Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4400 (Misses Civil War Costume by Ma) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 287 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/08 11:03 PM
Last Updated:4/19/08 11:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gotpeace91 said...
wow, that is great! Looks lovely on you!
4/19/08 11:16 PM
Mary Reed said...
Thank you for the excellent review. Martha McCain is suppose to be one of the best, however, I also have difficulty sometimes understanding her directions. The silhouette is perfect!! Lovely, truly. I have yet to understand how to correctly connect the bodice. Instead, I have taken to using hook and eyes to connect them. It seems sensible and I can do it pretty quickly. What type of taffeta did you use? And, what color is it?
4/19/08 11:31 PM
Cressie said...
I just finished my costume and I had the same issues. I really debated about putting in the bust pads. I know they are historic but I didn't know how to work with them. Maybe on the next day dress. I also used the hook and eye tape to attach the bodice to the skirt and it worked nicely, but takes longer to get dressed.
4/20/08 2:00 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thank you for the responses. The fabric as a drapery taffeta, black in color. A nice heavy taffeta would have been better- especially silk. Thank you both for the suggestion for the hook and eyes for the skirt. I will do that.
4/23/08 0:01 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty Civil War dress; you did a great job on it. You look like you stepped right out of that era.
4/24/08 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Dos de Tejas 5023
photo
Review by petra on 8/9/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00015
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us