Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5529 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 749 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/08 3:16 AM
Last Updated:4/18/08 4:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I think you're being waaay too hard on your design choice. I very much like the pants and jacket of the same blue rpl; it's so slimming and the blue is a very flattering color for you (despite your sea worthy analogy). I say wear the pants and jacket together and wait for the compliments. It's truly lovely, Lily
4/17/08 3:44 AM
Athene said...
I agree with Lily - the whole blue outfit looks very attractive.
4/17/08 3:51 AM
lynda828 said...
My first reaction was wow what a great colour on you. I love the jacket and you're right bengaline is great for pants.
4/17/08 3:58 AM
yorkshire lass said...
I love the whole outfit. It stood out on the gallery for me. It's a very smart look for spring IMHO
4/17/08 7:17 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very flattering suit. You look very stylish.
4/17/08 7:47 AM
BJ1400 said...
I think it looks great on you-nice color.
4/17/08 8:05 AM
mastdenman said...
It's a great outfit and if you feel too blue, you have great separates.
4/17/08 9:07 AM
goldenthreads said...
This is a very nice suit, and it is very flattering on you. You look great!
4/17/08 9:51 AM
carolynw said...
Love everything about this outfit - the total blue is wonderful so don't have reservations about wearing it!!
4/17/08 9:53 AM
lcavagnolo said...
I agree with the others. The color of your outfit did catch my eye -- in a good way! Perhaps instead of having to create a lining, you could sew 1/4" bias tape over the finishing you don't like? Either way, it's a great outfit and you should definitely feel great wearing this!
4/17/08 12:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice jacket. I had the same thought as the last comment - you could bind the seams.....if you really need to cover the uneveness.
4/17/08 6:52 PM
EveS said...
This IS a fabulous color and a great outfit (but I enjoyed your visual)! I love this pattern, too, and might try it again in a lighter weight since seeing yours. Thanks for the amusing read! :)
4/17/08 11:59 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I thought the same thing about the bias tape on the seams. As a newbie without a serger, this is a technique that I think I may make a signature of mine! :-) The blue is really lovely and I think you should actually play it up for the spring trends with a bold print blouse in a large floral pattern. If you dare!
4/18/08 10:40 AM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks great. You can wear it together or with other pieces - looks like the beginning of a great SWAP!
4/18/08 8:38 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Svelte! You look smashing!!! I'm going backward in my reading of your reviews...kinda' late, too. Boy have you been busy !!!
6/10/08 5:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 5267 Tote Bags
photo
Review by genericear... on 9/21/09
Read Review

New Look 6433 Pattern
New Look 6433 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9497 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 9497 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6057
photo
Review by Jaloma on 2/8/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us