SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4400 (Misses Civil War Costume by Ma)

5 more reviews
Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/08 11:03 PM
Last Updated:4/19/08 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gotpeace91 said...
wow, that is great! Looks lovely on you!
4/19/08 11:16 PM
Mary Reed said...
Thank you for the excellent review. Martha McCain is suppose to be one of the best, however, I also have difficulty sometimes understanding her directions. The silhouette is perfect!! Lovely, truly. I have yet to understand how to correctly connect the bodice. Instead, I have taken to using hook and eyes to connect them. It seems sensible and I can do it pretty quickly. What type of taffeta did you use? And, what color is it?
4/19/08 11:31 PM
Cressie said...
I just finished my costume and I had the same issues. I really debated about putting in the bust pads. I know they are historic but I didn't know how to work with them. Maybe on the next day dress. I also used the hook and eye tape to attach the bodice to the skirt and it worked nicely, but takes longer to get dressed.
4/20/08 2:00 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thank you for the responses. The fabric as a drapery taffeta, black in color. A nice heavy taffeta would have been better- especially silk. Thank you both for the suggestion for the hook and eyes for the skirt. I will do that.
4/23/08 0:01 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty Civil War dress; you did a great job on it. You look like you stepped right out of that era.
4/24/08 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2957

photo
by: Kellie R.

Review