SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4400 (Misses Civil War Costume by Ma)

5 more reviews
Viewed 294 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews: 15 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/08 11:03 PM
Last Updated:4/19/08 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wvsher said... (4/24/08 10:24 AM) Reply
Very pretty Civil War dress; you did a great job on it. You look like you stepped right out of that era.
Yarndiva said... (4/23/08 0:01 AM) Reply
Thank you for the responses. The fabric as a drapery taffeta, black in color. A nice heavy taffeta would have been better- especially silk. Thank you both for the suggestion for the hook and eyes for the skirt. I will do that.
Cressie said... (4/20/08 2:00 AM) Reply
I just finished my costume and I had the same issues. I really debated about putting in the bust pads. I know they are historic but I didn't know how to work with them. Maybe on the next day dress. I also used the hook and eye tape to attach the bodice to the skirt and it worked nicely, but takes longer to get dressed.
Mary Reed said... (4/19/08 11:31 PM) Reply
Thank you for the excellent review. Martha McCain is suppose to be one of the best, however, I also have difficulty sometimes understanding her directions. The silhouette is perfect!! Lovely, truly. I have yet to understand how to correctly connect the bodice. Instead, I have taken to using hook and eyes to connect them. It seems sensible and I can do it pretty quickly. What type of taffeta did you use? And, what color is it?
gotpeace91 said... (4/19/08 11:16 PM) Reply
wow, that is great! Looks lovely on you!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Pattern Details
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Pattern Details