SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5586 (Trendy Tunic top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 850 times 
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/08 8:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
born2bead said...
How nice to see this done up. I'm going to try it in silk and see what happens. Love the crystals - really sets it off!
4/21/08 5:32 PM
trinicity said...
very cute Stacy!
4/20/08 6:15 AM
Ingiepops said...
I love this pattern, after I saw this exact same style in a very expensive RTW shop here last spring that had beading on the yoke. The price was AU$160 so I figured I could make it cheaper myself! Your top looks fantastic! thanks for reviewing this.
4/19/08 10:11 PM
Lori V said...
What a great top, Stacy. You will be the best-dressed new mom around!
4/19/08 7:33 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Looks straight out of a magazine!
4/19/08 6:18 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I think you'd have to go with a strapless bra with this one - the neckline is just rounded enough that the straps would show through.
4/19/08 4:07 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love it! Can you wear a bra with that top okay? Love all the bling too!
4/19/08 2:13 PM
Gold said...
Great job!!Love the embellishments you put on it!!
4/19/08 1:09 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Kath - I'll take an update photo once I'm not longer sporting the pregnancy belly (I'm now OVERDUE!). Although, I do have to admit, it doesn't look bad as a maternity top - just make sure you use a very stretchy material.
4/19/08 12:06 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a beautiful top, Stacy, and its shows up very nicely in your photo. Your rhinestones are placed absolutely perfectly and I'll be that took a bit of time, even on your dressform. The precision of your detail work is to be envied, as is the glamour of your stylish top. -Lily
4/19/08 12:01 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very current style - gotta love the bling!
4/19/08 10:43 AM
Beek said...
I love the BLING! Nice composition of fabric and jewels. You'll be able to wear this with just about everything and will look great doing so!
4/19/08 9:38 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Very Cute Top Stacy! Great tip to add the rhinestones while the top is on the dressform. Are the rhinestones sewn or glued on? (okay I read on your blog that they are glued on!) Happy babymaking by the way- I was wondering how close you were.
4/19/08 8:42 AM
Kath in ON said...
Looks great! I'd love to see a picture of you wearing it.
4/19/08 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
Other BY Hand London

photo
by: LizJaneB

Review