SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5529 (Jacket)

11 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 125
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/08 3:16 AM
Last Updated:4/18/08 4:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Grammy Gin said...
Svelte! You look smashing!!! I'm going backward in my reading of your reviews...kinda' late, too. Boy have you been busy !!!
6/10/08 5:13 PM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks great. You can wear it together or with other pieces - looks like the beginning of a great SWAP!
4/18/08 8:38 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I thought the same thing about the bias tape on the seams. As a newbie without a serger, this is a technique that I think I may make a signature of mine! :-) The blue is really lovely and I think you should actually play it up for the spring trends with a bold print blouse in a large floral pattern. If you dare!
4/18/08 10:40 AM
EveS said...
This IS a fabulous color and a great outfit (but I enjoyed your visual)! I love this pattern, too, and might try it again in a lighter weight since seeing yours. Thanks for the amusing read! :)
4/17/08 11:59 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice jacket. I had the same thought as the last comment - you could bind the seams.....if you really need to cover the uneveness.
4/17/08 6:52 PM
lcavagnolo said...
I agree with the others. The color of your outfit did catch my eye -- in a good way! Perhaps instead of having to create a lining, you could sew 1/4" bias tape over the finishing you don't like? Either way, it's a great outfit and you should definitely feel great wearing this!
4/17/08 12:24 PM
carolynw said...
Love everything about this outfit - the total blue is wonderful so don't have reservations about wearing it!!
4/17/08 9:53 AM
goldenthreads said...
This is a very nice suit, and it is very flattering on you. You look great!
4/17/08 9:51 AM
mastdenman said...
It's a great outfit and if you feel too blue, you have great separates.
4/17/08 9:07 AM
BJ1400 said...
I think it looks great on you-nice color.
4/17/08 8:05 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very flattering suit. You look very stylish.
4/17/08 7:47 AM
yorkshire lass said...
I love the whole outfit. It stood out on the gallery for me. It's a very smart look for spring IMHO
4/17/08 7:17 AM
lynda828 said...
My first reaction was wow what a great colour on you. I love the jacket and you're right bengaline is great for pants.
4/17/08 3:58 AM
Athene said...
I agree with Lily - the whole blue outfit looks very attractive.
4/17/08 3:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I think you're being waaay too hard on your design choice. I very much like the pants and jacket of the same blue rpl; it's so slimming and the blue is a very flattering color for you (despite your sea worthy analogy). I say wear the pants and jacket together and wait for the compliments. It's truly lovely, Lily
4/17/08 3:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-1

photo
by: 21wale

Review
McCall's 5989

photo
by: FairLadyOf...

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now