Online Sewing Class: Bust Adjustments
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5144 (Retro 1948)

1 more reviews
Viewed 758 times 
Reviewed by:crystalwoods
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About crystalwoodsstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/27/06
Reviews: 31 (patterns: 28)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/08 2:52 AM
Last Updated:4/16/08 2:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (10/2/13 4:50 PM) Reply
What a nice jacket. I might have to look for a similar style. Very flexible, dressy or casual.
Wendy HH said... (3/9/13 9:05 PM) Reply
I have a jacket almost exactly like this that belonged to my mother. It is so elegant: black velvet, with a white silk satin lining and a black frog closing.
Jennifer shaw said... (2/4/13 11:14 AM) Reply
It is a lovely jacket. I love how nicely the boucle drapes in your coat!
VelmaVance said... (5/16/12 3:53 PM) Reply
Lovely ~ I've long loved the pop of turquoise on red. I especially appreciated your detail on the dart meeting the edge on the lining. well done.
Miss Fairchild said... (6/2/09 9:00 AM) Reply
Thank you for this review as I have the pattern; came across it in the Butterick book and loved it at first sight. I especially like that you used boucle for the outside fabric, and lined it. Your review has given me inspiration to try a different fabric, other than wool flannel. And the touch on the cuffs--what a idea! Thank you again!
lb beginner said... (5/15/09 3:29 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern. My plan is to do it unlined in fleece as an alternative to the 'sporty' fleece jackets. Who knows when I will get around it it!
kcwoman said... (4/18/09 9:48 PM) Reply
It is beautiful and your review was very helpful.
lola95 said... (9/24/08 1:39 PM) Reply
I made this jacket in a deep green, leafy cotton fabric. I used sew-in interfacing. I wish I'd read your review before working it! Iron-on would have been much easier, and I love the piping and the embroidery.
Bibliogirl said... (5/9/08 8:21 PM) Reply
Your jacket looks great! I love the turquoise. I'm about to start to make this in a soft pink silk velvet, as an evening jacket. Reading your review has been really helpful - I think i will cut that front a bit longer, as you suggest. thanks!
wvsher said... (4/17/08 2:07 PM) Reply
Great job, and I love the personal touches you added to it. Thanks for the review!
Athene said... (4/16/08 5:24 PM) Reply
I love your jacket and all the extra details you put in - the clasp, embroidery and piping. I have the pattern and have been waiting to see a review of it so thank you so much for your very helpful review.
ryansmumAria said... (4/16/08 8:36 AM) Reply
OMG! ABsolutely fabulous!
Speech girl said... (4/16/08 8:15 AM) Reply
Lovely jacket--you'll have fun wearing it.
dorothyn said... (4/16/08 7:35 AM) Reply
What a great project! I love your bold color combination, and the detailing and accents you added. It has retro lines, but your fabric choices, the clasp and the decorative stitching give it a modern look too. I'm sure you will enjoy wearing this and get loads of compliments!
squirrellypoo said... (4/16/08 7:27 AM) Reply
What a beautiful jacket! Your piping and embroidery and nice little touches really make this. And I feel you on the weather - it's still scarf and mitten weather here in London, too!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 205

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 205

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 295545-1011

photo
by: divabuddha

Review