SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4400 (Misses Civil War Costume by Ma)

5 more reviews
Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/08 11:03 PM
Last Updated:4/19/08 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gotpeace91 said...
wow, that is great! Looks lovely on you!
4/19/08 11:16 PM
Mary Reed said...
Thank you for the excellent review. Martha McCain is suppose to be one of the best, however, I also have difficulty sometimes understanding her directions. The silhouette is perfect!! Lovely, truly. I have yet to understand how to correctly connect the bodice. Instead, I have taken to using hook and eyes to connect them. It seems sensible and I can do it pretty quickly. What type of taffeta did you use? And, what color is it?
4/19/08 11:31 PM
Cressie said...
I just finished my costume and I had the same issues. I really debated about putting in the bust pads. I know they are historic but I didn't know how to work with them. Maybe on the next day dress. I also used the hook and eye tape to attach the bodice to the skirt and it worked nicely, but takes longer to get dressed.
4/20/08 2:00 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thank you for the responses. The fabric as a drapery taffeta, black in color. A nice heavy taffeta would have been better- especially silk. Thank you both for the suggestion for the hook and eyes for the skirt. I will do that.
4/23/08 0:01 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty Civil War dress; you did a great job on it. You look like you stepped right out of that era.
4/24/08 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
New Look 6830

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now