might have to look for a similar style. Very flexible, dressy or casual.
10/2/13 4:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used

photo
by: lbrundage

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Fleece Hat

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review