Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2794 (Sweetheart Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 847 times 87 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:HawkeMorningStar7
photo
Friend of PR
About HawkeMorningStar7starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/21/05
Reviews written: 195
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/16/08 4:35 PM
Last Updated:4/16/08 4:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Cute tops! I like your contrast bands a lot.
4/16/08 4:40 PM
Seaspur said...
Love the contrast bands!
4/16/08 5:20 PM
Gold said...
Cute tops!
4/16/08 5:41 PM
CSM--Carla said...
That's what I'm talking about!!!! You look great in those tops. I love the coordinating band of color that you have chosen on these. This is the influence I've been needing to get going on mine! Lovely! Thank you for sharing your creations, HawkMorningStar! Carla
4/16/08 5:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Nice tops. Love the contrasting binding. It always nice to see mini photo shoots with the pattern review. Everything modelled looks great.
4/16/08 5:50 PM
Leora said...
These tops caught my eye in your Vogue review. You look fantastic!
4/16/08 6:13 PM
GollyGolly said...
It is hard to pick a favorite one. You look so cute in them !
4/16/08 6:41 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Very Pretty
4/16/08 6:59 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice tops. I partically like the black and white version with the velveteen bands.
4/16/08 7:44 PM
Nancy K said...
Lovely! It looks great in both versions.
4/16/08 8:05 PM
MareeAlison said...
I really love the purple/pink version.
4/17/08 0:17 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Wonderfully tops, and you look beautiful in both of them. Thank you for your instruction about pulling the contrast bands to negative ease. I'd been holding off on this pattern b/c I didn't care for the extremely wide neckline, but now ... well, it's buying time. Lovely, Lily
4/17/08 1:47 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous, all of them. I really love the contrast bands. I've been eying this pattern for ages, now I will definitely have to get it. Thanks for a very helpful review, particularly the tip about the negative ease on the neck band.
4/17/08 3:50 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Great tops! I love the contrast binding too.
4/17/08 1:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking tops! The contrast bands add a unique flavor.......spicy! Your new wardrobe is fabulous!
4/17/08 6:38 PM
EveS said...
Ooh, I really like your version of this top!! The binding is a perfect touch. I REALLY need to get this one I think. Thanks for the enabling! :)
4/18/08 0:04 AM
Deepika said...
Oh I love the use of contrasting stretch velvet as the binding. This is one of my favorite tops also.
4/18/08 8:57 AM
wvsher said...
Great style for you!
4/18/08 11:11 AM
CSM--Carla said...
HMS, I am again admiring these lovely versatile tops you made. Do you have any secrets for your nice neat top stitch on the front 'bolero' trim? Thank you in advance. Carla
5/1/08 10:16 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Hi Carla and thanks for kind comments evryone. To topstich evenly I just use edge of my sewing foot, its the narrow straight sewing one, as guide, HTH !
5/1/08 12:34 PM
CSM--Carla said...
HMS, I am reading your review after making mine. It turned out to be too 'broad' in the front and have too large a neckline for my build--which is like yours. Thank you for suggesting the negative ease for the band, I will try it. Still need to work with the top stitching. Thankyou again! Carla
5/9/08 4:04 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love your intepretation, the contrast bindin makes it very special:-)
5/9/08 4:12 PM
AnneM said...
I might have to get this pattern. I've loving every version I see of it.
5/9/08 8:24 PM
JDpenelope said...
Ok, that's it -- I'm buying this pattern. Just wish I had your figure and sophisticated talent! Your version is terrific.
6/5/08 7:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 2429 A-line Dress
photo
Review by ladybegood on 1/21/08
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by SueV on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us