SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Purrfection> 1038 (Terrific Trousers)

Viewed 484 times 
Reviewed by:Frozzy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Frozzystar
CO USA
Member since: 12/28/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/08 3:44 PM
Last Updated:4/18/08 3:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
They look like they fit well enough in the top. Maybe a wider leg style?
4/18/08 4:09 PM
cabinbaby said...
I don't think they are that bad. They are certainly a good place to start. Most people don't get results that good after several muslins. I agree they may need some twekaing but you may want to hang onto it for a while to compare it to other patterns.
4/18/08 4:32 PM
lca said...
I agree, maybe a little wider leg, however, I think it's a good start to a great fit with a little work. I'm going to try this pattern for my pear shape.
4/18/08 4:43 PM
Peggy L said...
I think you need to put these away for a couple of days and then revisit them! They look like you are well on your way to a good fit. Hang onto that pattern.
4/18/08 8:46 PM
Athene said...
I agree with the others - put them away for awhile and revisit them down the road - it looks like you are on your way to a good fit.
4/18/08 10:23 PM
GollyGolly said...
Ahhh. Do you you hear that collective sigh of relief? You just saved a bunch of PR members oh so much effort that they might have put into this pattern. I know hollow comfort when you feel like you have blown a precious day off from work. Honestly, we really appreciate all of your work even if the pants aren't a keeper in your eyes. Thank you for sharing this review with us; it was most helpful. See some good did come from all those laborious pants pains!! Gail
4/18/08 11:37 PM
Darla in PA said...
It looks like you have a pretty good fit throught the waist and hip in the front. Maybe you're giving up a little bit soon. Maybe try the straight leg style. I agree with what others have said about putting it away for a while and looking at them again. If this was your first try on the pants, you could be on your way to a having a great pant pattern. Now, I'm intrigued. I have this pattern and may have to play around with it. Thanks for the review.
4/19/08 6:37 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ew, Frozzy, I've been where you are with various patterns. Isn't it hateful to lose a sewing day (when you have so few)? While I agree with others that your waist and hip fit are very nice, these instructions sounds horrible and surely added to your frustration. Thanks for sharing this with us. -Lily
4/20/08 12:09 PM
Frozzy said...
I would have to add many inches of ease to these pants to be able to sit down in them. I'm not sure the "good fit" you are seeing in the pics would survive. I'm going to spend time on a pattern with better instructions. I wouldn't recommend this pattern for anyone who needs instructions to sew a pair of pants.
4/20/08 9:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Folkwear 266

photo
by: Kelowna

Review
Vogue Patterns 1052

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now