Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Purrfection: 1038 (Terrific Trousers) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 478 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Frozzy
photo
Friend of PR
About Frozzystar
CO USA
Member since: 12/28/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/08 3:44 PM
Last Updated:4/18/08 3:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
They look like they fit well enough in the top. Maybe a wider leg style?
4/18/08 4:09 PM
cabinbaby said...
I don't think they are that bad. They are certainly a good place to start. Most people don't get results that good after several muslins. I agree they may need some twekaing but you may want to hang onto it for a while to compare it to other patterns.
4/18/08 4:32 PM
lca said...
I agree, maybe a little wider leg, however, I think it's a good start to a great fit with a little work. I'm going to try this pattern for my pear shape.
4/18/08 4:43 PM
Peggy L said...
I think you need to put these away for a couple of days and then revisit them! They look like you are well on your way to a good fit. Hang onto that pattern.
4/18/08 8:46 PM
Athene said...
I agree with the others - put them away for awhile and revisit them down the road - it looks like you are on your way to a good fit.
4/18/08 10:23 PM
GollyGolly said...
Ahhh. Do you you hear that collective sigh of relief? You just saved a bunch of PR members oh so much effort that they might have put into this pattern. I know hollow comfort when you feel like you have blown a precious day off from work. Honestly, we really appreciate all of your work even if the pants aren't a keeper in your eyes. Thank you for sharing this review with us; it was most helpful. See some good did come from all those laborious pants pains!! Gail
4/18/08 11:37 PM
Darla in PA said...
It looks like you have a pretty good fit throught the waist and hip in the front. Maybe you're giving up a little bit soon. Maybe try the straight leg style. I agree with what others have said about putting it away for a while and looking at them again. If this was your first try on the pants, you could be on your way to a having a great pant pattern. Now, I'm intrigued. I have this pattern and may have to play around with it. Thanks for the review.
4/19/08 6:37 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ew, Frozzy, I've been where you are with various patterns. Isn't it hateful to lose a sewing day (when you have so few)? While I agree with others that your waist and hip fit are very nice, these instructions sounds horrible and surely added to your frustration. Thanks for sharing this with us. -Lily
4/20/08 12:09 PM
Frozzy said...
I would have to add many inches of ease to these pants to be able to sit down in them. I'm not sure the "good fit" you are seeing in the pics would survive. I'm going to spend time on a pattern with better instructions. I wouldn't recommend this pattern for anyone who needs instructions to sew a pair of pants.
4/20/08 9:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us